• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gigabyte 6850OC no voltage tweak need help

nVmatrix

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.032ghz (16x252mhz) 1.475v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
Cooling Corsair H50 Dual 120mm HO fans
Memory Gskill DDR3-1600 4x2GB(8GB) @1678mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6850OC (915/1180) 1.15v
Storage WD750GB SATA Black/WD 1TB SATA Black
Display(s) Asus 27" VE278Q / Acer 20" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER HAF
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750w PSU
Software Win7 Pro. 64bit
Benchmark Scores Heaven- 32.2Fps (811)
#1
Well I am alittle upset... I ordered a Giga 6850OC with the idea that it would have a better core and what not... but what I have found is that you can't change the damn voltage due to them using a different voltage regulator on the OC's!!!! What a crock of crap! So I was wondering if its possible to change the voltage in the BIOS and just flash the damn thing... was wanting to change it to 1.3 to 1.35v if I can... any help would be great.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
205 (0.06/day)
Likes
26
System Name my pc
Processor i5 2500k 5.2ghz @ 1.47v
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V
Cooling XSPC Rasa RS360. Adding an RX240 soon
Memory 8GB XMS 3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 580 SLI 1ghz
Storage Western Digital 320gb Blue Caviar Raid 0
Display(s) Acer 23 H233H
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard :(
Power Supply Antec TruePower Quattro 1200w
Software Windows Vista Business 64bit
Benchmark Scores 49.6k Vantage
#2
Unlock it to a 6970

Oh my bad I thought you had a 6950 ahahaha
 
Last edited:

nVmatrix

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.032ghz (16x252mhz) 1.475v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
Cooling Corsair H50 Dual 120mm HO fans
Memory Gskill DDR3-1600 4x2GB(8GB) @1678mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6850OC (915/1180) 1.15v
Storage WD750GB SATA Black/WD 1TB SATA Black
Display(s) Asus 27" VE278Q / Acer 20" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER HAF
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750w PSU
Software Win7 Pro. 64bit
Benchmark Scores Heaven- 32.2Fps (811)
#3
lol... if I could. But some how I dont thing a 6850 will unlock to a 6970

it cool... lol. I just what more voltage... your talking flashing to a whole new card... that would be sweet.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#4
No need to be rude (not talking to OP).

So where did you find this out? You havent yet tried yourself? Just got two Sapphire's that won't adjust in Afterburner; had to get Trixxx.
 

nVmatrix

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.032ghz (16x252mhz) 1.475v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
Cooling Corsair H50 Dual 120mm HO fans
Memory Gskill DDR3-1600 4x2GB(8GB) @1678mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6850OC (915/1180) 1.15v
Storage WD750GB SATA Black/WD 1TB SATA Black
Display(s) Asus 27" VE278Q / Acer 20" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER HAF
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750w PSU
Software Win7 Pro. 64bit
Benchmark Scores Heaven- 32.2Fps (811)
#5
No need to be rude (not talking to OP).

So where did you find this out? You havent yet tried yourself? Just got two Sapphire's that won't adjust in Afterburner; had to get Trixxx.

I did some digging around (google) and seen in some other forums that others were staying that the GV-R685D5-1GD uses a different regulator than the GV-R685OC-1GD.... I have tried both AB and trixx and there is no voltage option. Was pissed! Thats why I was asking about bios flashing with a modded voltage... I havent flashed a card since the 6800Ultra days but was hoping it can be done... I get 935mhz on the core with 1.15v so I know this card would fly with some extra juice.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#6
Well as far as I know as is the case with 5850s for example if it can't adjust via software util that is because it doesn't have adjustable voltage via I2C register and thus a bios can't do it either. It is a physical limitation of the voltage regulator. That's why the reference 5850s so preferred. One of the ways the AIBs kept cost down on their custom models in addition to diff pcb and cooler was a cheaper voltage regulator. This apparently not such an issue on 6850s, in fact no reference models even released in NA, and yours is the first I've heard of that can't adjust. That said, they certainly may exist and perhaps you found one. Hopefully not, if you can't cancel the order...
 

nVmatrix

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.032ghz (16x252mhz) 1.475v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
Cooling Corsair H50 Dual 120mm HO fans
Memory Gskill DDR3-1600 4x2GB(8GB) @1678mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6850OC (915/1180) 1.15v
Storage WD750GB SATA Black/WD 1TB SATA Black
Display(s) Asus 27" VE278Q / Acer 20" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER HAF
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750w PSU
Software Win7 Pro. 64bit
Benchmark Scores Heaven- 32.2Fps (811)
#7
Well as far as I know as is the case with 5850s for example if it can't adjust via software util that is because it doesn't have adjustable voltage via I2C register and thus a bios can't do it either. It is a physical limitation of the voltage regulator. That's why the reference 5850s so preferred. One of the ways the AIBs kept cost down on their custom models in addition to diff pcb and cooler was a cheaper voltage regulator. This apparently not such an issue on 6850s, in fact no reference models even released in NA, and yours is the first I've heard of that can't adjust. That said, they certainly may exist and perhaps you found one. Hopefully not, if you can't cancel the order...

Sounds about right. I have been trying to flash the BIOS using RBE/winflash, it allows the changes and the flash but when I reboot ATI drivers wont load right and it gives me a whacked out read in GPU-Z...(480 cores, 4 ROPS) . Well that sucks the only options are to keep it and just deal with it or send it back and pay for a re-stocking fee and all that crap:banghead: Dont know what to do....

Just to make sure I tried every voltage from 1.35v down to 1.16v they all cause the drivers to act like they dont know the card.. but as soon as I put 1.15v back in they work.

Went over to Newegg and looked at the pics of the two cards.. totally different PCB layout. Wish I would have noticed that before. Restock is 15%($30) plus the pain of an RMA...
 
Last edited:

nVmatrix

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.032ghz (16x252mhz) 1.475v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-870A-UD3
Cooling Corsair H50 Dual 120mm HO fans
Memory Gskill DDR3-1600 4x2GB(8GB) @1678mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6850OC (915/1180) 1.15v
Storage WD750GB SATA Black/WD 1TB SATA Black
Display(s) Asus 27" VE278Q / Acer 20" LCD
Case COOLER MASTER HAF
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750w PSU
Software Win7 Pro. 64bit
Benchmark Scores Heaven- 32.2Fps (811)
#8
Well after messing with the card and reading up on some crossfire reviews and talking with Newegg about RMA($30 restock/ $12 shipping + price of another card) I am thinking I will just keep the card and get another 6850 to CF the two. After running some more stress test and games I have found that the card is good for 915mhz core and 1180mhz(4720) on the memory before error correcting kicks in. with the stock voltage of 1.15v figure if I get two of them in CF at 900 to 915mhz it should kick some a$$
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#9
Yep
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Khon Kaen Thailand
Processor Intel E7400
Motherboard Asus P5KPL-AM
Cooling Scythe BIG Shuriken
Memory 3GB Corsair DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6850 (GV-R685D5-1GD)
Storage 500GB+1TB Saegate Baracuda
Display(s) Acer X203H
Case Gview with 8" Fan
Power Supply Gview 550Watt 3,3V 20A/5V 20A/12V 30A
Software Win 7 64Bit
#10
Get MSI afterburner Beta 5 and the Voltage Tweak works til 1.3 Volt,s

Regards