• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GeForce GTX "Pascal" Faces High DVI Pixel Clock Booting Problems

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,100 (8.62/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
The second design flaw to hit the GeForce GTX 1080 and GTX 1070 after the fan revving bug, isn't confined to the reference "Founders Edition" cards, but affects all GTX 1080 and GTX 1070 cards. Users of monitors with dual-link DVI connectors are noticing problems in booting to Windows with pixel clocks set higher than 330 MHz. You can boot to windows at default pixel clocks, and when booted, set the refresh-rates (and conversely pixel clocks) higher than 330 MHz, and the display works fine, it's just that you can't boot with those settings, and will have to revert to default settings each time you shut down or restart your machine.

A user of a custom-design GTX 1070 notes that if the refresh rate of their 1440p monitor is set higher than 81 Hz (the highest refresh rate you can achieve with pixel clock staying under 330 MHz) and the resolution at 2560 x 1440, the machine doesn't correctly boot into Windows. The splash screen is replaced with flash color screens, and nothing beyond. The system BIOS screen appears correctly (because it runs at low resolutions). The problem is also said to be observed on a custom-design GTX 1080, and has been replicated by other users on the GeForce Forums.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
414 (0.12/day)
Location
Iraq
System Name Simon
Processor Core i7 5820K @ 4.4GHz @1.25v core, 1.9v input, 1.12v system agent, 0.9v cache - 24/7 & P95 stable
Motherboard ASUS X99 Deluxe U3.1, BIOS 3101
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX + 2 x Corsair ML140 Pro Red LED, exhaust @ top panel
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 4x 8GB 2666 MHz 16, 18, 18, 35, 2T (Stock)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (OC BIOS), +60 MHz GPU, +450 MHz Memory
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500 Gb, WD Green + White Label, total 17 TB
Display(s) 3x Samsung CFG73 (24" 1920x1080, 144Hz) in 2D Surround, LG C7 OLED TV (55", 4K, 60Hz)
Case Corsair 760T + Corsair SP120 Perf.Ed. + 3x ML 140 Pro Red + DEMCI Dust Filter Kit + DeepCool RGB LED
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z, Schiit Modi 2U + Magni 3, Hifiman HE-4XX, beyerdynamic 770 Pro 250Ω, Audeze iSine 10
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i + APC BackUPS RS1500 (modded w/ 170 AH Kung Long Batteries) + APC Smart UPS SUA1500i
Mouse Razer Naga Chroma + Reflex Lab Extended Mouse Pad + Xbox One S Controller + 3 x Xbox 360 Controllers
Keyboard Corsiar K70 RGB (2016 Edition) Cherry Mx Red w/ custom Arabic-legend shine-through keycaps
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 - ver. 1809
Benchmark Scores Onkyo TX-NR626 AV Receiver, speakers: 4x Yamaha NS-M325 + Yamaha NS-C3290 + Proson Libre Sub 8.1
It will affect a small number of users (those with high refresh rate no DP ports monitors) but it is an issue nevertheless. I wonder if a VGA bios update will solve this.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,596 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
How was this not found by nvidia in super early testing, let alone reviewers? Rush, rush, rush, who cares, launch them all no matter the incompetence. I imagine the delay for users to find this was b/c almost no one can get the cards anyway XD
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.55/day)
My system often hangs at boot (just black screen with white underscore in the top left middle of the screen) even with GTX 980. Something it never ever happened with HD7950 that I had before it. If I unplug the DisplayPort cable during boot and try again, it'll boot no problem. Huh? Related in any way?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,317 (2.09/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Monitors using dual link dvi with refresh rates above 81hz. I'm sure this will have some slobbering over Nvidia failing again but really...

Is Display Port or HDMI not better? And if your monitor doesn't have those, why buy an expensive gfx card. My 6 year old Dell has Display Port.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,596 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
My system often hangs at boot (just black screen with white underscore in the top left middle of the screen) even with GTX 980. Something it never ever happened with HD7950 that I had before it. If I unplug the DisplayPort cable during boot and try again, it'll boot no problem. Huh? Related in any way?
Hell, monitor won't even show bios screen most of the time on a 660ti and it's not b/c of uefi (turned that stupid boot shit off, plus takes a while to detect devices).
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,596 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
Monitors using dual link dvi with refresh rates above 81hz. I'm sure this will have some slobbering over Nvidia failing again but really...

Is Display Port or HDMI not better? And if your monitor doesn't have those, why buy an expensive gfx card. My 6 year old Dell has Display Port.
All of the low latency korean monitors came with only dvi (multiple inputs increase latency). Tons of them were sold for refresh OCing.

