• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Getting Lower 3DMark05 Score.

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#1
Getting Lower 3DMark Score/Computer Problems?

A few months ago, when I last ran 3DMark05, the score I was getting was ~5900 with my Athlon 3200+ @ 2.75Ghz, and my X800XL @ 441 Core/543 Mem and EMT. Now, a few months later, I ran 3DMark05 and instead of getting ~5900, I'm getting a score in the Mid 5600. I don't know what could've caused a lower score than usual. In CCC, AA is off, AF, is off, and I really don't know what's lowering my FPS. Even in Oblivion I can tell that my FPS is a lot lower than what it used to be.
 
Last edited:

mullered07

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.66/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#2
What Drivers You Using ? Have You Defragged Recently, Emptied Temp Files And Disabled All Startup Items Etc And Got The Same Oc On Your X800 (all Im Sure Of Which Youve Done? :d) Also I Set Ccc To Perf See If That Helps

Aside From That I Find A Clean Install Of Xp Every 4-6 Months Is Needed Anyway. My 2 Cents
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#3
What Drivers You Using ? Have You Defragged Recently, Emptied Temp Files And Disabled All Startup Items Etc And Got The Same Oc On Your X800 (all Im Sure Of Which Youve Done? :d) Also I Set Ccc To Perf See If That Helps

Aside From That I Find A Clean Install Of Xp Every 4-6 Months Is Needed Anyway. My 2 Cents
I did most of that stuff. But the last time I re-installed Windows XP, I had to re-activate the code from MS, which was a HUGE hassle. I'm afraid (not really) to re-install XP and find out that I have to call MS again and re-activate the code.
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#4
Do you register yours cuz after I do that I dont have to call them ;) and mines oem

And I re-installed it lots of time but a while back I did have to call them but now I just register then it re-activate when I finish the register

Also what cat are you using have you changed it since your last bench ?
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#5
Do I HAVE to register so that I don't have to re-activate it?

And any other ideas as to why my score just drops 300 Points? I didn't really change anything between those few months when I didn't run 3DMark.
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#7
It's highly likely that some background process is running now that was not running then, and it is eating up some CPU cycles
Should I turn off my Anti-Virus and others as well?
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#9
What else?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,834 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,125
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#10
Shut down everything in the sys tray M8 that is not neccesary and go into task manager and stop any processes that are not system that you can relate to that you dont need. You can try this little beastie if you want, I use it all the time and it saves you the hassle, it just auto shuts down any non essiential services, you still need to close your items in the sys tray but this looks after all your unnecessary windows processes, you can just double click on "start service" when done to enable them all again:
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,834 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,125
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#11
Forgot to say, only other things I can think of is you are eithewr using different drivers for the card....have you updated since your old test? and are your memory timings/speeds the same?
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#12
Forgot to say, only other things I can think of is you are eithewr using different drivers for the card....have you updated since your old test? and are your memory timings/speeds the same?
Yeah, the Enhanced Memory Timings are the same, the speeds are similar, maybe within a few Mhz of each other. The only thing that's been updated was the Catalyst Drivers, and the CPU overclock of 2.75Ghz hasn't changed one bit. I'm planning on just re-installing Windows XP, but I don't want to call MS to re-activate my number/code.
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#13
One more question:

Before I re-install Windows XP, should I return my CPU's Overclock to stock speeds, or would it be OK at the Overclocked speeds when I do the clean install?
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.73/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#14
One more question:

Before I re-install Windows XP, should I return my CPU's Overclock to stock speeds, or would it be OK at the Overclocked speeds when I do the clean install?
I've reinstalled twice with no problems with my system when it was overclocked. But perhaps to be on the safe side you could bring it back to default. But to be honest, if it's stable there's really no need.
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#15
I've reinstalled twice with no problems with my system when it was overclocked. But perhaps to be on the safe side you could bring it back to default. But to be honest, if it's stable there's really no need.
I was just about to return it to stock, but I realized that my DFI has CMOS Reloaded, so I just saved my OC Profile, and I'll load it after the re-install. Thanks!

Just in case my code/number doesn't work, will MS give me a new one to activate XP?

EDIT: Well, I'll just do a clean install of XP again just to make sure, then bring my CPU and GPU overclocks back.

Thanks, I'll post later to see how it goes.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.73/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#16
If you paid for XP (which you have) then they have to give you a new key if your one doesn't work, but more often they'll just reactivate it if you phone. As you've said before it's a hassle, but they've got no right refusing to allow you to activate.

Hope the reinstall fixes your problems, they're a hassle but are generally necessary.
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#17
I'm getting frustrated, can you help me one more time with one more problem...I need to install RAID 0...
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.73/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#19
Thank you...I'll be back in a bit to either 1) ask more questions or 2) tell you that I succeeded.
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#20
Well, I got ~5750, and that's with the overclock and without the EMT.

EDIT: With EMT, I got 5921. Thanks for the help.
 
Last edited: