• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte AORUS X470 ULTRA GAMING and Corsair Vengeance LPX Xmp profile can not be activated

iuliug

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
13 (0.05/day)
The MB does not boot with Xmp profile activated. The RAMs (CMK32GX4M2B3200C16) - rated at 3200 seems to have Samsung B-die which people seems to think are pretty good for Ryzen - i use 2700x - as per this read of the rams.

Using the Ryzen Ram Calc. they seem to be capable of pretty good timings at 3200. Check attached screen

Any suggestions?

Please advise how i should sett the SOC and VDD voltage in this MB as it seems to only have offset settings. U can see a full overview of the Bios here:
. What would be good offset settings?

i used both F42 and F50 bios-es. However F50 does not seems to work with Ryzen Master which freezes when started.

Ty to everyone that takes the time to give input.
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
952 (0.29/day)
Get different memory, something other than corsair. There are a handful of threads in the last couple weeks of builds facing annoying memory issues due to corsair memory.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
3,935 (1.78/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 256GB, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
I had similar issue with my new Team Vulcan Z DDR4-3000 on GB X470 Ultra Gaming.
Booting straight w/ XMP caused a no-post, so I think what I did was setting 3000MHz with lax timings manually (basically copying XMP timings), booting successfully, and then re-booting using XMP profile.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
703 (0.48/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
Make sure you put them in the correct slots.
I had an issue when building a friends' PC, the RAM (also Corsair VENGEANCE LPX) worked but it defaulted to 2400 MHz, even with XMP until I checked the manual and put the sticks in the correct slots. After that XMP worked as it should, just a single reboot needed.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,256 (6.22/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Make sure you put them in the correct slots.
I had an issue when building a friends' PC, the RAM (also Corsair VENGEANCE LPX) worked but it defaulted to 2400 MHz, even with XMP until I checked the manual and put the sticks in the correct slots. After that XMP worked as it should, just a single reboot needed.
Hope thats the case because corsair has had problems since AM3
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
703 (0.48/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
Hi. This is how the sticks are placed. I checked the manual when i put them.
Can you try them in the other two slots.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,595 (1.74/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
If you can send back those RAM and get some Gskill Ram The RIpjaws 4 3000 MHZ are usually nice and cheap. And have 15-15-15-36 timings
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,256 (6.22/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Not worth it, skip corsair totally, sell them off and get gskill. Its their spd/xmp plus how Gigabytes boards being memory tempermental that causes this
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
952 (0.29/day)
That is prob my next step. i set ny target on these: https://www.gskill.com/product/165/184/1536110922/F4-3200C16D-32GVKRipjaws-VDDR4-3200MHz-CL16-18-18-38-1.35V32GB-(2x16GB). I read that 3200 is a sweet spot for Ryzen. What do u think?

However those Corsaor being b-dies make me wanna try harder.
They're not B die, they are Samsung but not the highly rated B-die. Ratings go A/B/C/D. If yours were real B-dies you would not have made this thread.

At this point you can mess around with it for another weak, but like I wrote above get something else. Other posters on this forum messed with the same crap ram for weeks before throwing in the towel. Personally Corsair should be put on blast for this crap. You shouldn't have to mess around with timings when they are advertised to work. That said I recommend you go with G.Skills but get ones with matched timings.
 
Last edited:

iuliug

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
13 (0.05/day)
So upon documentation it seems Ryzen is bad with dual rank memories and above 2666 frequencies. I managed to set it at 2800 auto and 1.35V. It seems to wok.

Must thinks if i go 16 Gb single rang and higher clocks (hopefully) or stick with 32gb 2800.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,624 (0.84/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Not worth it, skip corsair totally, sell them off and get gskill. Its their spd/xmp plus how Gigabytes boards being memory tempermental that causes this
Can you please stop spreading FUD about Gigabyte? There's nothing temperamental about their memory settings.
If that's the case, then so is Asus, as my Corsair LPX modules never worked at XMP on my previous Asus board.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,473 (8.57/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Corsair LPX is the problem, its really problematic for ryzen
 

iuliug

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
13 (0.05/day)
I fiddled with the timings. i got it to work at 2800 - 14-16-16-32. I dunno if another dual-rang 32Gb kit ( even non Corsair) will be guaranteed to go higher.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,256 (6.22/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Can you please stop spreading FUD about Gigabyte? There's nothing temperamental about their memory settings.
If that's the case, then so is Asus, as my Corsair LPX modules never worked at XMP on my previous Asus board.
I understand corsair on asus however,

Ive had too many ga boards throw fits with memory whether from gskill, crucial, kingston, mushkin, corsair, adata, wintec, team, geil, ocz...
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,624 (0.84/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
I understand corsair on asus however,

