• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE Announces Entire 6 Series Ready to Support Native PCIe Gen. 3

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,686 (8.51/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
GIGABYTE TECHNOLOGY Co., Ltd, a leading manufacturer of motherboards, graphics cards and computing hardware solutions today announced their entire range of 6 series motherboards are ready to support the next generation Intel 22nm CPUs (LGA1155 Socket) as well as offer native support for PCI Express Gen. 3 technology, delivering maximum data bandwidth for future discrete graphics cards.

Wanting to provide maximum upgradeability to customers, GIGABYTE has enabled native support for PCI Express Gen. 3 across the entire range of GIGABYTE 6 series motherboards, including the recently launched G1.Sniper 2 motherboard, when paired with Intel's next generation 22nm CPUs. By installing the latest BIOS for their 6 series motherboards today, users can be assured they are ready to take advantage of all the performance enhancements tomorrow's technologies have to offer.



To future proof your GIGABYTE 6 series motherboard, please download and install the latest BIOS update for your motherboard model from the GIGABYTE website.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,242 (1.99/day)
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
So all that's needed is a BIOS flash? That's really cool. Will x16 2.0s become x8 3.0s, or does the BIOS flash actually double the bandwidth???
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
how is possible?

pciexpress switch on gigabyte b3 revision are pcie3.0 compilant like asrock mobo?

 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,531 (0.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
It's not a lie, the simple fact is that once you put a Ivy Bridge CPU in a current board the x16 slots will move from 2.0 to 3.0 as there's no physical difference between the PCB design for the PCI Express 2.0 and 3.0.
Boards with old switches will end up with the top slot running at half speed (i.e. x8) in PCI Express 3.0 in any and all circumstances when the second slot is in use, it's limited to PCI Express 2.0.
Only boards with the new switches will support dual PCI Express 3.0 slots.
As such, boards with only a single x16 slot will transition from 2.0 to 3.0 once an Ivy Bridge CPU is used.
Also note that boards with nForce 200 chips won't work at PCI Express 3.0 speed if cards are fitted in slots connected to the nForce 200 chip.

And afaik, Gigabyte doesn't use ASMedia, they're using Pericom switches.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,531 (0.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Fair enough, but what are you pissed off about? There's no need to cry murder of something which will apply to all motherboards out there, Gigabyte are just being honest and pointing out the obvious, something that the other board makers have been hiding.
Read my post above, your primary slot will still be PCI Express 3.0 compliant unless something changes drastically.
That said, it'll be limited to PCI Express 3.0 x8 and if you're using both slots, then you're stuck at 2.0 bandwidth.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,616 (1.23/day)
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X PBO
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16GB DDR4 3600 CL15
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC/UV
Storage Samsung 970 Evo m.2 NVME
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
well i for one am super stoked to be certain that my Mini ITX H67N-USB3-B3 will support the new 22nm chips next year, rumor has it there will be 6 cores coming to 1155 :D
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
5,614 (1.53/day)
Location
San Diego, CA
System Name White Boy
Processor Core i7 3770k @4.6 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB @ 2177
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 CLASSIEFIED @ 1250 Core
Storage 2 Samsung 830 256 GB (Raid 0) 1 Hitachi 4 TB
Display(s) 1 Dell 30U11 30"
Case BIT FENIX Prodigy
Audio Device(s) none
Power Supply SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W Modular
Software Windows Pro 7 64 bit || Ubuntu 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 2017 Unigine Heaven :: P37239 3D Mark Vantage
well i for one am super stoked to be certain that my Mini ITX H67N-USB3-B3 will support the new 22nm chips next year, rumor has it there will be 6 cores coming to 1155 :D
Hope so.
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,616 (1.23/day)
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X PBO
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16GB DDR4 3600 CL15
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC/UV
Storage Samsung 970 Evo m.2 NVME
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma

newfellow

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
314 (0.08/day)
System Name ID
Processor Q9450 ~3.74Ghz
Motherboard ASUS-P5E
Cooling Air
Memory G.Skill CL4-8GB
Video Card(s) ATI/Geforce 5850/9800
Storage A-lot
Display(s) BenQ G2400WT
Case 900
Audio Device(s) Shitty ASUS FX;P
Power Supply OCZ GXS 850W
Software -
Benchmark Scores too many machines to spec
It's not a lie, the simple fact is that once you put a Ivy Bridge CPU in a current board the x16 slots will move from 2.0 to 3.0 as there's no physical difference between the PCB design for the PCI Express 2.0 and 3.0.
Boards with old switches will end up with the top slot running at half speed (i.e. x8) in PCI Express 3.0 in any and all circumstances when the second slot is in use, it's limited to PCI Express 2.0.
Only boards with the new switches will support dual PCI Express 3.0 slots.
As such, boards with only a single x16 slot will transition from 2.0 to 3.0 once an Ivy Bridge CPU is used.
Also note that boards with nForce 200 chips won't work at PCI Express 3.0 speed if cards are fitted in slots connected to the nForce 200 chip.

And afaik, Gigabyte doesn't use ASMedia, they're using Pericom switches.
Good point you are making here.

Actually been studying this a bit and the 3rd slot on-board (which has the through PCH PCIe x4) you can utilize while the primary port is providing the PCIe 3.0 speeds. These 2 are not attached to each other. So, really good place (unless the bandwidth suddently runs out, but should do really good for something like old 9800 GTX) for physics hardware.
 
Top