• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Get your X1950Pro modded BIOS here

M

maKe

Guest
Damnit. Now this was last time I flash any kinda bios to vga cards. Yesterday I just tried make my own bios with RaBiT. Changed Vgpu to 1.425v and tried ketxxx mem latencys. Flashed with Atiflash 3.60 and bamm, nice error. Tried to flash backup bios back and gave same error. ctrl+alt+del = black screen = Took out my Finlandia vodka from shelf. Today I visited my friends house with screwdriver on my hand, sorry could you move your ass outta my way and unscrewed his 8800GT. Gave 5 euros and said "ill be back soon..."

Plugged the 8800 to secondary slot and I just noticed that I have only one external pci-e power cord. Left the x1950 in the primary slot and hoped that I would get screen with 8800GT on secondary. Yep got screen and booted right away to dos. Typed atiflash -i. WTF what you mean no adapter found? I just guessed it was because the x1950 didn't have any external power for it so it's not working. I then did the same ritual I had done for 1000x times before blinded "atiflash -p 0 backup.rom". For some unknown reason it showed that flash was succesfull. Hitted ctrl+alt+del and mobo started beeping like the card would not have it's power cord connected. Quickly dumped the 8800 and plugged power and dvi to x1950 and wtf it's working!

I don't know the reason why it flashed it because atiflash clearly said "no adapter found", and I didn't have any luck doing same thing with just x1950 as only card with all power cords etc. attatched. Maybe this helps some people around who has problems flashing original bios back for their cards. I'm not tweaking this thing anymore, way too risky for me and I'm off for getting HD4870 1gb :)

Oh and the card was Connectd 3D 1950pro 256mb with volt tables showing in RaBiT.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.20/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
Damnit. Now this was last time I flash any kinda bios to vga cards. Yesterday I just tried make my own bios with RaBiT. Changed Vgpu to 1.425v and tried ketxxx mem latencys. Flashed with Atiflash 3.60 and bamm, nice error. Tried to flash backup bios back and gave same error. ctrl+alt+del = black screen = Took out my Finlandia vodka from shelf. Today I visited my friends house with screwdriver on my hand, sorry could you move your ass outta my way and unscrewed his 8800GT. Gave 5 euros and said "ill be back soon..."

Plugged the 8800 to secondary slot and I just noticed that I have only one external pci-e power cord. Left the x1950 in the primary slot and hoped that I would get screen with 8800GT on secondary. Yep got screen and booted right away to dos. Typed atiflash -i. WTF what you mean no adapter found? I just guessed it was because the x1950 didn't have any external power for it so it's not working. I then did the same ritual I had done for 1000x times before blinded "atiflash -p 0 backup.rom". For some unknown reason it showed that flash was succesfull. Hitted ctrl+alt+del and mobo started beeping like the card would not have it's power cord connected. Quickly dumped the 8800 and plugged power and dvi to x1950 and wtf it's working!

I don't know the reason why it flashed it because atiflash clearly said "no adapter found", and I didn't have any luck doing same thing with just x1950 as only card with all power cords etc. attatched. Maybe this helps some people around who has problems flashing original bios back for their cards. I'm not tweaking this thing anymore, way too risky for me and I'm off for getting HD4870 1gb :)

Oh and the card was Connectd 3D 1950pro 256mb with volt tables showing in RaBiT.

Sorry to hear you had problems :\ I'd probably do the same thing, by not trying it again, but maybe I can persuade you to give it another go at some other time. Personally, I'd have stayed away from the volt modding right off the bat. I'd think that's the problem with your flashing. My first go at editing, I only changed a few things (my 1950 was my first attempt). After I got the hang of it, and tried things one at a time, I managed to really wake this card up! I never would have guessed I'd have obtained such overclocks :) If you want, you're welcome to try my settings, but be aware that we probably have different memory modules and yours might not like my timings. Ket was able to get some insane timings off his card. I'll upload mine w/o the volt mod and high overclocks. You'll have to insert your card's Device IDs. If you really feel like VModding it though, maybe just do 1.4000v instead of 1.425v. I use ATiWinFlash BTW, which I'll also up.

