1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ghetto WC/TEC overclockin'!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by infrared, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,134 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I was rummaging around in my room the other day and stumbled across my spare Swiftech Apogee waterblock, so I thought i'd have a bit of fun with it!

    In the garage I found a 120L/min submersible pump... I've got a 10Gallon(ish) tub that I will use, which i can maybe fill with icecubes / freezer packs etc.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The plan is to get THIS and THIS. I already have a 13.8v 20A power supply. Hopefully i can net myself a sub 9s superpi run. Also i'll do a couple of Sciencemark runs, 3dmark06 etc.

    If i borrow my old supertalent ram back off my little brother, I'll have no problems running at 600mhz fsb, which gives me a theoretical max clock of 5.4GHz on the cpu. Considering I've benched this chip at 5GHz on air, this shouldn't be difficult :D

    Now I have to wait til payday to order the pelt! I hate waiting!! :laugh:
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Paulieg The Mad Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,960 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Sweet! Can't wait to see this!
     
    infrared says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ace80

    ace80

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    471 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Sweet, I've been considering getting a tec for ages. Hope all goes well man, gonna keep an eye on this.
     
    infrared says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,134 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ok, went to buy the pelt/cold plate from frozen cpu, and the postage will cost more than the stuff!

    Had a quick look on ebay, and there's a 400W 12v peltier on there for £12.99 HERE. I'll have to use a battery instead of the power supply.
    It's 50AH High Rate starter battery, should have enough grunt for at least an hour. I'll have to keep a voltmeter on it to be safe.

    I'll have to do it at night time, it's too hot during the day at the moment :ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,002 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i want to see this
     
    infrared says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,134 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    The only prob I have is that I don't really have a way of measuring the temp of the chip. The sensors on this chip get stuck at roughly 23c.

    Any ideas on cheap thermal probes? I'm hoping to be around -20c ish idle, and no higher than 15c load.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,315 (10.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,374
    You could use PC Probe and just monitor the CPU socket temp.
     
    infrared says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,134 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Good idea mate :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Zebeon

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    USA
    that is awsome!!!
    can't wait to see how it turns out!
     
  10. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,386 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Are you sure that the WC block will stand that much water flow? Could rip apart that block lol..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,134 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Should be fine, I've ran it directly from the hosepipe before, which is about the same flow rate, but a lot higher pressure. Problem is the mains water is quite warm at the moment, so I'm going to use a large container of chilled water. If it manages to warm up the water before I finish playing, I'll run the hose in there, letting it overflow.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,386 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Could the pump say good bye if it is forced to pump 2L/s thru that block?
     
    infrared says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    wow nice pump infrared!
     
    infrared says thanks.
  14. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,134 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Shouldn't do, I ran it for a couple of hours with a really narrow hose on it to restrict it, and then tried blocking it off completely and it was ok. The flow won't quite be 2L/s.. probably only about half that when the block is connected up. Still a pretty insane flow rate! :rockout:

    lol, thanks. Not exactly eco friendly at 200w tho :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  15. stuartpb

    stuartpb New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    67 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    South Yorkshire, Great Britain
    I would be scared of the hoses flying off the block with that amount of pressure:D Are you using wormclips?
     
  16. infrared

    infrared Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4,134 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,670
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Yeah, i'll be sure to use some clips on it! :laugh:

    Ok, the 400W pelt is on it's way :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)