• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Get your X1950Pro modded BIOS here

thegave

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
277 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name Needs a new name
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz Extreme Edition (IT WORKS!)
Motherboard Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright XP-120
Memory 4x512mb Corsair XMS3200XL
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi X1950Pro 512MB AGP + AC Accelero X2
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA-II 8MB cache
Display(s) Dell 1800FP
Case None!
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores Too good for benching
Damnit Kaytech your clocks are smoking mine. Memory apparently doesn't make all that much difference performance-wise so you're better off with tight timings. And now I feel bad about buying the X2... Looks like the S1 kicks ass. =/

If you ever get around to doing a hard v-mod on that puppy give me a shout and show me what you did. I still can't work out where/how to measure the vgpu.

On that topic, I just realised my Memory Refresh Rate value doesn't stick either, and it bounces back to 0x4D... And I thought stock was 0x44? So my value is even slower...
 

Kaytek

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
BodyAction19: Before you go any further do some reading about video card bios flashing. Especially read the parts about what to do when (and it's quite probable) you screw up. For this video card, get the latest version of atiflash and use a floppy drive. Works the best it seems. And before you do anything, back up your original bios onto say two floppy disks and onto your hard drive... you can't be too safe :)

LuxZg: I tried changing your memory timings but, just like for everyone else, Rabit does squat to the memory refresh rate.

thegave: Smoking clocks are nice but they aren't really doing much performance wise :( I don't believe that I need a hard vmod since Rabit 2.2.1 shows a voltage table and RivaTuner brings up some info about different Vcore's as well.

With that said, I think Rabit is equivalent to AtiTool for me since it doesn't properly modify the memory timings or the voltage table. I really want to understand how to change the bios using a hex editor. I believe that is where our salvation lies...

I'm trying to remember the days I 'cheated' in Diablo II by hex editing my saved game to get lots of gold and what not. I always had an urge to buy the most expensive gear I could find :D

So what say you Ketxxx? Can you throw us one last bone with respect to hex editing the bios? Pretty please? If I can understand it and make it work, I'll gladly help other people along.

Cheers,

Kaytek
 

thegave

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
277 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name Needs a new name
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz Extreme Edition (IT WORKS!)
Motherboard Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright XP-120
Memory 4x512mb Corsair XMS3200XL
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi X1950Pro 512MB AGP + AC Accelero X2
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA-II 8MB cache
Display(s) Dell 1800FP
Case None!
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores Too good for benching
What does a voltage table look like? My RaBiT has voltage options too, they just don't do anything.
 

Kaytek

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Ok well I found the core and memory clock locations in the bios. What I could really use a hint on is where the memory timings and voltage table is located... Damn reverse hex bios...

If anyone is curious you can read this and this.

Cheers,

Kaytek
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Likes
15
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
Kaytek: I've tried 2.2.0 with same result.

Hex editing is a bit too complicated to bother (wouldn't be normaly, but if it's reversed hex.. dooh!). But I'll see what I can find out, I think good way would be to compare 2 bios files where you would change few timings in one and leave default in other. Than you just have to compare the two and part of code where you find differences is where timings are. Than it's the matter of details ;) I'll see a bit right now, just let me find a hex editor for a minute...

edit 1: I've changed all timigs to 5 or 0x5 cos those never exsist in original BIOS files. I've compared them with some hex-compare tool and it says differences are in rows 0x0020, 0x0250, 0x0260, 0xBE20, 0xBE30. But that's all over the BIOS :/ I was hoping it could be easier...
I'll try to download that BIOS which already has 0x24 memory refresh, and try to set it to 0x44 so maybe that will help. i'll report back ASAP
 
Last edited:

Kaytek

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
If I had had some coffee this morning I probably would have thought of that... :laugh: Good point though. That answers that I think... try HxD as a hex editor. It seems to be pretty good. Now I need to figure out the checksum issue so that Rabit doesn't complain when opening the modified bios.

Cheers,

Kaytek
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Likes
15
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
Umm, I've tried to change that other BIOS, as it would be easier way around the issue - but I can't change from 0x24 to 0x44 or anything else either :p
Also, this other BIOS is different than mine, and changes occur in different lines. So you'll have to see for yourself where it happens in your bios.

<EDIT> Didn't remember this right away, but maybe hex values RIGHT BEFORE changing parts is always same, no matter which card's BIOS we open.. For example if it says "THIS IS MEMORY REFRESH: 0x24" than "THIS IS MEMORY REFRESH: " wil lalways be same... of course, I know it won't say THAT :D But probably some tag or identifier exists before each value.. Could you check, since you're much better with hex (obviously :) ) <end>

Good luck! Though I doubt we'll have an universal solution anytime soon unless RaBiT 2.2.2 comes out after a year of no development :p :) <edit> except if above suggestion helps :D<end>

EDIT2: One more idea.. I'll gather few bios files from this thread, and compare those that ketxxx moded to 0x24 vs their originals :)
EDIT3: STUPID STUPID STUPID! While all I have to do is a) get original ROM and one Ketxxx moded from same card; b) take ketxx BIOS and RETURN all values to original (only memory refresh won't be as rabit can't do it); c) compare :)
 
