• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Getting Naked!?!?!?

Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
631 (0.14/day)
Likes
15
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Media PC
Processor Intel Core-i5 4460
Motherboard Asus H97i plus
Cooling Noctua LH-9i with upgraded NF-A9, x2 Noctua NF-F12
Memory 8GB x2 Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz kit
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Super clocked GTX970 itx
Storage 1TB western digital black 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung 55" Plasma
Case Fractal Design Node 202
Audio Device(s) Onboard DSP, sound forwarded to Onkyo receiver in 2.1 mode
Power Supply Fractal Design 430w itx PSU
Mouse Logitech Wireless gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech Wireless, Xbox One S controller
Software Windows 10 pro
#1
so i was wondering how does one actually take the processor heatsink off of their CPU? I know I know blasphemy, but Ive never done it before, too scared!
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.80/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#2
Are you talking about the heatsink, or the integrated heatspreader? The heatsink is usually a matter of just unclipping it. The IHS is another matter, which involves a thiin razor blade and much patience (and some balls too). Here is a tutoial from DFI Street on IHS removal:

http://files.filefront.com/IHS_removalwmv/;4763073;;/fileinfo.html
 

dduummyy

New Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2006
Messages
31 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Pentium D 805 Dual Core
Motherboard ASUS P5LD2
Cooling Koolance Watercooled
Memory OCZ Gold DDR2 667 2X1GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT 256DDR3 PCI Express16
Storage Western Digital 200GB SATA 8mb
Display(s) Hitachi 20"
Case Koolance
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Live 5.1/ live drive IR
Power Supply Rosewill RP550-2
Software XP Pro
#3
depends on what processor/motherboard you have. If its a older amd athlon it just gets held on by a wire clip, youll find a slot for a flathead screwdriver to fit in on one side, apply just enough pressure to unlatch the clip from the tips. If its a pentium 4 youll find 2 latches tht are down, just raise them up and twist. Tell us what you have and we can give you a accurate understanding. I also found all my info doing a google search.
 

_33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
1,248 (0.29/day)
Likes
31
Location
Quebec
System Name BEAST
Processor Intel Core i7 920 C0 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.66GHZ Bloomfield 8MB LGA batch 3844A509
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
Cooling CoolIt ECO A.L.C. 120mm radiator
Memory G.SKILL F3-12800CL8TU-6GBPI PC3-12800 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-21
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB 850MHZ 1GB 3.9GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDTV
Storage SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 750GB X 2, WD2500KS 250GB, WD15EARS 1.5TB, WD20EARS 2.0TB
Display(s) LG W2361V-PF Monitors 23” Widescreen LCD Monitor (23.0” diagonal)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 600W Power Supply ATX V2.2 20/24PIN EPS12V Qfan 140MM Fan Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#4
It is more advantageous gettign a better cooler than getting naked CPU. But both will also do.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
690 (0.16/day)
Likes
32
Location
Dawsonville, GA
System Name Nemy's comp
Processor AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.61ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8M2N-LA
Cooling 1x250mm (side), 2x120mm (one front and back), 6000+ stock cooler
Memory 3Gb Corsair value select PC2-4200 (2x512mb and 2x1gb))
Video Card(s) XFX HD7770
Storage 320gb Seagate Baracuda / 160gb western digital
Display(s) ASUS 19" widescreen LCD. 1440x900
Case Apevia Jupiter-JR S-Type
Audio Device(s) on-board. Audigy died D;
Power Supply Ultra 600W X-pro
Software Vista Home Premium
#5
hmm mines a P4 and i have 4 philip screws holding it down...:wtf:

