• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Getting a new computer. Need a new Modem

CashComp

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
So I'm getting a new computer this Christmas (yay parents...) but I dont have a wireless connection so I need a new modem. I have searched google everywhere to no avail, and Bellsouth SUCKS with customer support. So I decided to ask you guys. What would you suggest for the best modem for DSL within $20-$40?
 
Last edited:

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#2
well why exactly do you need wireless? if you had a computer on the net before, you still will be able to do just that. are you in the UK or elsewhere?
 

CashComp

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
Oh, no, I still want a wired connection. I only made the comment about wireless because we only have one modem, with one type of connection and we're using it on this computer. I still want a wired modem, I just dont know what to get. And I live in Louisiana.

((EDIT: I edited the first post, I meant from $20 to $40
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
887 (0.24/day)
Likes
137
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#4
Its been a while since I've had DSL but aren't the modems usually provided from your ISP? As I remember it you had to use the modem that was provided otherwise it wouldn't work. Now I know that cable modems were a different story since they all operated on the DOCSIS standard.

Are you sure you are looking for a modem rather than a router? A modem interfaces with the ISP and feeds a router that will allow you to use more than one computer.
 

CashComp

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
I did get this modem that I'm using right now from my ISP. They sent it when we ordered the service. I am adding another computer to the same house, so I dont know what I'm looking for. I thought that it would be a modem that I would use with that computer (the new one).
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#6
well here's a quick simple guide...

wireless routers support 3 exsisting ways of using wireless networking.

1:Wireless 'B' - very old now and not very good range also not very good transfer speeds - do not get one

2:Wireless 'G' - pretty good, i'd say its the most commenly used and will get network throughout your house, unless you live in a big big house :D also transfer speeds are usually 108mbp/s or i think they do a 300mbp/s

3:Wireless 'N' - the netwest, i can;t tell you much about these, but i can assure you they will be worth the money if you plan on having a big network.

personally i think the wireless G range will be fine and for the price range im sure you can pick one up from somehwere, have you tried newegg?
 

CashComp

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
Also the computers are in two separate rooms, so I can't feed one wire from the same Modem to the other computer.


Edit: Mc-dexter, I dont really understand most of that :twitch:... and I'd still rather it be a wired connection (simple terms would be most helpful :laugh:).
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#8
the only place on the internet i saw modems for a LONG WHILE is on cyberpower pc, if you are going to buy a pc, buy it from there and select the modem option
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
887 (0.24/day)
Likes
137
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#10

CashComp

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
Okay... So that would go to this computer that I have right now... then I'd have to get a wireless adapter for the new computer that worked with the router you showed?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
887 (0.24/day)
Likes
137
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#12
You would hook the router up to the modem and then you plug your computers into the router. You can think of the router kind of like a cable tv splitter, if you have one cable coming into your house but you need to hookup 2 Tvs. If you can't run a wire between your computer and the router you can get a wireless card for the computer.

They sell routers at Best Buy and just about any office supply store.
 

CashComp

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#13
Finally, terms I understand. ((Like plug, and hook up ^_^)). So how do I know which adapters work with the routers?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
887 (0.24/day)
Likes
137
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#14
Usually the same brand works the best and offers the best performance (Linksys wireless router and Linksys wireless adapter for example) but as long as you use the same type of wireless card as your router (B, G, or, N) it should work fine (regardless of brand). They are backwards compatible so you can use a B network card with a B or G or N router, a G network card with G or N router, a N network card with a N router. If you were to use a B card on the G router you would get slow speeds though.

B is 11mbps

G is 54mbps

N is 100+mbps (300 usually)
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#15
any adaptor will work with any router within the technology limitations Wireless B/G/N

just when you go to buy one or order, it that your ordering both what handle Wireless G, for example.

Netgear,Cisco,Linksys, those i would say are the top 3 in wireless networking, although others probnably will disagree.
 

CashComp

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#16
Alright. Do you, or anyone else, have any suggestions for a router then? I play WoW and am hoping to continue with my 100 mbps connection with 200ish latency...

Edit... wow... is the lower the mbps the better or the other way around...

