• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE Extends SLI Support on Entire X58 Series Motherboards

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,515 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,525
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name MRE-grade Potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x ZOTAC GeForce GTX 970
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB + Intel SSD320 120GB + Patriot WildFire 120GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Cooler Master CM690 1st Gen
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#1
GIGABYTE Technology CO., LTD., a leading manufacturer of motherboards and graphics cards, is pleased to announce their entire range of Intel X58 chipset motherboards now officially support NVIDIA SLI technology, allowing users to take full advantage of blazing-fast NVIDIA multi-GPU performance.

With a simple BIOS upgrade from the GIGABYTE website, users can enable NVIDIA SLI support on their current motherboards for ultra smooth 3D rendering, blazing-fast frame rates and enhanced visual quality possible with a multiple graphics card solution. Whether playing current and future graphics-intensive games at max settings, or enabling multi-monitor support for enhanced productivity, GIGABYTE gives users the flexibility to design their system according to their specific needs.

GIGABYTE X58 series motherboards are designed from the ground up to unleash the awesome power of Intel's latest generation Core i7 processors. Equipped with a host of new features including the new QPI interface, 3 channel DDR3 support, Ultra Durable 3 technology and the industry's most extensive range of overclocking features, the GIGABYTE X58 Series is bringing excitement back into the high performance motherboard industry.

The GIGABYTE X58 Series is yet another example of GIGABYTE engineering at its best with its revolutionary GIGABYTE Ultra Durable 3 design, featuring 2 ounces of copper for both the Power and Ground layers which dramatically lowers system temperature by delivering a more efficient spreading of heat from critical areas of the motherboard such as the CPU power zone throughout the entire PCB. GIGABYTE's Ultra Durable 3 also lowers the PCB impedance by 50%, which helps to reduce electrical waste and further lowers component temperatures. A 2oz Copper layer design also provides improved signal quality and lower EMI (Electromagnetic Interference), providing better system stability and allowing for greater margins for overclocking.

To find out more, or to get the SLI BIOS upgrade for your motherboard, please visit this page.

GIGABYTE X58 Series Featuring NVIDIA SLI Support includes:
  • GA-EX58-Extreme
  • GA-EX58-UD5
  • GA-EX58-UD4P
  • GA-EX58-UD4
  • GA-EX58-UD3R
Source: Gigabyte
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
346 (0.10/day)
Likes
24
System Name Kincsem
Processor Core i7 3820
Motherboard GA-X79S-UP5-WIFI
Cooling Scythe Ashura
Memory Kingston 4×4GB 2133 cl11
Video Card(s) Powercolor 7970
Storage 96GB SSD +750+2000+1500
Display(s) Samsung 26" T260 + Dell 23" U2312HM
Case Cooler Master Centurion 590
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Windows7-64
Benchmark Scores http://valid.canardpc.com/rwh6sq https://www.dropbox.com/s/prcc36lhyxxw6j4/Intel%20i7%203820.png
#2
No new BIOS for my Mobo... ...yet
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
539 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Location
Round Rock, TX
System Name Teh Beast
Processor 8700k @ 4.8
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill Flare X @ 3466
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 TI
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Display(s) Asus Swift
Case Corsair Air 740
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Software WIndows 10 Pro
#3
Sweet! Now my UD3R has sli capability.. time for another 285.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
536 (0.14/day)
Likes
41
Location
Melbourne, Australia
System Name beast
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2011
Memory 16GB Kingston Value DDR3 1333Mhz CL9
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 1GB
Storage 1x 120GB Intel 520
Display(s) 3x X243BW@5760x1080
Case Antec P182
Power Supply Antec TruePower Trio 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#4
yeah, UD3 and DS4 owners are going to be pleased about this
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.88/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
#5
All it took was a bios update? Isnt a chip required for SLI? I mean nf200 (correct me if im wrong) should be slapped on the board right to get sli right?
 

