• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gigabyte Announces Support for Upcoming 45nm AMD AM3/AM2+ Processors

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,334 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
GIGABYTE, a leading manufacturer of motherboards and graphics cards today is pleased to announce support for the soon-to-be-released AMD 45nm processors including socket AM3 and AM2+ on a full range of current platforms including the AMD 790FX, 790GX, 790X, 770, 780G, 740G as well as the NVIDIA nForce 750a SLI and GeForce 8200.

With a simple BIOS upgrade, GIGABYTE delivers an easy upgrade path for users wanting to take advantage of AMD's latest 45nm process technology enhancements including higher core clocks with greater energy efficiency over past generations, integrated DDR2/DDR3 memory controller (DDR3 memory support for AM3 processors and AM3 designed motherboards only), HyperTransport 3.0 and C1E enhanced power savings.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#2
Damn it. Biostar Please please......

God please get into Biostar's Bios coders brain and help them release an update to take 45nm AMD CPUs. I will offer you a bribe:D

Good news tho to Gigabyte board owners.
 
Last edited:

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#3
unlike the a**holes at Asus Giga actually delivers support for Am3/Deneb on all their AM2+ boards. Glad to see it.
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
1,268 (0.37/day)
Likes
77
Location
USA
Processor Intel Xeon E5-1620 v3 Haswell-EP 3.5
Motherboard ASRock X99E-ITX LGA 2011-v3
Cooling Stock (Temp.)
Memory CORSAIR LPX 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) XFX AMD 6770
Storage 1 X SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 256GB 1 X Crucial M4 120GB SSD, 1 X 2TB WD Black SATA
Display(s) LG 32" Widescreen
Case Corsair Carbide Series 250D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair CX600
Mouse Cooler Master
Keyboard Corsair
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#5
Yay my motherboard will still work! i cant wait to get the new quads :)
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
#6
Woohoo! I'll be looking at the Phenom II X3 black edition when it comes out early next year!
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
180 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#7
unlike the a**holes at Asus Giga actually delivers support for Am3/Deneb on all their AM2+ boards. Glad to see it.
wtf. should we be happy that we have to watch that amd (once again) in reality dropped release am2+ 45nm cpus just cause they have 2-in-1 mch on die and they sell us once again "useres should all migrate to YET ANOTHER CRAPPY SOCKET (am3) just to finance our (amd) money embezzlement so that they could become the ultimate :pimp:Mob, Inc.:pimp:"

They're full of promises for people that eagerly spent too soon to much on never realized dreams, and yet there's never enough spice to keep that management pools on track with customers.:nutkick:

I wanna see the REAL support of 45nm am2+ cpus from damn not just a few spuun offs that couldnt fulfill all the specs required for SF Opterons, and yet another bullshit that ddr3 migration is really needed and actually subventioned by damn's politics toward the end user :mad::mad::mad:
 

Torg

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon X2 6400+
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-DS4
Memory 4gb ddr2 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 3870 512mb
Storage 250gb Sata 3.0
Display(s) 22in. 2ms Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 750w
Software Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
#8
wtf. should we be happy that we have to watch that amd (once again) in reality dropped release am2+ 45nm cpus just cause they have 2-in-1 mch on die and they sell us once again "useres should all migrate to YET ANOTHER CRAPPY SOCKET (am3) just to finance our (amd) money embezzlement so that they could become the ultimate :pimp:Mob, Inc.:pimp:"

They're full of promises for people that eagerly spent too soon to much on never realized dreams, and yet there's never enough spice to keep that management pools on track with customers.:nutkick:

I wanna see the REAL support of 45nm am2+ cpus from damn not just a few spuun offs that couldnt fulfill all the specs required for SF Opterons, and yet another bullshit that ddr3 migration is really needed and actually subventioned by damn's politics toward the end user :mad::mad::mad:
lol... that was just silly.
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#9
wtf. should we be happy that we have to watch that amd (once again) in reality dropped release am2+ 45nm cpus just cause they have 2-in-1 mch on die and they sell us once again "useres should all migrate to YET ANOTHER CRAPPY SOCKET (am3) just to finance our (amd) money embezzlement so that they could become the ultimate :pimp:Mob, Inc.:pimp:"

They're full of promises for people that eagerly spent too soon to much on never realized dreams, and yet there's never enough spice to keep that management pools on track with customers.:nutkick:

I wanna see the REAL support of 45nm am2+ cpus from damn not just a few spuun offs that couldnt fulfill all the specs required for SF Opterons, and yet another bullshit that ddr3 migration is really needed and actually subventioned by damn's politics toward the end user :mad::mad::mad:

i understand that you are upset about this and you do have a point but it seems to me that AMD are not the only ones to blame here. Originally we were promised that AM2 boards will support AM2+/AM3 CPUs with BIOS update. In case of AM3 they said DDR2 could be used. they never promised that AM2/AM2+ boards will support AM3 CPUs + DDR3 due to them having a different memory controller. However, when AM2+ Phenoms were launched only some AM2 boards offered Phenom support. This is the fault of the mobo manufacturers, IMO. I was screwed myself because i own a Gigabyte nforce590 and this was one of the few nforce Giga boards not supporting Phenom. Naturally i was pissed, Giga told me that it was impossible for this board to support the Phenom which i find difficult to beleive since their nforce570 works just fine and the fact that they didnt offer Phenom support for this high-end enthusiast board is simply outrageuos.

