• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte B550 AORUS Pro

Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
5,310 (3.67/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
I have (had) plans for the 1600X and B350 setup.
Now I'm not sure what I'm gonna do.
Simple.

Whatever you were going to do with a 1600X and B350 you now get to do with a 3600 and B450 :)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2,388 (0.76/day)
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-8700K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme & ASUS Prime Z-370 A
Cooling Corsair 280mm AIO & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3466 GEIL Potenza
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070Ti 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
Simple.

Whatever you were going to do with a 1600X and B350 you now get to do with a 3600 and B450 :)


I was going to give it away to someone who needs a hand with a PC, but I'm not sure that I want to do that.
I have a quad-core Xeon on the shelf that would do for him.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
197 (0.09/day)
On GIgabyte's specs page the M.2 slot connected to the chipset is listed as supporting only PCIe SSDs, not SATA. From this review, however, it isn't entirely clear what that slot supports. Anybody can shed some light here? It seems somewhat counterintuitive that I would need to connect my M.2 NVMe SSD to the chipset, and my M.2 SATA SSD to the CPU.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
5,310 (3.67/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
On GIgabyte's specs page the M.2 slot connected to the chipset is listed as supporting only PCIe SSDs, not SATA. From this review, however, it isn't entirely clear what that slot supports. Anybody can shed some light here? It seems somewhat counterintuitive that I would need to connect my M.2 NVMe SSD to the chipset, and my M.2 SATA SSD to the CPU.
I would imagine both slots support SATA, but they only mention the PCIe because it's reduced to PCIe 3.0 instead of 4.0 on the chipset's M.2 slot.
If in doubt, download the user manual and see if there's any specific note about where you cannot insert a SATA M.2 drive.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
197 (0.09/day)
The user manual lists the same information -- that the chipset M.2 slot (M2B_SB) supports only PCIe 3.0. Granted, it doesn't mention explicitly that a SATA SSD cannot be plugged into that slot, but I doubt it would support if it doesn't mention it.

We'll see, I've already ordered it.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
5,310 (3.67/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
I would imagine they don't mention SATA support off the chipset specifically because that's just assumed to always be there.
Even if your fears are justified, you won't have a problem since Zen2 CPUs have two SATA ports directly on the IO die of the CPU. Counter-intuitive or not, it'll work just the same.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
197 (0.09/day)
I have no doubt it will work. It just seems a bit illogical to have to connect the slower SSD to the faster port, which would leave the faster SSD for the slower port. I doubt I would notice any difference in real-world scenarios, and I suspect this would only matter for some serious benchmarks, but it is still a bit weird.

I will report back with more information once I've replaced the my current B450 board with the new B550 one.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
964 (0.26/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name R9 5950x/Skylake 6400
Processor R9 5950x/i5 6400
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Master X570/Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360/Stock
Memory 4x8GB Patriot PVS416G4440 CL14/G.S Ripjaws 32 GB F4-3200C16D-32GV
Video Card(s) 6900XT/R7
Storage RIP Seagate 530 4TB (died after 7 months), WD SN850 2TB, Aorus 2TB, Corsair MP600 1TB / 960 Evo 1TB
Display(s) 3x LG 27gl850
Case Custom builds
Audio Device(s) -
Power Supply Silverstone 1000watt modular Gold/1000Watt Antec
Software win10pro / Win10 Home / win7 / wista 64 bit and XPpro
Seems that the bios slide with sata settings shows new chipsets the lastest bios for the x570 tell of new x590 as well.
X590 chipset.jpg
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,208 (4.36/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
197 (0.09/day)
As promised, I'm here to report on my findings. Yes, the technical specifications on Gigabyte's page are indeed correct. The chipset M.2 slot does NOT support SATA SSDs, only NVMe.

I also encountered a weird problem, where my mouse would stop working every few seconds for about another few seconds, and my keyboard's backlight kept blinking. That happened when both were connected to the top-most row of USB 2.0 ports on the rear panel, alongside a USB DAC and the USB cable for the monitor's USB ports. Moved the mouse and keyboard down to the second row of USB 2.0 ports (the one next to the video outputs), and thus far they are behaving fine.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
5,310 (3.67/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
As promised, I'm here to report on my findings. Yes, the technical specifications on Gigabyte's page are indeed correct. The chipset M.2 slot does NOT support SATA SSDs, only NVMe.

