• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

General questions about overclocking

Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey I just have a few general questions about over clocking my pc

I'm currently running a i7 3770k CPU with a Gigabyte GeForce Gtx 680 4gb oc edition
I have a h100 corsair liquid cooling installed as well (initially for overclocking) I use this mainly for gaming.
At the moment I am playing all my games at max graphics with no problems.

So basically, I'm just wondering what difference will I notice if I overclock my CPU
And the same with my gpu.

Is there any point to do so to begin with

What are safe temperatures to run the gpu and CPU at,
Which won't affect the life span of my rig too harshly

Any help with these would be great thanks !
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,680 (2.69/day)
Likes
1,998
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#2
return to what you need
faster processing or better handling in high textures or like that
for me both is pretty fast but if you want to try you can try cpu first, raise little by little
10% from stock i guess is ok, then you check the temp and test the stability of your system
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#3
So basically, I'm just wondering what difference will I notice if I overclock my CPU
And the same with my gpu.

Is there any point to do so to begin with
For gaming that CPU is overkill anyway, and no you will probably not notice a lot. Overclocking these days are pretty much only for enthusiasts and the ones who enjoy it. Unless you're doing rendering work or something CPU intense there is zero point to it.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.96/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#4
you failed to mention your PSU. your GPU is very hungry and you will need a decent PSU to overclock them together. i go with Frick, overclocking is purely limited for enthusiasts and people who like to do it. hardware nowadays is pretty good enough for gaming and etc.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,825 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,108
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#5
I always look at it in a more selfish way, for every extra Mhz I get out of my CPU and GPU (and Ram) I am getting technically "free" performance, everything at stock is paid for :)

I suppose the answer to your question is that by overclocking, even just a little you will get extra frames, if you really don't need those extra frames in the games you play then don't bother. It is of course more important to those buying budget systems, if they can spend half of what you spend but acheive a system that pretty much competes with yours due to overclocking then thats a real gain.

Example: I paid £70 new for my current processor a month ago, yours in the UK is around £225, over 3 times as much, yours on Turbo boost will hit 3.9Gig, mine is run at 4.3gig, I am probably getting similar or perhaps even better performance levels for a third of the cost :) That does not mean my or your approach is wrong, just that it's different.
 
Last edited:

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,659 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,230
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#6
I wouldn't say that there's no point to overclocking your system. There's a motto which says you can't have too much power for a gaming system and there's truth to it.

In this case, you might find that current games all reach a solid 60 or 120fps with vsync on, but newer games may well not. For example, Crysis 3 may well be really tough on the system, so any performance boost you get would help. Even on games that run at high fps, it can still help to avoid judders where the fps dips by a large amount. So yeah, you can't have too much power.

You can measure your framerate in real time with www.fraps.com

I always look at it in a more selfish way, for every extra Mhz I get out of my CPU and GPU (and Ram) I am getting technically "free" performance, everything at stock is paid for :)
Perfectly put. :)
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
If you want a safe OC with SB/IB I would just start out by leaving everything on default while ONLY change the mutli to 40x and if that turns out to be stable do 1x increases until you find the most stable clock for default settings. Also monitor your temps with RealTemp and voltages with CPUz.
 
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#8
For gaming that CPU is overkill anyway, and no you will probably not notice a lot. Overclocking these days are pretty much only for enthusiasts and the ones who enjoy it. Unless you're doing rendering work or something CPU intense there is zero point to it.
My psu is 800w cooler master silent pro gold
Wrong quote

I always look at it in a more selfish way, for every extra Mhz I get out of my CPU and GPU (and Ram) I am getting technically "free" performance, everything at stock is paid for :)
So what your saying Is if in the future my hardware is outdated then instead of updating my gpu etc, that is when I should overclock.

Does anyone have any advice or experience on using Eva precision x
 
Last edited by a moderator:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#9
Please use the multi qoute option when replying to multiple people in your thread. It helps cut down on excessive bumping. :)
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,825 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,108
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#10
So what your saying Is if in the future my hardware is outdated then instead of updating my gpu etc, that is when I should overclock.
Well to put it quite simply, if Intel releases a new CPU that at stock, clock for clock is a 10% performance improvement over your existing 3770, simply overclock your current CPU by 11% and you have faster performance, of course it's relative as if you were prepared to overclock in the first place you would be overclocking the new CPU :)
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
I wouldn't say that there's no point to overclocking your system. There's a motto which says you can't have too much power for a gaming system and there's truth to it.

In this case, you might find that current games all reach a solid 60 or 120fps with vsync on, but newer games may well not. For example, Crysis 3 may well be really tough on the system, so any performance boost you get would help. Even on games that run at high fps, it can still help to avoid judders where the fps dips by a large amount. So yeah, you can't have too much power.
Games that demanding are pretty much exceptions nowadays, and an unlocked Intel CPU is fast enough on stock to handle it that well without overclocking.

I always look at it in a more selfish way, for every extra Mhz I get out of my CPU and GPU (and Ram) I am getting technically "free" performance, everything at stock is paid for :)

Example: I paid £70 new for my current processor a month ago, yours in the UK is around £225, over 3 times as much, yours on Turbo boost will hit 3.9Gig, mine is run at 4.3gig, I am probably getting similar or perhaps even better performance levels for a third of the cost :) That does not mean my or your approach is wrong, just that it's different.
To be fair you have an "old" CPU. As Intel do things now you pay a premium for overclocking, and still loose other features (like VT-d on the upcoming Haswell), so the argument that you can get performance for free is not true anymore. For the Intel side that is. The old times are gone and will not come back.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,825 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,108
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#12
To be fair you have an "old" CPU. As Intel do things now you pay a premium for overclocking, and still loose other features (like VT-d on the upcoming Haswell), so the argument that you can get performance for free is not true anymore. For the Intel side that is. The old times are gone and will not come back.
True, however it does apply to me currently which is why I gave him that example, I appreciate with current and new tech that may well not be the case.
 