Hope it helps. Good luck.
 

Attachments

M

maKe

Guest
Sorry to hear you had problems :\ I'd probably do the same thing, by not trying it again, but maybe I can persuade you to give it another go at some other time. Personally, I'd have stayed away from the volt modding right off the bat. I'd think that's the problem with your flashing. My first go at editing, I only changed a few things (my 1950 was my first attempt). After I got the hang of it, and tried things one at a time, I managed to really wake this card up! I never would have guessed I'd have obtained such overclocks :) If you want, you're welcome to try my settings, but be aware that we probably have different memory modules and yours might not like my timings. Ket was able to get some insane timings off his card. I'll upload mine w/o the volt mod and high overclocks. You'll have to insert your card's Device IDs. If you really feel like VModding it though, maybe just do 1.4000v instead of 1.425v. I use ATiWinFlash BTW, which I'll also up.

Hope it helps. Good luck.
Yeah maybe I try it again, when I buy 1€ PCI vga card for backup. :D
2-3 years ago when I bought x800 pro vivo and soft-modded it into XT PE I didn't have any faulty flashes etc. Did it infact pretty many times. Also soldered Vgpu, Vmem, vddq and vgpu overcurrent mods into it. Pushed it with watercooling and phase change to some pretty hc clocks at that time. Card lasted about 2 years before it eventually died from my hc 24/7 voltages and would not be playable even at stock clocks.

Now this x1950 is pain in the ass to overclock and mod. Changes mem timings, atitool crash the card when clocking etc. And I'm even running watercool and my load temps wont see anymore than 35-38c, mems has 92mm fan cooling around the card. I just want Fallout 3 to run a little bit better before upgrading for 4870 + Q6600 etc.

I guess my card just don't like me. :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Romania
Hy there :) i know that this thread is no longer used, but i want just a simple answer : i found some kind of switch on my Sapphire X1950PRO AGP board, and i don't know what is does. Can someone help me ?
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.20/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
Hy there :) i know that this thread is no longer used, but i want just a simple answer : i found some kind of switch on my Sapphire X1950PRO AGP board, and i don't know what is does. Can someone help me ?
95% sure it's to switch between PAL and NTSC for the video out. My Sapphire has it as well, but I don't recall if there was/is a sticker by it or on-pcb text explaining it. Since my case isn't easily accessible and my back is currently pulled, I won't be checking heh Sorry. I'm sure google has the answer though if you absolutely have to know :) I'm still pretty sure it's for the video out though and no special Turbo features heh
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.47/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
I'm surprised people still ask me about the 1950 Pros here.. my work was accomplished. Many Xpertvision 1950 Pro owners have been happily gaming for a long time now with my fixed BIOS and some great performance increases with AA & AF enabled. Theres no further work for me to do here.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
19,965 (4.53/day)
Likes
4,138
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
where have you been?
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.20/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
:laugh: Totally forgot I was subscribed here!

I learned quite a bit from this thread and am STILL happily gaming on my 1950 Pro with my own modified BIOS :D Mind you, mine wasn't as extensively gone through as yours, since I don't know how to Hex Edit, but I still managed to get my 642 core and 850 mem clocks! I think that time has taken it's toll though, as it only likes to do 634 and 825, but I never saw any gains between the higher mem clocks anyways since ours were always core limited.


where have you been?
I see him on MSN quite often.
 

Shivansps

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I need a stock X1950GT 256MB AGP bios, can someone help me? I have a card in my second pc that probably has some kind of bios corruption.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.20/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
I need a stock X1950GT 256MB AGP bios, can someone help me? I have a card in my second pc that probably has some kind of bios corruption.
Better start browsing all 75 pages (more emphasis on the last 30 though). Then again, keep in mind you're in the x1950Pro thread, and you have the x1950GT :)
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Hellos mens. I need Help with my X1950 Pro Agp 512 Sapphire

Hello I have Sapphire X1950 Pro Agp 512. My X1950 dead for bad Tft Monitor.