Ive had too many ga boards throw fits with memory whether from gskill, crucial, kingston, mushkin, corsair, adata, wintec, team, geil, ocz...
And I've had many that have never had a single issue. It makes you wonder if it's your settings that are causing the problems?
I have owned boards from just about every board maker out there over the years and I have rarely had problems and if I've had any, they have in general been solved by BIOS/UEFI updates.
I'm not saying there aren't issues, but if it was as bad as you keep making it out here, there ought to be oodles of reports with people complaining about Gigabyte's poor memory compatibility. I haven't seen this, but maybe I'm just not hanging out in the right places?
What I have seen and experienced, is issues with Corsair LPX memory and reading posts here and elsewhere, other people are also having issues with Corsair memory and Ryzen CPUs.
You're on the other hand, the only one I see complaining about Gigabyte at every opportunity you get...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,256 (6.22/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
And I've had many that have never had a single issue. It makes you wonder if it's your settings that are causing the problems?
I have owned boards from just about every board maker out there over the years and I have rarely had problems and if I've had any, they have in general been solved by BIOS/UEFI updates.
I'm not saying there aren't issues, but if it was as bad as you keep making it out here, there ought to be oodles of reports with people complaining about Gigabyte's poor memory compatibility. I haven't seen this, but maybe I'm just not hanging out in the right places?
What I have seen and experienced, is issues with Corsair LPX memory and reading posts here and elsewhere, other people are also having issues with Corsair memory and Ryzen CPUs.
You're on the other hand, the only one I see complaining about Gigabyte at every opportunity you get...
Trust me i know about corsair on am3 even
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,595 (1.74/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
And I've had many that have never had a single issue. It makes you wonder if it's your settings that are causing the problems?
I have owned boards from just about every board maker out there over the years and I have rarely had problems and if I've had any, they have in general been solved by BIOS/UEFI updates.
I'm not saying there aren't issues, but if it was as bad as you keep making it out here, there ought to be oodles of reports with people complaining about Gigabyte's poor memory compatibility. I haven't seen this, but maybe I'm just not hanging out in the right places?
What I have seen and experienced, is issues with Corsair LPX memory and reading posts here and elsewhere, other people are also having issues with Corsair memory and Ryzen CPUs.
You're on the other hand, the only one I see complaining about Gigabyte at every opportunity you get...
Actually just about every Gigabyte board I have owned has died at some point. The worst one was the X470 Gaming 7 that gave me a post code of 00 one day and has failed to post since (on whatever BIOS). It could be because they like to over volt their boards and I like to OC my CPU. I do agree with you as well though in that Corsair Vengeance memory does not seem to play well with Ryzen CPUs. All of this is based on my own experiences.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,624 (0.84/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
I don't ever post about it, but you won't catch me buying a gigafail board. Sorry...
Which is fine, I'm not working for them, nor do I promote their products, but I also think it's a bit unfair to bash them in every single thread.
We've seen plenty people here that have had issues with their X570 boards and have to RMA them, but likewise, many of use have had zero issues with our boards.
At the same time, people are having plenty problems with every single brand of products it would seem. I have personally bashed AOC in a couple of thread, as they've made some terrible products and it was not just a personal experience as I had friends that had the exact same issues and it was multiple issues with their first 4K screen.
I have had one cheap Gigabyte board fail in a PC I built for someone, but that was after something like five years and they never cleaned their PC so...
Personally, I can't think of a single motherboard I've had fail on me, but most of the time I swap out my gear every 2-3 years, so that could be why.
At least the quality is so much better these days. For those that remember, back in the bad old days when you had companies like PC Chips, QDI, FIC, Leadtek and quite often Jetway, you ended up with boards that were either DOA, couldn't boot in to the OS or were just flaky as...
That's not so common these days, although I guess we still have Biostar, although I haven't used any recent hardware from them, so maybe it's not as bad as their board looks...
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
952 (0.29/day)
All brand can have duds. But for me, my experience and time wasted counts more than any anecdotal evidence. I went thru 3 Aorus boards on x399. They all shat themselves during OC setup and literally just rebooting after a weak oc. I've never seen anything like that, refusing to boot. Then you're sitting there sweating bullets, omfg is my chip dead? I swap to the Asus and no issues, oc fails and it reboots. And there were a ton of horror stories from other users, Aorus boards frying TR chips. No thanks man. It's like the doctors hippocratic oath that the Aorus line failed at with me.
 

iuliug

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2019
Messages
13 (0.05/day)
Well since u guys hijacked my post :p. Imo the GB bios is not refined at all. I came from a Z87 MSI Bios which was sooo good. I think they sill have that layout. That Board layout feature is so niiice. But i liked the 1220 sound chip and I/O features on the x470.

If anyone wants to add more to the memory discussion pls do so. Returning the Corsair and getting G-skill is an option. But those would still be dual rank.
 
Top