1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ghetto Mods

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Nitro-Max, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. m4gicfour

    m4gicfour

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    962 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    412
    http://www.dx.com/c/computers-networking-399/hardware-parts-313/cooling-gear-333?page=2

    DX (see link) is about the only etailer I know of that stocks low profile universal GPU sinks, and they're cheap... but quality is a huge unknown.
    Pfft. Noob.

    Dual ApogeeXT cpu blocks sandwiching a 400W TEC, with the cold side of the loop to the card, utilizing an EK-VGA Supreme HF on the GPU and dual 360mm fatrads in push-pull on the hot side.

    On the down side, he'd definitely need glycol in the line. :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
    Frick says thanks.
  2. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    160 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    I think that we can count it as ghetto :p

    Seriously damaged hard drive that I'm going to recycle, 1 core cpu from 2005, 1.5gb of ddr 400mhz, x800xl and windows 8.1 update 1. Well, works good. Only HDD needs to be replaced and maybe better GPU, but I think that X800 can run 1280x1024 with good speed.
    [​IMG]

    1080p is definitely too much for X800 XL 256MB DDR3 256Bit (she doesn't reorganizes herself in the new situation). BitComet eats 23% of CPU:
    [​IMG]

    And a clean system:
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    661
    Thanks Misaki I was wondering how well win 8/.1 would go on older hardware I plan on putting it on an Asus CH4f + PII 965 + 4GB DDR2 1066 and a couple of 500GB HDD's in raid0 and an old AMD HD5770 1GB card I have lying round so from the sounds / looks of it it should perform reasonably well
     
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,106 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,943
    Couple it with a x1950pro and you can run Crysis on medium settings!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,905 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,386
    Location:
    US
    Our Roku 3 was crashing every so often so made some changes some time ago and it's ran without issue ever since.

    I just thought it was about time i shared :).

    Added some heatsinks to it the silver one is bigger than you might think all so the mesh was originally got for RC car mods but thought it be good for this too as it will help the heat from the heat sink.

    If you look carefully it's placed in the gap of the heatsink and is bent so it pushes against the top and made sure to remove any little bits that could fall of it to make sure the thing dont get fried lol.

    Hope you like :).

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Random Murderer and micropage7 say thanks.
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,388 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,904
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    my friend's notebook has symptoms like this
    Untitled-1.jpg
    first i think it may relate to heat or graphic card memory
    and i check the paste, its dry but i forgot to bring thermal tape, i use aluminum foil to fill the gap between the heatsink and the processor
    Untitled-01.jpg
    i use double tape to hold the foil so it wont move around, and so far so good but it aint improve graphic too much. it looks nearly dead end coz related to hardware
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    521 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    Location:
    Bahrain
    looks like it could be from the display cable?, had a laptop that did almost the same and was a faulty cable
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,388 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,904
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i have checked the cable and its fine, i may plug out everything to make sure
     
  9. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,530 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,087
    Location:
    Washington, US
    What's the verdict on using foil like that as emergency TIM?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,377 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,617
    Location:
    London,UK
    So i was surfing around ebay and came across this...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Not too shabby


     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
    Artas1984, Vario and Random Murderer say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    661
    ^^ That kinda reminds me of my own little fan mod I had to do to both my HIS HD5770's they use cheap nasty fans that are
    a: A non standard size
    b: can not be re-lubricated
    c: Can not be bought of the shelf to replace
    d: can not take them apart without causing damage to the fan itself

    Bottom Remains.JPG P14-04-11_16-44.jpg P17-12-11_02-35.jpg Top Remains.JPG
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
    Peter1986C says thanks.
  12. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,388 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,904
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    he.. he.. actually its for filling the gap between the chip and the heatsink and i put thermal paste on it so i guess it works well but too bad its from the hardware, so i set it on low and nearly black and white
    the rest of it is normal
    Untitled-1.jpg
     
    Peter1986C says thanks.
  13. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,905 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,062
    Location:
    Dark and creepy attic
    This is most likely due to chipset or IGP overheating. I had to reflow chips on my old laptop and add some cooling to fix it.

    And here is my Ghetto Mod. Cubietruck with 7dBi antenna! Got my WiFi quality up from 1/5 to 4/5 and now I can actually see hotspots further than 2m from my desk.
    All it takes is $5 for antenna and RP-SMA connector, piece of Plexi and some superglue!
    IMG_20140822_092254.jpg IMG_20140822_092304.jpg IMG_20140822_092353.jpg
     
    Peter1986C says thanks.
  14. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,388 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,904
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    first i think about the same, its overheat and when i checked it doesnt over heat at all so its from the chip
     
  15. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,056 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,305
    how much for it? I'm actually willing to buy that
     
  16. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,905 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,062
    Location:
    Dark and creepy attic
    Temperature deviation causes BGA contacts to loosen or get damaged over time(micro-fractures in solder points). So even if it is not overheating right now, it still needs reflow. You will need to provide cooling to slow down damage in the future. This summer alone I had to fix about 8 laptops due to the same problem, and the main cause of this thing, is that most of laptop manufacturers (especially Lenovo, HP, Dell and ASUS) are trying to save money on cooling systems.
    How can you cool a 35W CPU with steel plate and bubble gum?

    My old laptop still freezes or has artifacts, when i run WebGL applications or even light 3D Games, but it does fine in CPU-intense applications, like compiling or software image processing.
     
    micropage7 says thanks.
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,377 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,617
    Location:
    London,UK
    Here
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,056 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,305
    haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, that guy is like $20 too high
     
  19. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,439 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,689
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    "This was used in a mining setup for about 1 year." So it may artifact within a year from now too. That stuff is heavy on the VRAM and VRMs, as far as I know.
     
  20. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,388 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,904
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah i just think about reflow, but i think it kinda risky since i have no experience on reflow
    and after several hours it looks normal, at least my friend can use his laptop again
     
    silentbogo says thanks.
  21. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,981 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,295
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    $20 to high? You simply can't put a price on ghetto mods.:D
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,905 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,062
    Location:
    Dark and creepy attic
    It is actually not too hard. Just don't use generic heatgun: either get a temperature controlled one, or try to find a rework station and don't forget about soldering flux. I'm using really cheap($40) Baku 858D.
     
  23. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,905 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,062
    Location:
    Dark and creepy attic
    That's dirt cheap! I'd buy it right now and even pay full shipping and beer money, if it was international ...
     
  24. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,056 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,305
    Theres a fellow on here selling one for $60 that isn't all stabbed up. $50 if you have over 2k posts and 500 thanks
     
    silentbogo says thanks.
  25. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,516 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    I sense a little sarcasm here so i'll explain again why i did this mod... the amp cuts off at random when you increase the volume (therefor the load on the amp) due to an overheating issue. I found out that its probably due to a cap or two leaking. adding the heatsinks has helped a little but it still cuts off at higher volume. Probably time to just get a new setup really.

    nice to see such sarcasm after spending a couple weeks in the hospital /sarcasm
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)