I can repair my sapphire x1950 Pro, I have a Station Solder, I had repaired other electronics components, motherboards, monitors, Tv Decoders, Consoles Ps2, Ps3 or Xbox, etc..

Bad Old Ibm 17" Tft monitor Kill my X1950. Monitor no worked days ago, but Xeon computer beep and inits, sound to Windows init but screen black, if when Windows sound init finish, I press power of button, windows shut down with closed sound. I suspected problem is in Tft monitor, But, I decided previous to repair monitor, change Vga cable monitor for other cable vga monitor.

But I had a great mistake... New cable Vga conector have more pins than original vga conector Cable Old Ibm 17" Tft... I init computer and monitor... and then computer no init, no beep... X1950 broken for put other vga cable on old monitor with more pins... I test computer with a very old Agp Geforce 2mx and computer work perfect.

I have repaired monitor Ibm, (replace 3 bad capacitors on power supply, put old original vga cable), and test monitor with Dual Xeon old computer with very old Agp Geforce 2mx. Now all work perfect. Monitor work perfect and computer work perfect..

But My great good Sapphire X1950 Pro now is Dead.

This Dual Old Xeon computer is for Photoshop, 3DMax Old versions Work. Is old computer but is good computer for my work. But for better performance in my work need repair my Sapphire X1950 Pro.

Its for check value smd component on Pcb Sapphire X1950. I had check my Sapphire X1950 and I think, I found smd component problem for my Vga Fail.


Near to Fan, in left down corner, exits Tantalo Capaciter C959, (is orange-yellow and have a Black line paint for indicate positive pad, value is 686J, 68 Uf and J= 3,6V). In my Sapphire X1950, I tested C959 capacitor with polimeter-multimeter, Red positive polimeter wire on corner black line smd pad and black negative polimeter wire on right smd pad. Put multimeter, polimeter on Mode test ohmios in Beep Mode. And then in my sapphire X1950, multimeter polimeter, beep.. beep.


I think is a electric short. Is possible this component is in bad state. This C959 tantalum Capaciter have a value like others tantalum capaciters on X1950 Pcb?. Or is a bridge and is correct this smd beep when I test it with multimeter? Article is in Shor circuit or is correct bridge?.

I test my computer Xeon with S3 Virge Pci Old Vga Card and with X1950 Pro istalled. I put in bios computer, Pci Vga first select option.

Init with S3 Virge.

If I put S3 Pci with Ati X1950 Card and I have installed with two Power Extra Connectors, computer no init.

If I Remove first Power Extra Connectors, (look x1950 in front part, connector up), and only remained installed power on second extra connector, Then Computer init with S3 Virge Pci.

If i Remove second, (look x1950 in front part, connector down), and only remained installed power on first extra connector, Then Computer refuse to init. No init.

Sure problem with vga smd component related with First extra power connector.

Need other X1950 Agp 512 Sapphire Users, say me multimeter value on beep mode for C959 Tantalum capaciter and black small smd near to this C959.

Pic with description location components:



Thanks and Greetings Ps. Sorry for my poor English.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
507 (0.11/day)
Likes
70
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name i7 Rig
Processor 970 @ 4.2Ghz @ 1.3vcore
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Thermalright TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 120mm 1600RPM x2 Push/Pull
Memory Muskin XP12800 12GB DDR3 1600 7-8-7-20 1T
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Radeon RX 580 GAMING 8GB
Storage Intel 160GB G2 SSDx2 Raid 0 / WD 1TB Black 32mb / ESATA WD 2TB 64mb Green
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Cooler Master 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Hyperthreading on. -= CPU Idle 36c Load 75c | GPU Idle 35c Load 58c =-
This thread has been dead for over a year boss :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.20/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
Why not just google that capacitor and find out what it's value is instead? Same for that small resistor? I've done that tons of times...

And you would've been better off posting a new thread instead of resurrecting this old ass one lol
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,709 (3.91/day)
Likes
9,313
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Filrond's post is off topic and it would be better to split the thread from post 1861 (Filrond's) into another one. Calling it his post title "Hellos mens. I need Help with my X1950 Pro Agp 512 Sapphire" is probably a good idea, too.