Anyway, don't be scared!! I was scared when I took my first heatsink off/ back on. It's easier than you think, just dont tear it off your mobo or throw it out a window and expect it to be ok. Once you've done it a few times it will be nothing to you.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
631 (0.14/day)
Likes
15
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Media PC
Processor Intel Core-i5 4460
Motherboard Asus H97i plus
Cooling Noctua LH-9i with upgraded NF-A9, x2 Noctua NF-F12
Memory 8GB x2 Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz kit
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Super clocked GTX970 itx
Storage 1TB western digital black 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung 55" Plasma
Case Fractal Design Node 202
Audio Device(s) Onboard DSP, sound forwarded to Onkyo receiver in 2.1 mode
Power Supply Fractal Design 430w itx PSU
Mouse Logitech Wireless gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech Wireless, Xbox One S controller
Software Windows 10 pro
#6
_33 said:
It is more advantageous gettign a better cooler than getting naked CPU. But both will also do.
i have an awsome cooler but i want even cooler temps, overkill i guess :laugh:
sorry for the confusion though i ment the IHS
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
631 (0.14/day)
Likes
15
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Media PC
Processor Intel Core-i5 4460
Motherboard Asus H97i plus
Cooling Noctua LH-9i with upgraded NF-A9, x2 Noctua NF-F12
Memory 8GB x2 Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz kit
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Super clocked GTX970 itx
Storage 1TB western digital black 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung 55" Plasma
Case Fractal Design Node 202
Audio Device(s) Onboard DSP, sound forwarded to Onkyo receiver in 2.1 mode
Power Supply Fractal Design 430w itx PSU
Mouse Logitech Wireless gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech Wireless, Xbox One S controller
Software Windows 10 pro
#7
i just watched that video and that seems really easy! thanks for the link, now about getting my heatsink to fit on top of the core
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#8
AsphyxiA said:
i just watched that video and that seems really easy! thanks for the link, now about getting my heatsink to fit on top of the core

If you are unfamiliar with hardware modding such as Vmodding, cap modding, etc, and are very new, I WOULD NOT SUGGEST THIS!

It will probably provide at most 1-3C if done *properly* using an accurate tempurature probe and correct remounting pressure.

It is not extremely beneficial, especially for a light air overclock, and puts your CPU in great risk of being killed.

I would actually suggest obtaining a dead CPU (p4 or A64) and de IHS it first so you get the feel for how it handles and make sure you are wary of any SMD's that are under the IHS. (Use an uncapped picture of the same CPU for a guide).

Also, use a foam over the pins (the little black foam newegg sends CPU's in works GREAT) to prevent pin bending, or you'll be spending a few hours fixing those aswell.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2006
Messages
1,497 (0.34/day)
Likes
100
Location
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
System Name Bones Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k@4.5ghz
Motherboard ASROCK Extreme 3 Z87
Cooling Corsair H100 4x120mm fans!
Memory 2x4gigs Corsair Vengance 2400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290 @1151/1350/Corsair H55
Storage Samsung 120gig 840/OCZ Vector 120gig SSD/500gig SG/320
Display(s) Samsung S27A950D 27in 3D 120hz monitor
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar d1/Z506 Speakers
Power Supply Coolermaster GX750watt PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#9
i made sure to read up on it myself and watch the video...and then decided to try it..i just broke open an old razor and use that blade(really thin) and was very very careful and slow doing it...but ive done it on both my cpus and got an 8 to 10c drop on both was even able to get my atlhon 64 2800+ to go up to 2.5gig where as i could only get it to go to 2.3 from 1.8gig with the ihs on...all in all just be very carefull
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2005
Messages
160 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
Location
California, USA
System Name Leetness
Processor Intel Q6600 @ 3ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill 2x1GB 800 HZ
Video Card(s) eVGA 8800GT Superclocked 512mb
Storage 2x Hitachi Deskstar 160gb in RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung 204BW 20"
Case Thermaltake Tsunami
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600w
Software Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
#10
On intel Prescott cores and newer, its impossible since the IHS is epoxied to the core, so when you remove the IHS, you're going to rip apart the core :D
 

Zebbo

Mushkin Tech Rep
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Location
End of the Redline
#11
BIOHazard87 said:
On intel Prescott cores and newer, its impossible since the IHS is epoxied to the core, so when you remove the IHS, you're going to rip apart the core :D
It is possible to take the IHS off of the Prescotts ;) And I mean without messing up the core :)
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2005
Messages
160 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
Location
California, USA
System Name Leetness
Processor Intel Q6600 @ 3ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill 2x1GB 800 HZ
Video Card(s) eVGA 8800GT Superclocked 512mb
Storage 2x Hitachi Deskstar 160gb in RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung 204BW 20"
Case Thermaltake Tsunami
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600w
Software Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
#12
Zebbo said:
It is possible to take the IHS off of the Prescotts ;) And I mean without messing up the core :)
It must be extremely hard then
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,858
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#13
with the skt775 proccies, would the core be lower than the edges of the socket if you remove the IHS?
 