I have no monitors with DP. DP is a new addition to most monitors.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
726 (0.21/day)
Location
Israel
System Name PC ?
Processor Core i7 3930k 4.2GHz
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X79 Tuf
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 360 CPU
Memory 32gb of G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz C10
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Storage C:/Samsung 840 EVO 1TB - D:/7TB of Storage (WD-Bx2)
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B Black 34" 21:9 144Hz
Case Corsair 570X
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z + Cambridge Audio CXA60 + Klipsch RP-160M + Klipsch Reference R-112
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro (64bit)
All of the low latency korean monitors came with only dvi (multiple inputs increase latency). Tons of them were sold refresh OCing.

I have no monitors with DP. DP is a new addition to most monitors.
DVI is available only on low-mid end monitors.

Most high-end monitor has DP/HDMI and maybe Thunder Bolt.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,703 (1.96/day)
Location
Vinewood
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
I'm using DVI-D and HDMI, both monitor and tv are running at 60Hz, so no problems for me.
If I was running a higher refresh-rate monitor, I would just lower the Hz before shutting down, because I would be uncomfortable flashing my expensive brand new card if there would be a BIOS update soon.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
9,477 (5.35/day)
Location
Too Long to fit in a single line here.
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
My system often hangs at boot (just black screen with white underscore in the top left middle of the screen) even with GTX 980. Something it never ever happened with HD7950 that I had before it. If I unplug the DisplayPort cable during boot and try again, it'll boot no problem. Huh? Related in any way?
I am running my 120hz panel over Display Port but I am also noticing that my boot up time is MUCH longer than it ever was before. The past weeks I've attributed this just to Windows 10 updates (which it may very well still be, shady as that OS does its business in background), but with the 'flicker bug' being fixed in the past Hotfix 386.51 driver I am getting really, really suspicious.

Fuck I'm rolling back to a solid Kepler-finished driver again and see what happens. Will post back results. Anyone got a solid version they run their Kepler cards with? Considering branch 350-something.

*note: Nvidia isn't scoring points over here the past year. Fuckup after fuckup, as little as they may be, but it's becoming a real pattern now.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
2,010 (1.78/day)
System Name X58
Processor Xeon E5640
Motherboard ASUS P6x58D-E
Cooling Coolermaster Seidon 240V
Memory 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC+
Storage 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 / 500GB Hitachi Deskstar
Display(s) VX2268M
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster FX
Power Supply Silverstone ST1000-P
Mouse Steelseries Rival
Keyboard TTesports Poseidon ZX
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 1 Billion
I run overclocked 75hz through HDMI, no matter the GPU i can't OC any higher than 65hz on DVI-D
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,086 (0.55/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Kingstone 60gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
DVI is available only on low-mid end monitors.

Most high-end monitor has DP/HDMI and maybe Thunder Bolt.
Bit simple to state it like that...
Its a choice in connection and HDMI is exactly the same except it carry's audio as well which nobody cares about in a monitor.
To call something low-mid end based on the connections it offers rather then the actual performance....well is just weird man.

On topic, get your shit together Nvidia!
Im sure another driver will fix it but man....
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2011
Messages
211 (0.08/day)
Location
South-Africa
Processor i5 4670k @ 4.2 Ghz
Motherboard MSi Z87 GD65 Gaming Motherboard
Cooling Zalman CNPS11 Extreme
Memory 16GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance @ 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 OC Pro 6GB
Storage 250GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster SA950D
Case Corsair 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Platinum
Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma (2015)
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2 Low-Profile Rapidfire
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
My system often hangs at boot (just black screen with white underscore in the top left middle of the screen) even with GTX 980. Something it never ever happened with HD7950 that I had before it. If I unplug the DisplayPort cable during boot and try again, it'll boot no problem. Huh? Related in any way?

I don't turn off my machine often, but I had this issue with my GTX760 before it died, I now use my old GTX580 and had/have this issue while using my display port on both cards. I am now on a DVI cable, ironically... but I still get the issue from time to time. Coincidence? I don't believe in them. The system in fact, doesn't hang, I can log in and everything, I just can't see anything. I don't really know what to think at this stage.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,703 (1.96/day)
Location
Vinewood
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Anyway, good to know for when I upgrade to a 1440p monitor, preferably DP then.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
9,477 (5.35/day)
Location
Too Long to fit in a single line here.
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Anyway, good to know for when I upgrade to a 1440p monitor, preferably DP then.
Yeah or HDMI 2.0

DP is not without its issues. Bit slow to connect.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
726 (0.21/day)
Location
Israel
System Name PC ?
Processor Core i7 3930k 4.2GHz
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X79 Tuf
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 360 CPU
Memory 32gb of G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz C10
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Storage C:/Samsung 840 EVO 1TB - D:/7TB of Storage (WD-Bx2)
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B Black 34" 21:9 144Hz
Case Corsair 570X
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z + Cambridge Audio CXA60 + Klipsch RP-160M + Klipsch Reference R-112
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro (64bit)
Bit simple to state it like that...
Its a choice in connection and HDMI is exactly the same except it carry's audio as well which nobody cares about in a monitor.
To call something low-mid end based on the connections it offers rather then the actual performance....well is just weird man.