Any mods care to do this one?

And in answer to the post, this is such an ancient card, that is it even worth doing anything with it? A modern cheap, bottom end card would handily outperform it.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.20/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
Filrond's post is off topic and it would be better to split the thread from post 1861 (Filrond's) into another one. Calling it his post title "Hellos mens. I need Help with my X1950 Pro Agp 512 Sapphire" is probably a good idea, too.

Any mods care to do this one?
I concur, however I think that a thread title of "Hello: Need help repairing x1950 Pro AGP; Multimeter readings required". (If that is too long, chop off "required")

And in answer to the post, this is such an ancient card, that is it even worth doing anything with it? A modern cheap, bottom end card would handily outperform it.
[/quote]

While I fully agree here too, I can say that a lot of people hang onto items like this for a few reason, and would want to repair one that is broken because of it. One being the usage for a Nostalgia rig for games of that 'vintage', which the x1950 was considered to easily play (same reason a lot of us, me included, collect 3Dfx cards, though I understand that is quite a bit different). Another reason may be because it's an AGP card, and while there are newer ones that are FAR more powerful, ones like the HD3850 are not easy (or cheap) to obtain :\ Heck, I wish I had an x1950 AGP at the very least, but a higher end HD2000 or HD3850 would be even better lol It'd get minimal use, but is sweet to have. Just like my Quantum3D AAlchemy card with 8xVPU (VSA100, Voodoo4/5 chip), 32mb/ea :p Useful, maybe if I had the military simulator software that the card was used in, but serves very little for a consumer like me haha Still it's essentially like have two of the unreleased Voodoo5 6000s in a single card solution!:rockout: Akin to those industrial Quad x1950 cards :D [/ramble]

It also could be a learning experience though, and he might have a dead card maybe from the HD4000 line, but out of warranty. So he'll practice on this first :p On that note, I would still suggest just googling those capacitor and resistor numbers to fine their ratings/white paper.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,709 (3.91/day)
Likes
9,313
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Ya know, I missed that it's an AGP card, what with all that red text over it. :laugh: You're quite right Formula, a card like that is becoming rare and expensive, so trying to fix it can make sense.

And I can quite understand your desire to collect 3dfx* cards. I have a couple myself: Voodoo 3 2000 PCI & a Voodoo 5-something (can't find it now). I also had a Voodoo 3 2000 AGP, but that's languishing in the ex-girlfriend's computer, lol.

She is still using that Compaq AP550 Pentium 3 server PC I gave her ages ago. The best bit is that she remembers me every so often to ask if I could sort out a new PC for her. I do love giving the dumb bitch polite, but infuriating responses saying no. :nutkick: :roll:

*Or should that be 3Dfx?!
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.20/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
Ya know, I missed that it's an AGP card, what with all that red text over it. :laugh: You're quite right Formula, a card like that is becoming rare and expensive, so trying to fix it can make sense.

And I can quite understand your desire to collect 3dfx* cards. I have a couple myself: Voodoo 3 2000 PCI & a Voodoo 5-something (can't find it now). I also had a Voodoo 3 2000 AGP, but that's languishing in the ex-girlfriend's computer, lol.

She is still using that Compaq AP550 Pentium 3 server PC I gave her ages ago. The best bit is that she remembers me every so often to ask if I could sort out a new PC for her. I do love giving the dumb bitch polite, but infuriating responses saying no. :nutkick: :roll:

*Or should that be 3Dfx?!
Yea it's 3Dfx :) And unless you got an engineering sample for a V5 6000 (the 4 GPU card) or V5-5000 (same as 5500, minus 1/2 the memory), it will be a V5-5500 :) ALL of my 3Dfx cards are PCI, and so they can be used in everything ^_^ Most people got the AGP V5s, but what most don't know is that they offer only like 1fps higher than the PCI model :p MAYBE 3ish if you crank up the AA lol
 
Top