Zebbo

Mushkin Tech Rep
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
131 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Location
End of the Redline
#14
BIOHazard87 said:
It must be extremely hard then
Cant say its "extremely hard" but its not as easy to do as with A64s.

First you have to take the processor itself and IHS apart of the edges, using exact same method as on A64, but then it gets more difficult. You need to have something that allows you to heat up the IHS up to 70-80c which makes the epox giving up :)

It is definately not easy but its totally possible :cool:
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.14/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#15
infrared said:
with the skt775 proccies, would the core be lower than the edges of the socket if you remove the IHS?
The socket? Definatly not as the core lies on the PCB itself which is on top of the socket ;)

However, socket 775 you may not be able to clamp it down properly...
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,858
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#16
Dippyskoodlez said:
The socket? Definatly not as the core lies on the PCB itself which is on top of the socket ;)

However, socket 775 you may not be able to clamp it down properly...
Nope, the top plate that clamps down on the cpu is above the pcb. So the die would probably be either level with the top plate or slightly below, which would make getting a good contact with the HS difficult without some modification.
 

Casheti

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
4,421 (1.04/day)
Likes
29
#17
If I got my Pentium D 920 naked, and put on an Arctic Freezer 7 Pro, am I going to be facing happy days? Cos I lag in BF2 a fair bit. I reckon it's CPU.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,858
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#18
wont' be that cpu making you lag ;)

Try uninstalling the catalyst drivers, and cleaning up with driver cleaner pro... restart and install 6.4/6.5.

I'm running on a single core 640 and it's definatly not a bottleneck.
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.08/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#19
Casheti said:
If I got my Pentium D 920 naked, and put on an Arctic Freezer 7 Pro, am I going to be facing happy days? Cos I lag in BF2 a fair bit. I reckon it's CPU.
I doubt it's the CPU that is causing lag on BF2, that PD930 is pretty good
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.80/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#20
As far as what heatsinks would work, anything that bolts down should be OK. If it uses clips, etc, you probably will have trouble unless you use some kind of spacer.
 

Casheti

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
4,421 (1.04/day)
Likes
29
#21
Well, I dunno what's making me lag, but my processor really is crap on BF2. In the loading screens, I only just beat an Athlon XP 2.2GHz by a few seconds, and SOMETIMES, it beats me. Everytone in my clan is always in before me, and some have worse processors, and it pisses me off. Do you reckon more ram could actually STOP the lag, when I play BF2, I normally have about 5-600MB free. That chinese airstrip on wake island, I get SERIOUS slowdown.
 
Last edited:

dccool879

New Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2005
Messages
340 (0.07/day)
Likes
9
System Name queef
Processor e6850 @ 3.6 ghz
Motherboard EVGA nForce 680i
Cooling artic freezer 7
Memory OCZ platinum ddr2 800 @ 4-3-3-11 (2t), Trcd=15
Video Card(s) 2x 8800 gts 320mb
Storage 160 gig sata2
Display(s) acer 22 inch ws, X222W
Case Rocketfish
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Antec Neopower 500W
Software XP
Benchmark Scores 15,500 3dmark06
#22
in bf2 i was always last to connect when i had 512 mb ram, now that i upgraded to 1 gig i am first to connect, if that helps. also fps increased much. but you seem to have a gig, so i can't say
 

Casheti

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
4,421 (1.04/day)
Likes
29
#23
Hmmmmmmmmm, I dunno what is causing it either. People are saying my PSU is not suitable for an X850XT, but it runs stable. Can bad PSU cause actual lag or performance drop?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,870 (0.39/day)
Likes
249
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Case Corsair 200R
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
#24
AMD at its finest ;-)
meybe upgrade ALL you drivers? :)