I also encountered a weird problem, where my mouse would stop working every few seconds for about another few seconds, and my keyboard's backlight kept blinking. That happened when both were connected to the top-most row of USB 2.0 ports on the rear panel, alongside a USB DAC and the USB cable for the monitor's USB ports. Moved the mouse and keyboard down to the second row of USB 2.0 ports (the one next to the video outputs), and thus far they are behaving fine.
Thanks for being the early adopter so that by the time I start buying B550 boards in bulk you and other paying beta testers will have discovered most of the worst problems!
/salute.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
197 (0.09/day)
Well, me being an early adopter was somewhat not entirely my choice, as I was having problems with my ASRock B450 Pro4, and wanted to replace it. The exhibited problems did not prevent the board from working but since they arose a few months after purchased and since I'm a bit of a perfectionist, I was both concerned about the future of the board and annoyed, which is why I decided to replace it this early.
X570 boards were expensive and quite of an overkill, few B450 boards fit my needs (two M.2 slots), so I decided to just get a B550 board as a good middle ground between B450 and X570 in terms of features and price. The B550 Aorus Pro is probably a bit of an overkill as well (stock R7 3700X) and it was a bit more than what I was planning to spend initially, but it gives me peace of mind, its fan control is light-years ahead of what ASRock offered (at least on the B450), and I can always try to pretend the falcon is actually a raven. One can dream...
 

Win_Wiz

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
25 (0.02/day)
Could you please check the available dram termination voltage range for me?
I want this board but need low dram termination voltage for micron rev E overclocking.
I can't find this info anywhere, so your first hand info. would be much appreciated :)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2,388 (0.76/day)
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-8700K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme & ASUS Prime Z-370 A
Cooling Corsair 280mm AIO & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3466 GEIL Potenza
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070Ti 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
Simple.

Whatever you were going to do with a 1600X and B350 you now get to do with a 3600 and B450 :)
She ended up letting me upgrade her system. She really likes how much faster it is now.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
197 (0.09/day)
Could you please check the available dram termination voltage range for me?
If you can give me some basic pointers where to look (I am not familiar with AM4's overclocking options, as I cannot be bothered to overclock anything), I wouldn't mind checking.
 

Win_Wiz

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
25 (0.02/day)
Its a bios setting. Gigabyte label it Dram termination (ch a/b). The setting is located under tweaker.
 

vladp6

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
14 (0.02/day)
After using this board (B550 Aorus Pro AC) for two weeks, I'd say better go with the cheap X570 board. The BIOS is still in the development (only F2 has now been released, whilst my previous B450 has F50 version). It does not support well new video cards (I'm having troubles with Gigabyte Radeon RX 5600 XT). There are no lanes to install my second SSD (Samsung Evo 860), so I'm stuck with only 500 GB of Gigabyte Aorus SSD. Heating up issues, it seems there is a problem with voltages on the board, CPU is overheating all the time (compared to my previous B450). So, my sincere advice to all: just wait, don't buy the half-developed product from Gigabyte. If you need a new motherboard for new Ryzen and video card, buy a cheap X570 board, which has been on the market for quite some time.
 

Win_Wiz

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
25 (0.02/day)
After using this board (B550 Aorus Pro AC) for two weeks, I'd say better go with the cheap X570 board. The BIOS is still in the development (only F2 has now been released, whilst my previous B450 has F50 version). It does not support well new video cards (I'm having troubles with Gigabyte Radeon RX 5600 XT). There are no lanes to install my second SSD (Samsung Evo 860), so I'm stuck with only 500 GB of Gigabyte Aorus SSD. Heating up issues, it seems there is a problem with voltages on the board, CPU is overheating all the time (compared to my previous B450). So, my sincere advice to all: just wait, don't buy the half-developed product from Gigabyte. If you need a new motherboard for new Ryzen and video card, buy a cheap X570 board, which has been on the market for quite some time.
Samsung 860 Evo, that's a sata ssd right? Do you have many sata devices or how come there is no lanes for it?
 

vladp6

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
14 (0.02/day)
Samsung 860 Evo, that's a sata ssd right?

