• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

getting "bsod" on windows 10 need diagnose why

Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
353 (0.16/day)
Likes
17
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Seagate 300GB HD sata1
Display(s) HNC AG191D
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Logitech Mx 310
Keyboard Microsoft Internet Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#1
I get this problem once every 4 or 5 days and only after just loading into windows never when windows has been running, I'm guessing is a startup related problem but I don't know it could be a faulty ram, sound card, windows itself etc. What's the first step to getting this clarified??

it doesn't happen all the time tho. I found an article that describes kinda the troubleshooting steps http://www.thewindowsclub.com/windows-7-stop-errors-or-blue-screens-guide

from my video I can't find the stop error code maybe you guys can help me find it on event viewer to start onto some diagnosis.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,828 (3.63/day)
Likes
8,963
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#2
If I were you I would start with getting the dump file , if you can.

Launching into safe mode would also be a good start to see if removing certain programs and drivers stop the issue

I don't know if it's obvious ,but removing any over clocks or ram timing changes and setting everything back to factory stock

only after just loading into windows
try & keep your phone or another type of recording device to capture the crash and any messages etc.. leave it next to your PC, and hopefully move quickly

This will help with Interpreting bsod files

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#3
Find out how to turn off automatic restarts in windows 10 when bsod occurs, find out how to make w10 show the old bsod instead of the sad face emoji like macncrap shows
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
496 (0.14/day)
Likes
115
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
#4
I get this problem once every 4 or 5 days and only after just loading into windows never when windows has been running, I'm guessing is a startup related problem but I don't know it could be a faulty ram, sound card, windows itself etc. What's the first step to getting this clarified??

it doesn't happen all the time tho. I found an article that describes kinda the troubleshooting steps http://www.thewindowsclub.com/windows-7-stop-errors-or-blue-screens-guide

from my video I can't find the stop error code maybe you guys can help me find it on event viewer to start onto some diagnosis.
Sudden system shutdown most of the time is bad ram #1. Could you please post your system specs?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
Sudden system shutdown most of the time is bad ram #1. Could you please post your system specs?
can be a bad hsf mount too for overheat, but todays boards if the hsf is on too tight it causes ram issues due to warping
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
353 (0.16/day)
Likes
17
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Seagate 300GB HD sata1
Display(s) HNC AG191D
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Logitech Mx 310
Keyboard Microsoft Internet Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#6
Sudden system shutdown most of the time is bad ram #1. Could you please post your system specs?
yes I updated them on my tab. I'll have my phone ready and will find out about getting a dump/bsod file and use the utility and disable automatic restart but I like that face.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
353 (0.16/day)
Likes
17
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Seagate 300GB HD sata1
Display(s) HNC AG191D
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Logitech Mx 310
Keyboard Microsoft Internet Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#7
can be a bad hsf mount too for overheat, but todays boards if the hsf is on too tight it causes ram issues due to warping
I have an H70 Corsair on the cpu and it didn't give me problems until I put windows 10.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
151 (0.03/day)
Likes
116
#8
BugCheckCode 209 is DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

Can be a buggy driver, bad RAM stick, wrong BIOS configuration, and if your overclocking: low voltage.

Run MemTest86 first and then Prime95 version 26.6 on Blend.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
353 (0.16/day)
Likes
17
Location
UT,US
System Name Asrock 2013
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Corsair H70 for CPU
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Ati HD5770 1GB DDR5 with Massive Heatsink and 120mm fan
Storage Samsung SSD Evo 850 250GB sata3 + Seagate 300GB HD sata1
Display(s) HNC AG191D
Case Big Black Tower
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Power Supply EVGA 500W
Mouse Logitech Mx 310
Keyboard Microsoft Internet Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#9
BugCheckCode 209 is DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

Can be a buggy driver, bad RAM stick, wrong BIOS configuration, and if your overclocking: low voltage.

Run MemTest86 first and then Prime95 version 26.6 on Blend.
my audigy2zs uses a driver that's not official cause official won't record audio from microphone well. Might be a bug in win10 it worked without crashes on 7.