Last edited:

Kaytek

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Well good luck with that. I made a simple change in Rabit to one of the memory timings and a lot of things changed when comparing... :( My newbness is getting the best of me :shadedshu

EDIT: Have some mercy on our newbness Ketxxx :laugh:

Cheers,

Kaytek
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Likes
15
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
Well, wouldn't like to sound ungrateful - but I think Ketxxx never changed memory refresh rate :D

All files I've compared have same value before and after modding, and few have +/- few % difference like that 0x44<->0x4C we all usually see, but also 0x22<->0x23 as well.
There is this one card (AGP HIS one) which has 0x22 for memory refresh in BIOS originaly posted, and in Ketxxx moded file it's 0x23. So I've played a bit, and learned that if you put all clocks and timings back to normal and don't touch memory refresh, RaBiT puts it back to 0x22 anyway (note! From 0x22 originaly, to 0x23 in Ketxxx mod, back to 0x22 if you put everything else back!). It's actualy tied to memory/GPU clocks somehow, probably some ratio or something, but can't get to the bottom of it.

Only card that I couldn't find original BIOS for is one from Ketxxx, and that one has 0x24 memory refresh rate, but I believe that's what he had in BIOS in the first place (just as that HIS card had 0x22 originaly).

So I'm giving up at the moment, as no BIOS can fit on my card (50/50% sure, but don't want to mess with it and blind flash later as I've got no floppy), and obviously you can't change this one timing no matter what you do.
I'll try to change mem/gpu clocks a bit in my original BIOS later, maybe it changes something, at least for one step lower.. but as much as I've tried so far - it didn't happen.

So Kaytek good luck! And Ketxxx - if I'm wrong I'd be glad :) Than just post me my BIOS with mem refresh rate of anything under 0x44... I'll be eternaly grateful!!! :)
 
B

BlackStar

Guest
Good to know, I'll test those 2D<->3D variations..

Btw, would you explain how you've done it? Just entered 200/300 under "Overdrive2D" and 575/688 under "Default" profile? Or have you changed something else as well?
Yes, that's pretty much what I did in the BIOS itself.

I then clocked the card through the drivers (any relevant tool would work actually), so that it reverts to overclocked mode in 3d applications. Power usage fell to 89W idle (down from 120W with CPU and GPU on stock clocks/voltages, pretty nice I might add!) and shoots up to 200W under full load (Orthos and gfx benchmarks at the same time).

It looks like rabit changes several bytes when changing clocks. Some of these have to do with checksums (it updates those, so that checksums validate), but it isn't impossible that it also changes memory timings when you change mem clocks. No saying without the source to look at though...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.56/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
Ketxx, you're not listening to what I'm saying :(

So I'll explain once more... I've opened RaBiT, entered your timings in my original BIOS file, saved, flashed.
But than I've noticed no big changes, so I've reopened BIOS and all timings were saved except memory refresh rate which was back on original value of 0x44 instead on 0x24 which I've put in RaBiT.

I've tried again, opened BIOS, changed, saved, and it was showing in RaBiT, but as soon as I've closed RaBiT and reopened moded BIOS file, memory refresh rate was back to 0x44 instead of 0x24. I just want to underline this - I DID NOT flash it and reopened it from ROM, I've just saved moded file to desktop and reopened same file 2 seconds later RaBiT shows old value, but only for memory refresh rate, all else was saved correctly.

I've even tried on other computer, but RaBiT is acting weirdly there and won't show me timings at all (?!)

That's why I've uploaded my BIOS again, and if ANYONE can change timings I'd be most gratefull. You can find original post with BIOS attached OVER HERE, and 2 sets of timing I tried can be seen in same post. Any will do.. both would be superb :p All of this (but in short) is also written in the same post..
ERk.. flashflood of questions.. too much to read.. brain overload WaRNiNg wArNinG *red sirens going off* so I'll try to answer everything with the above quote as scan reading everybody seems to have the same deal more or less. Memory refresh rate is pre-determined within the BIOS, and only changes when you increase or decrease GPU frequency. I couldnt find where this is controlled in the BIOS, so I looked for a BIOS that had a memory refresh rate I wanted to use. The most common are 0x2C, 0x44, 0x22 and 0x23. To keep things easy use rabit to change memory timings and things like clock frequencies, rabit is quite capable of doing those things.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Likes
15
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
Thanks Ketxxx, that's what we were waiting for :)

Though this probably means no better timings for me, since my GeCube card looks to be unlike any other (I'll search for BIOS of another GeCube card i've seen, with TEC cooling, but otherwise seems the same, maybe it's timings are better! :p )
 

Kaytek

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Yeah so this video card is pretty unfriendly when it comes to OCing... oh well.

So since I'm stuck with my memory refresh rate of 0x44, will changing any of the other memory timings have a real impact on performance?