It is M.2 SATA: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-SATA-Internal-MZ-N6E500BW/dp/B078218TWQ

I can insert it into only into one available M.2 slot under the graphic card. There are actually two M.2 slots: one for PCIe, which is now occupied by Aorus NVMe, and another one is for anther M.2 SSD. However, the board does not detect any SSD, even being SATA, in this second slot. I've tried both Samsung 860 Evo and my older M.2 SATA SSD, but to no avail. Any SSD can be detected only in the first slot.

Do you have many sata devices or how come there is no lanes for it?

This is the only SATA device I have.
 

Win_Wiz

New Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
25 (0.02/day)
It is M.2 SATA: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-500GB-SATA-Internal-MZ-N6E500BW/dp/B078218TWQ

I can insert it into only into one available M.2 slot under the graphic card. There are actually two M.2 slots: one for PCIe, which is now occupied by Aorus NVMe, and another one is for anther M.2 SSD. However, the board does not detect any SSD, even being SATA, in this second slot. I've tried both Samsung 860 Evo and my older M.2 SATA SSD, but to no avail. Any SSD can be detected only in the first slot.



This is the only SATA device I have.
It is kind of stupid that only the pcie 4 m.2 slot supports sata. But for my usage it's better than competing ASRock boards that only support pcie 3x2/sata on the second m.2 slot.

The first m.2 slot (pcie4 from cpu) should support sata.
Would the second (pcie3 x4 from chipset) slot bottleneck your Aorus ssd if you plug it in the 2nd m.2 slot?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
197 (0.09/day)
I can insert it into only into one available M.2 slot under the graphic card. There are actually two M.2 slots: one for PCIe, which is now occupied by Aorus NVMe, and another one is for anther M.2 SSD. However, the board does not detect any SSD, even being SATA, in this second slot. I've tried both Samsung 860 Evo and my older M.2 SATA SSD, but to no avail. Any SSD can be detected only in the first slot.
The lower M.2 slot does not support SATA SSDs, only NVMe. If you have a SATA SSD, it needs to be inserted into the upper M.2 slot. I explicitly tested this, and mentioned it above, as I wasn't sure if it was an error in the technical specifications for the motherboard.
 

vladp6

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
14 (0.02/day)
Would the second (pcie3 x4 from chipset) slot bottleneck your Aorus ssd if you plug it in the 2nd m.2 slot?

Not sure, but nothing works in that second slot if the video card is connected to PCIe x16. I've tried to move the video card to the lower PCIe slot, but to no avail. I've tried different combinations and came to conclusion that the only system that can boot is the SSD (any) in the first M.2 slot together with the video card below.

This info is from Gigabyte manual:
1 x PCI Express x16 slot (PCIEX4), integrated in the Chipset:
  1. Supporting PCIe 3.0 x4 mode
    * The M2B_SB connector shares bandwidth with the PCIEX4 slot. The PCIEX4 slot will become unavailable when an SSD is installed in the M2B_SB connectors.
1 x PCI Express x16 slot (PCIEX2), integrated in the Chipset:
  1. Supporting PCIe 3.0 x2 mode
    * The PCIEX2 slot shares bandwidth with the SATA3 4, 5 connectors. The PCIEX2 slot will become unavailable when a device is installed in the SATA3 4 or SATA3 5 connector.

The lower M.2 slot does not support SATA SSDs, only NVMe. If you have a SATA SSD, it needs to be inserted into the upper M.2 slot. I explicitly tested this, and mentioned it above, as I wasn't sure if it was an error in the technical specifications for the motherboard.

Exactly. However, I prefer that my Gen4 NVMe would benefit from the Gen4 slot. If I change their slots then I'd loose the advantage of using fast Gen4 SSD.
 
Last edited:
Top