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#13
Ok so I've successfully over clocked my gpu to 1370 MHz as a test and its still playing nicely but my temperature has risen from 30 to 37 degrees . Is that an ok temp
Also what is a mem clock offset
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,825 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,108
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#14
Ok so I've successfully over clocked my gpu to 1370 MHz as a test and its still playing nicely but my temperature has risen from 30 to 37 degrees . Is that an ok temp
Also what is a mem clock offset
Thats 37C is clearly an idle temp, you need to check it at full load but I am sure it's gonna be OK.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#15
Ok so I've successfully over clocked my gpu to 1370 MHz as a test and its still playing nicely but my temperature has risen from 30 to 37 degrees . Is that an ok temp
Also what is a mem clock offset
Thats 37C is clearly an idle temp, you need to check it at full load but I am sure it's gonna be OK.
I bet that's in idle state...try to run in 100% load and see how high it will risen up.. :p
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#16
For gaming that CPU is overkill anyway, and no you will probably not notice a lot. Overclocking these days are pretty much only for enthusiasts and the ones who enjoy it. Unless you're doing rendering work or something CPU intense there is zero point to it.

It would be much more easier to tell him to quit TPU....... Don't listen to "Mr.Negativity". His overall performance will benefit from overclocking. Why be negative? The guy bought water cooling for his 3770K. A better choice would have been no comment at all.


Ok, I am done with that. What kind of motherboard do you have? Yo can easily overclock the 3770K by raising the multiplier on stock voltage to see how high it can get. Raise the multi in small increments and run an hour or so on prime95. if it passes up the multi 1 or 2 more nothes tioll it fails. Then add vcore. Watch your temps and keep it 75 or under and your golden. it is pretty simple.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#17
It would be much more easier to tell him to quit TPU....... Don't listen to "Mr.Negativity". His overall performance will benefit from overclocking. Why be negative? The guy bought water cooling for his 3770K. A better choice would have been no comment at all.


Ok, I am done with that. What kind of motherboard do you have? Yo can easily overclock the 3770K by raising the multiplier on stock voltage to see how high it can get. Raise the multi in small increments and run an hour or so on prime95. if it passes up the multi 1 or 2 more nothes tioll it fails. Then add vcore. Watch your temps and keep it 75 or under and your golden. it is pretty simple.
I have the asrock z77 extreme 6, I just raise the multiplier through pressing f2 at start up?
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,644 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,895
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#18
..Raise the multi in small increments and run an hour or so on prime95. if it passes up the multi 1 or 2 more nothes tioll it fails. Then add vcore...
This will really confuse matters... (not what you said, what I'm about to say).

I had heat issues and a high voltage with my SB-E. My 3930k was asking for about 1.38v (VID) on my 4.0GHz setting. I brought the vcore right down (1.32v) using the offset in BIOS (-0.06) and it runs about 5-10 degrees cooler and is still perfectly stable.

It's still fun overclocking. There's more to it than multi's if you have a chip that doesn't play nice!
 
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#19
This will really confuse matters... (not what you said, what I'm about to say).

I had heat issues and a high voltage with my SB-E. My 3930k was asking for about 1.38v (VID) on my 4.0GHz setting. I brought the vcore right down (1.32v) using the offset in BIOS (-0.06) and it runs about 5-10 degrees cooler and is still perfectly stable.

It's still fun overclocking. There's more to it than multi's if you have a chip that doesn't play nice!
Roger that, officially confused.
I'm just running tests on 4.6 ghz now to see if its stable from raising multis. That way is simple however I've just left it all on auto. Is that the best way?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,825 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,108
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#20
Roger that, officially confused.
I'm just running tests on 4.6 ghz now to see if its stable from raising multis. That way is simple however I've just left it all on auto. Is that the best way?
Well, the thing with auto settings, whilst being the simplest is not always the best, often auto will give you higher voltages than you need, for example, check your VCore under load with the auto setting, then go into Bios and set VCore a little below that, test stability then further reduce until you get to the point that the system crashes, then up it a couple of notches and you should be good, remembering that less voltage and less heat is good!

If voltages are pretty low anyway and your happy with that then just keep it how it is.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,231 (1.47/day)
Likes
664
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#21
even if you are bigger in overclocking, u have good cooling i think just leave everything on auto and just rise up the CPU multiplier at 40x to 42x so u will got 4.2ghz it will great, stocl voltage will be more than enough for your CPU.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2011
Messages
995 (0.42/day)
Likes
478
Processor Core i7 6800k @ 4.1GHz @ 1.325v
Motherboard MSI X99A Raider
Cooling LEPA AquaChanger 240
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengence LED @3000MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 Ti @ +25core +400mem
Storage 960 EVO 1TB, OCZ Vector 512GB, 2x Samsung 830 128GB, 750GB Samsung, 1.5TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Acer XB270HU, Qnix QX2710
Case Corsair Carbide 500R White
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply EVGA P2 850W
Mouse RAT8
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Ultimate 2016 Edition
Software Win 10 x64
#22
even if you are bigger in overclocking, u have good cooling i think just leave everything on auto and just rise up the CPU multiplier at 40x to 42x so u will got 4.2ghz it will great, stocl voltage will be more than enough for your CPU.
If you leave voltage on auto it won't leave it at stock, it will automatically increase voltage on the CPU to keep it stable. However it pretty much always increases the voltage much more than is necessary. Always best to force it to a specific voltage or use offsets in order to get it to use less.