So now comes AM2+ 45nm (Deneb)/AM3 and again end users are screwed by mobo manufacturers. There are no AM2 boards on the lists presented by Asus and Giga, which again goes counter to what AMD promised. Moreover, Asus totally f****d the owners of most of AM2+ boards, including their flagship M3A32-MVP Deluxe, by not offering support for Deneb/AM3. In fact only a handful of boards are supported, none of the SB600 boards are there also. This is why i gave props to Giga, even though they screwed me in the past, now at least the offer support for the new CPUs on all their AM2+ boards. So bottom line is, both AMD and their Taiwanese buddies are to blame here.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,571 (1.42/day)
Likes
1,164
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#10
i understand that you are upset about this and you do have a point but it seems to me that AMD are not the only ones to blame here. Originally we were promised that AM2 boards will support AM2+/AM3 CPUs with BIOS update. In case of AM3 they said DDR2 could be used. they never promised that AM2/AM2+ boards will support AM3 DDR3 CPUs due to them having a different memory controller. However, when AM2+ Phenoms were launched only some AM2 boards offered Phenom support. This is the fault of the mobo manufacturers, IMO. I was screwed myself because i own a Gigabyte nforce590 and this was one of the few nforce Giga boards not supporting Phenom. Naturally i was pissed, Giga told me that it was impossible for this board to support the Phenom which i find difficult to beleive since their nforce570 works just fine and the fact that they didnt offer Phenom support for this high-end enthusiast board is simply outrageuos.

So now comes AM2+ 45nm (Deneb)/AM3 and again end users are screwed by mobo manufacturers. There are no AM2 boards on the lists presented by Asus and Giga, which again goes counter to what AMD promised. Moreover, Asus totally f****d the owners of most of AM2+ boards, including their flagship M3A32-MVP Deluxe, by not offering support for Deneb/AM3. In fact only a handful of boards are supported, none of the SB600 boards are there also. This is why i gave props to Giga, even though they screwed me in the past, now at least the offer support for the new CPUs on all their AM2+ boards. So bottom line is, both AMD and their Taiwanese buddies are to blame here.
Thats absolutely true. I guess the mobo manufacturers scrwed AMD over by not preparing the boards properly to give a proper update.

Actually Gigabyte and Asus are fore runners is giving bios updates on most of their models to support new cpus. Others just release new boards based on the same chipset, I guess its easier to build a new product than to write a bios update especially ECS, famous for those retarted Bios writers they have, they fu...g scrwed me on their stupid black edition board, u update the new bios they take away CPU voltage adjustments, then what good is that Black board for?
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.63/day)
Likes
275
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
#11
Actually Gigabyte and Asus are fore runners is giving bios updates on most of their models to support new cpus.
yes, they are usually good, i'm hoping that Asus will correct this oversight, otherwise there will be a lot of pissed off people out there. If Giga can do it so can they.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#12
Damn it. Biostar Please please......

God please get into Biostar's Bios coders brain and help them release an update to take 45nm AMD CPUs. I will offer you a bribe:D

Good news tho to Gigabyte board owners.
thats what i was thinking :p
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
690 (0.19/day)
Likes
25
System Name n\a
Processor Intel I7 6700
Motherboard GA-Z170-Gaming K3 (rev. 1.1)
Cooling 6x120mm akasa viper 83cfm fans
Memory ddr4 240 mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor rx 480
Storage kingston savage 240 gb ssd x2
Display(s) benQ 27 inch monitor
Case Lian Li PC-B70
Audio Device(s) HD Onboard
Power Supply ocz zx 850w gold psu
Software Windows 10 x64
#13
gigabyte need to update their site , the newest it says my mobo supports is the athlon 6500 on f7f bios . no mention of the newer cpu's/phenom II
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#14
See even Gigabyte is going to give SLi support.

ASUS they must be holding out for a bigger press release day.....
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#15
nice. my new media board is on that list.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#16
unlike the a**holes at Asus Giga actually delivers support for Am3/Deneb on all their AM2+ boards. Glad to see it.
agree 100% with you my friend im so happy for this , cuz you don't need to change cpu and ram cuz you want to change you mobo , hey intel see this what amd doing to still support old product's
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
231 (0.07/day)
Likes
23
System Name Uh, my build?
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz (3.9GHz turbo)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (F8 BIOS)
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD7970 3GB 1GHz Core/5.5GHz Memory
Storage SanDisk Extreme Pro 960GB & 2TB WD Black & 1TB WD Green
Display(s) 1x Samsung 23" Syncmaster P2350 1x LG 23"
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard now since store didn't RMA properly
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W
Software Win 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 - P8456 - http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3372758
#17
Isn't the 790FX meant to be better than the 790GX? Also isn't the 790FX meant to have SB750 or at least SB700?

