• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GFWL consistently broken

Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
275 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 3.4 GHZ
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 M
Memory Corsair XMS 4x 2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 PC3 12800
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 970 4GB
Power Supply Corsair TX650W PSU
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
#1
I've been dealing with this for something like 9 months, because Microsoft can't be bothered to fix their precious "future of PC gaming."

Basically, I can only run on a stable version from about a year ago. It prompts me to update, but I don't, because that doesn't work. It will update in-game, exit, run a windows installer, fill up a bar, and then exit. Nothing happens. If I try installing the update through the client, that's where it gets really bad. It crashes everything, Street Fighter IV, Arkham Asylum, and Fallout 3, all every time, without exception. The only way to fix it is system restoring to the previous version. I've tried uninstalling the Redistributable, the client, and deleting everything from Program Files that says "Games For Windows Live," then reinstalling. Nothing works there either, exactly the same crash. It's as though MS has spent the entire last year releasing faulty, broken clients.

I know GFWL is garbage. So don't try telling me that, because I'm not going to disagree. I just need ideas to fix this.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#2
i updated GFWL through windows updates and that worked, try the same and it might work for you
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,897 (2.22/day)
Likes
6,557
#3
I have no clue what your os is. Whatever ...

Uninstall games for windows
Clean registry
Disable windows updates
Clean softwaredistribution folder
Enable windows updates
Make sure visual c++ and .net framework (if you have any) are all up to date
Install games for windows
Run updates
 
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
275 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 3.4 GHZ
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 M
Memory Corsair XMS 4x 2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 PC3 12800
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 970 4GB
Power Supply Corsair TX650W PSU
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
#4
Windows Update didn't update it for me, but the update worked after the Windows update.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#5
Yeah it really truly sucks ass--makes you jump through a ton of hoops and reboots and then still often doesn't work. Cause of that BS I can't load my Batman:AA saves since a reformat and gave up on the game. Will probably not buy the next one cause of GFWL too.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#6
I couldn't start any game that uses GFWL. To fix it, I had to install GFWL marketplace and start it before I start any game that uses GFWL.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#7
What I recall is that GFWL would always start in Dirt 2. But when they updated GFWL you need to have the process already running or else you get problems. So that means you have to open up 'Services' select Windows Live ID Sign-In Assistant and start the process. That should take care of those games that need it without having to start up GFWL live 1st. But the downside is that process is always there. Something I don't recall when I got Dirt 2 when that came out.

As for the problems of GFWL live itself it's best to keep track of their forums for any tips. Looks like they've changed it around from when I last visited. But you want this section.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#8
There's a plan to merge GFWL with XBOX.com so who knows maybe more fun the horizon for the people who are having issues with GFWL.
 

LifeOnMars

New Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.74/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#9
Never have any issues with GFWL. PC's really are a strange thing, so many possibilities of different driver clashes and different configs. Then again, I get stutter in Mafia II when most people can play it flawlessly so ?? :)