Edit 2... nevermind, I got mixed up
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#17
Usually the same brand works the best and offers the best performance (Linksys wireless router and Linksys wireless adapter for example) but as long as you use the same type of wireless card as your router (B, G, or, N) it should work fine (regardless of brand). They are backwards compatible so you can use a B network card with a B or G or N router, a G network card with G or N router, a N network card with a N router. If you were to use a B card on the G router you would get slow speeds though.

B is 11mbps

G is 54mbps

N is 100+mbps (300 usually)
thats not quite true, some routers support backward compatibilty, not all,

and those speeds are not right, my wireless G supports speeds of 108mbp/s, and i do rememeber now, i was going to get one that supported speeds upto 300mbp/s

EDIT:eek:bviously higher mbps, if you have a 100mb internet speed like you mentioned, and you get a router that only supports 54mbps, then thats all your going to get... 54mbps

also if transfering files from one computer to another, if you have a wireless router capable of 300mbps, then your data will transfer at those speeds if supported by your wireless pci card or wireless usb dongle (pci card is usually less hassle once fitted due to it being out the way), and also good enough signal strengh
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#18
lol you dont want a modem you want a router
near all routers have built in modems

a wireless router well thats what id get, sure you can connect 2 pcs via ethernet to a router but its messy and wireless is good these days

on newegg you can get

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122016

that is a basic G router will do okay for gaming but its not the fastest, for speed youd have to go up in price i think
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
887 (0.24/day)
Likes
137
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#19
thats not quite true, some routers support backward compatibilty, not all,

and those speeds are not right, my wireless G supports speeds of 108mbp/s, and i do rememeber now, i was going to get one that supported speeds upto 300mbp/s
I've never seen one that didn't support backwards compatibilty and I have seen a lot of Netgear, Linksys, Belkin, Trendnet, etc.

You get 108 with Dual Radio G (Speedbooster technology, etc). 54+54=108
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#20
I've never seen one that didn't support backwards compatibilty and I have seen a lot of Netgear, Linksys, Belkin, Trendnet, etc.

You get 108 with Dual Radio G (Speedbooster technology, etc). 54+54=108
weather its dual radio or dual lights... its still wireless G with transfer speeds of 108mbps+
 

CashComp

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#21
Ok, well do all routers work with all modems? I have a Westell 2200 modem. My constant speed is 100mbps.
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#22
yes as long as its DSL or ADSL :) depending on your ISP
 

CashComp

New Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
21 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#23
So you said a Wireless-G router is up to 108 mbps... there would be no point then to get a wireless-N with my current modem?
 

mc-dexter

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,507 (0.45/day)
Likes
95
Location
England
System Name The Abominable Dust Bomb / Just A Box
Processor AMD 6400+ BE (Windsor) @3.35Ghz / AMD 3200+ (Barton)
Motherboard ASUS M2A VM - HDMI / Abit NF7 - S2
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283 / Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra
Memory 2x 1Gb Kingston DDR2 667Mhz Dual Channel @800Mhz (soon 3Gb Dual) / 2x 512Mb Geil Dual DDR 400Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 8600GT (soon to be ASUS 8800GT) / MSI Geforce 5200FX
Storage 80Gb Maxtor 2mb cache Maxtor 500Gb 32mb cache / 2x 40Gb Maxtor's
Display(s) 19" TFT, 15" TFT, 32" TV / 15" CRT
Case XBLADE / Everest
Audio Device(s) (Onboard) Realtek ALC883 5.1 High Definition / Onboard
Power Supply Antec True Power 480w / 400w Winpower
Software Win Vista Premium SP2 / Win XP Pro SP2
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06 = 6709 ... lol
#24
pretty much, i think the wireless G range will last you a few years, as some people have said they have some problems playing online games... my brother has never had that problem since we upgraded our wireless router from the shitty one we had, we now have a netgear and i am very happy with it. linksys, netgear and cisco are all also good brands, linksys have used cisco's security brand, which apparently is more than ok :)

also when ever you do get round to getting your wireless router, be sure to set up the wireless security - just so you don't get people using your internet for free. the setup is fairly easy, but once you get that and do find you need any help, remember about TPU :D
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#25
You could go Wireless N if you wish to network the 2 PC's together (share files, share printers . . .) and get higher transfer rates.

EDIT: Currently I am using a router in conjunction with 2 wireless cards for 2 PC's and a PC that is wired to the router.