On topic, get your shit together Nvidia!
Im sure another driver will fix it but man....
as I know DVI doesn't support 2440x1440@120/144 and over 2,560 × 1,600@60, based on this year, this isn't high-end any more...

Last 2 monitors i owned, didn't had DVI port. last 4 i owned didn't had VGA.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
9,477 (5.35/day)
Location
Too Long to fit in a single line here.
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
as I know DVI doesn't support 2440x1440@120/144 and over 2,560 × 1,600@60, based on this year, this isn't even close to high end.
Seeing as the 1070 cannot even max out 120 fps on a 1080p monitor in all games, I don't see why DVI-D can't be a high end connection. There is no single-GPU in the world that can saturate that connection with all the content you can play on it.

So what the fuck are you on about? 4K or 1440p says nothing at all about what 'end' you're on it just means you have a crapload of pixels to push.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,703 (1.96/day)
Location
Vinewood
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Yeah or HDMI 2.0

DP is not without its issues. Bit slow to connect.
I'm already using the HDMI port for my tv.
So I have to go with DP if I upgrade to 1440p if it would have a higher refresh rate than 60Hz.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
652 (0.38/day)
Is Display Port or HDMI not better?
Displayport is, it's the successor to DVI & HDMI. HDMI however is no better than DVI, they are sister technologies that emerged in the late 1990's, DVI was designed for monitors as a digital replacement for VGA, and HDMI was a stripped down version for designed for televisions as a digital replacement for SCART and component RGB, you see a lot of overlap however as their digital part is essentially the same, hence the existence of passive adaptors.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
726 (0.21/day)
Location
Israel
System Name PC ?
Processor Core i7 3930k 4.2GHz
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X79 Tuf
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 360 CPU
Memory 32gb of G.Skill Trident X 2400MHz C10
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Storage C:/Samsung 840 EVO 1TB - D:/7TB of Storage (WD-Bx2)
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B Black 34" 21:9 144Hz
Case Corsair 570X
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z + Cambridge Audio CXA60 + Klipsch RP-160M + Klipsch Reference R-112
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro (64bit)
Seeing as the 1070 cannot even max out 120 fps on a 1080p monitor in all games, I don't see why DVI-D can't be a high end connection. There is no single-GPU in the world that can saturate that connection with all the content you can play on it.

So what the fuck are you on about? 4K or 1440p says nothing at all about what 'end' you're on it just means you have a crapload of pixels to push.
Most shooters work very well, even with 290x. not every one like you play with MSAAx8
 
Joined
May 6, 2016
Messages
29 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel i7-6700k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x8GB@2400Hz
Video Card(s) EVG GTX 1070 SC
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 256GB, Seagate Baracuda 2TB
Display(s) Benq XL2430T, Viewsonic V3D245
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Power Supply Corsair RM650i
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/13419009
I wonder if bios fix will help. I own two monitors, one running at 144Hz and an older one running at 120Hz which requires DVI, so this is something that can potentially affect me when I finally get my hands on either 1080 or 1070.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
2,010 (1.78/day)
System Name X58
Processor Xeon E5640
Motherboard ASUS P6x58D-E
Cooling Coolermaster Seidon 240V
Memory 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC+
Storage 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 / 500GB Hitachi Deskstar
Display(s) VX2268M
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster FX
Power Supply Silverstone ST1000-P
Mouse Steelseries Rival
Keyboard TTesports Poseidon ZX
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 1 Billion
Joined
Nov 5, 2014
Messages
652 (0.38/day)
I run overclocked 75hz through HDMI, no matter the GPU i can't OC any higher than 65hz on DVI-D
That's because you are using an old "single link" DVI cable, they are limited to 1920x1200@60Hz, you're getting the extra 5Hz due to running at 1080.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,703 (1.96/day)
Location
Vinewood
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
I wonder if bios fix will help. I own two monitors, one running at 144Hz and an older one running at 120Hz which requires DVI, so this is something that can potentially affect me when I finally get my hands on either 1080 or 1070.
Or just lower the Hz everytime before shutting down, which what I would do, I'm uncomfortable flashing my expensive card.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2009
Messages
2,086 (0.55/day)
System Name Cyberline
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k
Motherboard Asus P8P67 LE Rev 3.0
Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7
Memory Corsair (4x2) 8gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD RX480
Storage Kingstone 60gb SSD + WD 1tb x 2 + WD 2tb
Display(s) Philips 32inch LPF5605H (television)
Case antec 600
Audio Device(s) Focusrite 2i4 (USB)
Power Supply Seasonic 620watt 80+ Platinum
Mouse Elecom EX-G
Keyboard Rapoo V700
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Or just lower the Hz everytime before shutting down, which what I would do, I'm uncomfortable flashing my expensive card.
That would be sooooo tedious though.
And for such an expensive card....I mean its your choice but I would keep the receipt.
 
Last edited:
Top