Cheers,

Kaytek
 

thegave

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
277 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name Needs a new name
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz Extreme Edition (IT WORKS!)
Motherboard Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright XP-120
Memory 4x512mb Corsair XMS3200XL
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi X1950Pro 512MB AGP + AC Accelero X2
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA-II 8MB cache
Display(s) Dell 1800FP
Case None!
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores Too good for benching
Bumpasaurus and +1 for sticky.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Likes
15
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
Is bumping ilegal? :) Cos it's not, I can bump it pretty much every day as I've got this page opening in my browser every day anyway... :)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,361 (9.26/day)
Likes
13,943
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon (really nice board, bad vdroop under load w/ an 8 core)
Cooling Corsair H155i Pro (yay for maglev fans!)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 32" HP 1440p
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Is bumping ilegal? :) Cos it's not, I can bump it pretty much every day as I've got this page opening in my browser every day anyway... :)
as long as you double post, the mods wont yell at you
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
172 (0.04/day)
Likes
15
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name My main PC - C2D
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 320x10 (3200MHz) w/ Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (Intel P35 + ICH9R chipset, socket 775)
Cooling Scythe Ninja rev.B + 120mm fan | 250mm case fan on side | 120mm PSU fan
Memory 4x 1GB Kingmax MARS DDR2 800 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi Radeon HD4890
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 250GB SATAII, 16MB cache, 7200 rpm
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 757DFX, 17“ CRT, max: 1920x1440 @64Hz
Case Aplus CS-188AF case with 250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A onboard 7.1, with Logitech X-540 5.1 speakers
Power Supply Chieftec 450W (GPS450AA-101A) /w 120mm fan
Software Windows XP Professional SP3 32bit / Windows 7 Beta1 64bit (dual boot)
Benchmark Scores none
Ok, I'll try not to be too obvious :D (bump anyone?)
 

thegave

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
277 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name Needs a new name
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz Extreme Edition (IT WORKS!)
Motherboard Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright XP-120
Memory 4x512mb Corsair XMS3200XL
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi X1950Pro 512MB AGP + AC Accelero X2
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA-II 8MB cache
Display(s) Dell 1800FP
Case None!
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores Too good for benching
To the top.

I've successfully done the 1.47v gpu mod (I think). Core temperature at idle is up a couple of degrees anyway so there's definitely more power flowing into the core. Haven't really been able to see how high I can go because my whole system's being kind of unstable, not sure if its the ram, the cpu or the vga... =/
 

thegave

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
277 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name Needs a new name
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz Extreme Edition (IT WORKS!)
Motherboard Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright XP-120
Memory 4x512mb Corsair XMS3200XL
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi X1950Pro 512MB AGP + AC Accelero X2
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA-II 8MB cache
Display(s) Dell 1800FP
Case None!
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores Too good for benching

Kaytek

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Were you able to confirm the voltage increase using the indicated measuring point?

Unless you can read German you can try reading this.

Cheers,

Kaytek
 

thegave

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
277 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name Needs a new name
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz Extreme Edition (IT WORKS!)
Motherboard Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright XP-120
Memory 4x512mb Corsair XMS3200XL
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi X1950Pro 512MB AGP + AC Accelero X2
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA-II 8MB cache
Display(s) Dell 1800FP
Case None!
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores Too good for benching
Oh right. You need to pencil the resistor and connect the tracers?

There are some english posts further back in that thread where the guys tell someone to leave R3066 alone, so I did.

I don't have a multimeter so I can't verify the vgpu, but it is running warmer so I would imagine it worked..

I also still have no idea what to measure.
 

thegave

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
277 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name Needs a new name
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz Extreme Edition (IT WORKS!)
Motherboard Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright XP-120
Memory 4x512mb Corsair XMS3200XL
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi X1950Pro 512MB AGP + AC Accelero X2
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA-II 8MB cache
Display(s) Dell 1800FP
Case None!
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores Too good for benching
Hey I have a question:

Why hasn't this thread been stickied?
 

thegave

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
277 (0.07/day)
Likes
6
System Name Needs a new name
Processor Intel Pentium 4 3.2GHz Extreme Edition (IT WORKS!)
Motherboard Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright XP-120
Memory 4x512mb Corsair XMS3200XL
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATi X1950Pro 512MB AGP + AC Accelero X2
Storage Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA-II 8MB cache
Display(s) Dell 1800FP
Case None!
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores Too good for benching
PLEASE HELP

I found a mini capacitator on the floor today and it looks like it might have come off my video card, but I can't work out where it's supposed to go...

Can someone take pictures of or tell me where all the caps on the Sapphire X1950Pro AGP are located?

At the moment I have the two big ones next to the Molex connector, one big one just above the right end of the agp metal contacts strip, one small one just above the left end of the agp metal contacts strip. These are all on the front side of the card, and there aren't any on the back.

The cap that fell off is inbetween the sizes of the small one and the big ones and the markings on it say

47
6S
9G0

So it may not actually be from my card, it could have come off my X800 but I need to know quickly please thanks

And also what the hell should I do about it? I think my vga still actually works..
 
Top