Also, will they be releasing new boards for these CPU's?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
180 (0.05/day)
Likes
5
#18
i understand that you are upset about this and you do have a point but it seems to me that AMD are not the only ones to blame here. Originally we were promised that AM2 boards will support AM2+/AM3 CPUs with BIOS update.
im not upset i'm furious cause damn create so much bullshit that even reCyco plants Gen.9 (now we're on G4 afaik) wouldnt have enough capacity to clean that up :D

In case of AM3 they said DDR2 could be used. they never promised that AM2/AM2+ boards will support AM3 CPUs + DDR3 due to them having a different memory controller. However, when AM2+ Phenoms were launched only some AM2 boards offered Phenom support. This is the fault of the mobo manufacturers, IMO. I was screwed myself because i own a Gigabyte nforce590 and this was one of the few nforce Giga boards not supporting Phenom.
Unfortunately i know what am3 stands for "yet another mobo model that now supports ddr3" :nutkick: so in fact the all new socket since s462 should be abbreviated this way "YAMMtnsD3".

The problem doesn't lie under chipset itself (well in the case nF4/nf5/nf(quasi)6 it does) cause nVidia couldn't and didnt want to predict the way the cpu will be developed, but as we saw since 130nm-90nm-65nm transitions mostly the blame didnt lie in chipsets cause they all could support the new features xept nf3/4 doesnt support AMD Pacifica (aka HyperV). But as we all could see amd690g and new nf 520/560 series could support new K8L aka Phenoms w/o problems except separate power planes and newely HT rate (well most of them support HT 3200 thru OCing eve nF4 could reach that and then again nf550/nf570 have some serious issues, maybe caused by the manufaturers flawkyness :confused:).

Back to am3/2+ ... OMG i cant believe that some hw freaks still doesnt know well that's been suspected even before PII that on 45nm is easily reachable to have 4ch memory controller (thru Bulldozer slides that should see the light of the dawn @45nm) so they can easily manage on what market they'll place their so expected cpus. But as damn become producer of their own chipsets, since they crunched ATi bone, and wanna make some market cap, like intel was doing the whole 5 yrs back since they didn't have integrated mch on cpu die, and now thru ugly licencing scheme of their holly CSI (crime scene reinvented). Well it's lucrative business unfortunately. So we in the end will be screwed once again since amd wanna sel more boards and whats best for early adopters than amd's chipsets since nvidia needs to figure out whats new (if any in this cpu revision)

So in the end i'm whooping about is that they dont have sence to utilise their 45nm cores on both markets since it's all the same and all cores have 2ch ddr2 + 2ch ddr3 capable of gangbang and unganged mode. So all they should have a reason to place chips on both market emerging ddr3 and not so lucrative ddr2 but that will still pull some profit especialy if they place same chips under same price.

In the end story goes that f*cking damn want to double up their crappy chipset bussines and place as many 890fx/850g chipsets all under the mask that they want to make seamless transfor to Bulldozer core. OMG that's totaly different architecture and guess again the new chipstes will be needed no matter that it'll work with ddr3 also. Yeah maybe they'll be somwhat compatible like core2 on 945 chipsets but that's crap and anyone who knows that from first hand wouldnt repeat it with amd once again. anywhay whenewer bulldozer came if any of those fancy last year's slides were true it will be a major jump not just HT & power planes enhancement like Phenoms and they try to sell us a fake beliefs that we need am3 to eary adopt Bully-core.

Reasons for am3:
1. populate market with as many chipsets as they could
2. cut down chips from Shangai servers chips w/ L3 to cheap (not to buyers cheap to produce :p) rana (it mean wound :eek:) & heka
3. cut down htpc mobo cost removing sideport memory that now it's needed for integrated gaming :laugh: and of coure enabling costly chipset to populate that differece
4. sell more chipsets year after

well if they offer cut down 50% in cost when i bring back my old mobo i might close up one ye but this is ludacris except considering the fact that in the next 12month we could coose good system w/ 4gb of ultra expensive ddr3 or extremely valuable system w/ 16gb of ddr2-800 for the same money that we need for only 4gb ... ultimate gaming??? well afaik games and whol system works better on much more lower latency ram than on quarter of high latency ram that hardly goes up to ddr3-2000MHz w/ cl9 while cl5 ddr2-1000MHz is reachable with most valuable rams w/ 4 sticks populated (well not in intels world but hank god yes in amds)
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
#19
Looks like Gigabyte has just released the new BIOSes for us with SB600. Here is the one for the 790fx-ds5. They've also added the "AM3 CPU Ready" sticker seen on the OP to the motherboard page on their site. Go Gigabyte!