karlotta

New Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2004
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Oregon
#7
All it took was a bios update? Isnt a chip required for SLI? I mean nf200 (correct me if im wrong) should be slapped on the board right to get sli right?
No a sli n200 chip is not needed. The n200 chip is to "help" run tri_sli by setting the pci-e lanes 16, 8 ,8.... It took Intel to get the sli license for the x58 chip set to start the bios hacks rolling, you can hack any modern MB bios that has two or more pci-e slots for sli. Nice way to use a x48.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.88/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
#8
No a sli n200 chip is not needed. The n200 chip is to "help" run tri_sli by setting the pci-e lanes 16, 8 ,8.... It took Intel to get the sli license for the x58 chip set to start the bios hacks rolling, you can hack any modern MB bios that has two or more pci-e slots for sli. Nice way to use a x48.
Isnt there any performance penalties on this compared to those that have it natively on the hardware?
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.02/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#9
I was wondering the same thing?? how do you do that??^
 

Nyte

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
181 (0.04/day)
Likes
34
Location
Toronto ON
Processor i7 x980
Motherboard Asus SuperComputer
Memory 3x 2GB Triple Channel
Video Card(s) 2x Tahiti
Storage 2x OCZ SSD
Display(s) 23 inch
Power Supply 1 kW
Software Win 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Very high!
#10
I was wondering the same thing?? how do you do that??^
ATI and NV can do Crossfire/SLI on any PCI-e chipset with at least 2 PCI-e ports. It's a legal matter that makes us set the disabled flags in the driver/registry (ATI) whereas in NVIDIA, it's a hidden BIOS setting mapped to a register.
 

madrooster

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2009
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K D2 @ 3.40GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7-B3
Cooling Noctua NH-U9B
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GV-R687OC-1GD HD6870 1GB
Storage Intel 510 series 120GB SSD & Samsung F4EG HD204UI 2TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster XL2370
Case CoolerMaster RC-430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio ALC889
Power Supply Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
#11
DS4 won't be getting it, it seems like... all the others already have the BIOS out.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.88/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#12
No a sli n200 chip is not needed. The n200 chip is to "help" run tri_sli by setting the pci-e lanes 16, 8 ,8.... It took Intel to get the sli license for the x58 chip set to start the bios hacks rolling, you can hack any modern MB bios that has two or more pci-e slots for sli. Nice way to use a x48.
You have any info on SLI on X48?
 

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.18/day)
Likes
133
#13
You have any info on SLI on X48?
Never going to happen. Don't hold your breath.

The functionality is certainly there, but the "hacked BIOSes" aren't.

The only reason Nvidia allowed SLI on X58 is because they don't have any Nvidia-chipset Nehalem boards (or the license to produce them).

Allowing SLI on X58 keeps Nvidia a player in the Nehalem market, in terms of video card sales...
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.02/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#14
just wondering... why dont nvidia just get over themselves and trash their mobo chipsets and start manufacturing graphics cards properly?? I don't really mind their netbooks though...
 

nafets

New Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
611 (0.18/day)
Likes
133
#15
You have to remember Nvidia develops chipsets for both Intel and AMD processors; desktop, mobile, and embedded. It's a huge arm of Nvidia...

They have quite a bit of money invested on R&D, facilities, and workforce, just pertaining to chipsets.

There's just no way they'd drop all that and center on only GPUs.

Without Nvidia in the mix there would be a monopoly of sorts on both sides, with Intel and AMD chipsets being the only real options for their counterpart processors.

Monopoly may be a fun game, but it's never a good concept in the marketplace.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
536 (0.14/day)
Likes
41
Location
Melbourne, Australia
System Name beast
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2011
Memory 16GB Kingston Value DDR3 1333Mhz CL9
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 1GB
Storage 1x 120GB Intel 520
Display(s) 3x X243BW@5760x1080
Case Antec P182
Power Supply Antec TruePower Trio 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
#16
DS4 won't be getting it, it seems like... all the others already have the BIOS out.
ah thats a shame, all the X58-DS4 owners miss out :(


edit: I was under the impression my UD5 supported SLI from the get go, its advertised on the box and all :S
Why would they list a model with existing sli support :confused: