• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Getting WD My Book to work on Ubuntu?

Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,108 (0.40/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#1
Hey all. Installed Ubuntu yet again and this time I am wanting to use it for basically everything. Problem is, I have a LOT of my stuff on my external HD. So I was wondering if anyone knew exactly how to get the WD "My Book" to work on Linux? Broad question I realize but I can't really find a good guide if one at all, anywhere. Thanks all!

Note: Also posting this on a Linux based help forum so hopefully I get an answer somewhere! ;)
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,449 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,696
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#3
That hard drive should work fine with Ubuntu, unless you want to use whatever software they bundle with such drives (but I bet there are alternatives, if so).
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
1,108 (0.40/day)
Likes
132
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Asus Z170-E
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo
Memory 16 GB Ballistix DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1060
Storage 120GB OCZ Vector SSD & 1TB Western Digital Black
Case Rosewill
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply 630w Raidmax Hybrid 2 RX-630SS
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical
Software Windows 10
#4
It's a WD My Book 2TB External HD. Not sure the exact model I guess.

Chevalr1c, the external comes with it's own software (of course) called SmartWare. I can't install the drive through that in Ubuntu because it isn't support in Linux (the firmware that is). So I am not sure if I am just an idiot and the drive is there and I am not seeing it, or what haha.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,449 (1.22/day)
Likes
1,696
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#5
You should not be needing to install a hard drive, by my knowledge. What filesystem does it have (assuming it is already formatted)? Did you try to mount the drive using the terminal instead (so that we can try to "locate"the issue)?
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,646 (4.61/day)
Likes
5,764
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
Chevalr1c, the external comes with it's own software (of course) called SmartWare. I can't install the drive through that in Ubuntu because it isn't support in Linux (the firmware that is). So I am not sure if I am just an idiot and the drive is there and I am not seeing it, or what haha.
I don't see that being the case unless the software is encrypting the data on the drive, but even still I thought it was the controller that handled that, so that even shouldn't be an issue.

A clean Ubuntu install should detect drive automatically and opening the drive should cause the UI to mount the drive for you. There should be nothing special you need to do to make an external USB drive to work with Ubuntu.

If you have having trouble with it, I can help you try and mount the drive manually through the terminal.

I'm going to use my gateway as an example since it has an extra drive in it for storage. I will write the command as if I were mounting is, but I can't unmount it because it's logging all of my internet traffic to it.

First thing you want to do is find the drive. Pop open a terminal and become root like so:
Code:
sudo su -
Once you're root you want to find out which drives are which, so get a list of your drives.
Code:
root@gateway:/# ls /dev/sd*
That will give you something like this:
Code:
/dev/sda  /dev/sda1  /dev/sda2  /dev/sda3  /dev/sdb  /dev/sdb1
Each drive is represented as sdX (unless you're using parallel IDE which uses hdX iirc,). So you can run "fdisk -l /dev/sdX" to find out which drive is what:

Code:
root@gateway:/# fdisk -l /dev/sda

Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders, total 156301488 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000e1c0b

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048     1953791      975872   83  Linux
/dev/sda2         1953792     5859327     1952768   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3         5859328   156301311    75220992   83  Linux
root@gateway:/# fdisk -l /dev/sdb

WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sdb'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.


Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
80 heads, 63 sectors/track, 387604 cylinders, total 1953525168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1            2048  1953525167   976761560   83  Linux
Lets say that sdb1 was your partition on your 2Tb drive. It's my 1Tb drive in the gateway, but it's a good example.

Say I wanted to mount it to /mnt/storage, first thing is first. I would need to make the directory so I can mount it.
Code:
mkdir /mnt/storage
Then, assuming NTFS/FAT on your external drive is /dev/sdb1, you should be able to just mount it using this:
Code:
mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/storage
Let us know how that works, but that is how you can manually mount a drive.

Assuming it worked you should see something like this:
Code:
root@gateway:/# mount
/dev/sda3 on / type ext4 (rw,errors=remount-ro)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
none on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw)
none on /sys/kernel/debug type debugfs (rw)
none on /sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=0620)
tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,size=10%,mode=0755)
none on /run/lock type tmpfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,size=5242880)
none on /run/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
/dev/sda1 on /boot type ext2 (rw,noatime)
/dev/sdb1 on /mnt/storage type ext4 (rw,noatime)
The last line is the part saying that mine was mounted. Clearly mine is ext4 and not ntfs or fat but it shouldn't make a difference. I have a 1TD WD MyBook that I could connect to my gateway and even do the entire thing for. It's formatted NTFS too, but it should work out of the box. You should not need to install anything special to access the drive.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
64 (0.04/day)
Likes
32
System Name AMDFX
Processor AMD FX 9370
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0
Cooling Noctua C-14
Memory 16GB A-Data XPG DDR3 2133@1866 1T 9-10-10
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon R9-290OC
Storage Patriot Torch 512gb, Patriot Pyro 128gb , Adata 128gb SSDs & 1TB Western Digital Black
Display(s) Seiki 39" 4k
Case Old true size Mid tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ Fatality 1000W
Mouse Ancient Razor Diamonback
Keyboard Logitech Illuminated
Software Windows 10 Home 64-Bit
#8
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,604 (0.86/day)
Likes
870
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#10
If you convert it to NTFS instead of exFat you should no longer have that problem
 

alainf

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
5 (0.50/day)
Likes
0
#11
I have another problem related to the same matter. With above advice, I got the drive up and running the first times. Now that I have copîed a LOT of files to it, and crashed while trashing some files, the drive won't boot anymore. I tried re-doing the above, but to no avail. My WD My Book 4T won't boot anymore. The errror mesage end like this : "ERROR, upcase table is not found". What must I type or do to fix this? I beg someone to help me; the files on this drive are important.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,646 (4.61/day)
Likes
5,764
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#12
I have another problem related to the same matter. With above advice, I got the drive up and running the first times. Now that I have copîed a LOT of files to it, and crashed while trashing some files, the drive won't boot anymore. I tried re-doing the above, but to no avail. My WD My Book 4T won't boot anymore. The errror mesage end like this : "ERROR, upcase table is not found". What must I type or do to fix this? I beg someone to help me; the files on this drive are important.
Why are you booting from an external drive, do you mean the drive won't mount anymore? If the upcase table is corrupted, you might be in trouble. I don't know how stable the FUSE ExFat driver is but, I find it disturbing that it occurred after deleting files. I would plug the drive into a Windows machine to see if it still works or not. ExFAT support in Linux is pretty immature.
 

alainf

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
5 (0.50/day)
Likes
0
#13
I am not booting from the WD drive. I am booting from my internal drive. But when I plug the WD drive into one of my USB slots, the disk does not mount. I visited "My computer" where the disks at least show up in the list. The WD drive shows up here, seems fine. But if I try to mount it (as a secondary disk), it refuses to. Thanks for responding. I appreciate it.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,646 (4.61/day)
Likes
5,764
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#14
I am not booting from the WD drive. I am booting from my internal drive. But when I plug the WD drive into one of my USB slots, the disk does not mount. I visited "My computer" where the disks at least show up in the list. The WD drive shows up here, seems fine. But if I try to mount it (as a secondary disk), it refuses to. Thanks for responding. I appreciate it.
So, just as I (and everyone else,) understands correctly: You're saying that it mounts fine in Windows and can be opened and viewed however, when trying to mount the drive in Linux, it is giving you the upcase table error, correct? Out of curiousity, is it giving any other kind of error output, perhaps something like "ERROR: invalid VBR checksum" prior to giving the error you first described?
 

alainf

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
5 (0.50/day)
Likes
0
#15
Sorry. I have not been clear. I don't have Windows, nor Mac ; I have a PC running Debian Linux. No other errors than the one I quoted.

Here is the entire error message (hoping it helps):

Error mounting /dev/sdb1 at /media/alain/BA68-2295:Command-line `mount -t "exfat" -o "uhelper=udisks2,nodev,nosuid,uid=1000,gid=1000,iocharset=utf8,namecase=0,errors=remount-ro,umask=0077" "/dev/sdb1" "/media/alain/BA68-2295"' exited with non-zero exit status 1:
stdout: `FUSE exfat 1.1.0
'
stderr: `ERROR: upcase table is not found.
 
Last edited:
Top