• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GigaByte DS3/Ds4/DQ6 CPU Fan Control

Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#1
I know this is a long shot, but I now have a DQ6 and E6600. I'm raising my FSB 10Mhz at a time, and now up to 370 (3.33 Ghz) w/o a hiccup.

I'm running Prime95 and SuperPi (32M) concurrently (till SuperPi completes) for each stress level.

My CPU is just starting to creep into the 60s at 370 with stock HS anf fan under that load. Chipset is fine at 30c. The Gigabyte S/W fan control is disabled (for some reason!), and the fan is only running at 1800 RPM max - I think the 100% is around 2400 RPM.

Tried Speedfan, no luck there.

So the question is - why would the Gigbyte fan control be disabled? I have the fan control method set to Auto/Auto in BIOS. I'd like it to run at full thottle above 60c.

Any insights? I have BIOS F5 (not quite the latest). And BTW, I LOVE THIS BOARD (so far).
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#2
Bump (the only one) - has anyone used the CPU Fan control software on the DS or DQ series?

I'm putting the CPU under water in the next few days, so I guess by then, it won't matter anyway :)
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.73/day)
Likes
663
#3
check hardware monitor in the bios... you may have to do some configurations there.
 

b1lk1

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Likes
17
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Money pit
Processor Q2Q Q8300
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 deluxe WIFI AP@N
Cooling 120.2/Swiftech655/Apogee GT/DD Fillport & res
Memory OCZ PC3-1333MHZ 2X1GB/Kingston HYPERX PC3-1325MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4830
Storage Seagate 7200.11 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2209WA
Case some crap 5 year old generic modded case
Audio Device(s) X-FI fagtality
Power Supply PC P&C 510W
Software Vista Premium 64
#4
You have to set it in bios to run 100%. It is under health monitoring section. You won't get much better temps with the stock HSF though. You really need to upgrade it for overclocking.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#5
Damn if I could find anything, other than the Fan speed control method, and Fan speed monitoring method (both set to Auto).
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#7
You have to set it in bios to run 100%. It is under health monitoring section. You won't get much better temps with the stock HSF though. You really need to upgrade it for overclocking.
Thanks - how are you liking your DQ6? It'll all be in a Koolance case within a week... (I'm moving my old system out first)

I was actually impressed with the stock HS, solid copper core and face, well lapped bottom, just scraping 60s with that kind of load and OC I thought wasn't bad. Stayed around 50c at stock speed.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#8
what other option is available other than "auto" in fan speed?
Now it makes sense - I guess I should read the manual :rolleyes:

I wonder if the software will allow control, if I set it to "Legacy"???

FAN Speed Control Method:
Auto BIOS sets the optimal fan speed automatically. (Default value)
Intel(R) QST Control the fan speed with Intel® QST (Intel® Quiet System Technology).
Legacy CPU fan runs at different speed depending on CPU temperature.
Disable CPU fan runs at full speed.

FAN Speed Control Mode:
Auto BIOS autodetects the type of CPU fan you installed and sets the optimal fan
speed control mode for it. (Default value)
Voltage Set to Voltage when you use a CPU fan with a 3-pin fan power cable.
PWM Set to PWM when you use a CPU fan with a 4-pin fan power cable.
Note: In fact, the Voltage option can be used for CPU fans with 3-pin or 4-pin power cables.
However, some 4-pin CPU fan power cables are not designed following Intel 4-Wire fans PWM
control specifications. With such CPU fans, selecting PWM will not effectively reduce the fan
speed.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.73/day)
Likes
663
#9
my guessing is that if you do legacy, you can use speed fan then.
 

Don__1

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
93 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
UK, Near the middle..............
#10
DS4 and CPU fan speed.

Noticed that the CPU fan only runs at 50% if the bios fan control is set to anything other than disabled.

If Easytune is configured to run the fan at full speed in the Smart Fan page then the fan still only runs at 50% on boot up until Easytune is first run.

Speedfan when set to 100% for the CPU fan speed only runs the fan at 50% of it's full speed.

Setting Legacy and PWM in the bios runs the fan at 50%.

Either turning off the fan speed control in bios or setting Easytune Smart Fan feature to 100% at all temps(or your desired temp) and actually running Easytune at bootup seems to be the only way to get a true 100% fan speed.

100% fan speed on my Intel stock fan is 1685.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807 (0.39/day)
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#11
plzdo a bios update either downgrade to a version where fan speed is working or upgrade to a version where fan speed is working

atm iam on f4 due to the fact that only in this version my fans are setup rightly