1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P AM3 Motherboard Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,762 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Following announcements by most motherboard manufacturers about their AM3 CPU compatibility lists, plans of motherboards based on the new DDR3-supportive platform socket have been coming to surface. After a list of eight motherboards by ASUS under the M4A and M4N series, Gigabyte's first motherboard based on the AM3 socket has been pictured. The GA-MA790FXT-UD5P is the company's first AMD motherboard that uses the Ultra Durable 3 construction, with 2-oz copper layered PCB, high-grade conductive polymer capacitors, and MOSFETs with lower RDS.

    As the name suggests, this motherboard is based on the AMD 790FX chipset. It features two full-bandwidth PCI-Express 2.0 x16 slots supporting ATI CrossfireX, four DDR3 DIMM slots supporting DDR3-1600+ MHz memory. The motherboard supports AM3 socket processors with TDP of up to 140W. A total of 10 SATA II ports are provided, six of which are routed to the SB750 southbridge, four to an additional SATA II controller. Other features are common with Gigabyte motherboards in its class, with high-quality 7.1 ch audio, two gigabit Ethernet connections, twelve USB 2.0 ports (8 external), and FireWire. Gigabyte is planning two more AM3 socket models: GA-MA770T-UD3P and GA-MA790X-UD4P based on the AMD 770 and 790X chipsets respectively.

    [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2009
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'm looking forward to reviews on AM3 stuff.

    :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    536
    Location:
    California
    First AM3 board with DDR3? And onboard Power and Reset button.
     
    WarEagleAU and CDdude55 say thanks.
  4. Silverel

    Silverel

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,773 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    ??

    The 790FX chipset should have 4 PCIe slots, 790X should have only 2...

    Aren't these supposed to be triple channel capable? Seems odd that there's 4 DIMM slots. I'd rather see 6.
     
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,508 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,054
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    wow 10 SATA ports!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,762 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, yes, no.

    No, the 790FX has 32 PCI-Express 2.0 lanes to spare towards graphics, apart from other connections and its A-Link to the southbridge. So those 32 lanes go into making two x16 slots, or four slots that, when populated, arrange as x8, x8, x8, x8; or in 3 slot boards, as x16, x8, x8.

    No, the K10.5 features a dual-channel memory controller, hence four DIMMs.
     
    Silverel and Nick89 say thanks.
  7. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Yay, been waiting for AM3.
     
  8. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Any release dates for AM3 boards yet?
     
  9. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    cool looking board. nice to finally see UD series boards for AMD. Also would be great to see a 790GX board.
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,762 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Mostly will coincide with launch of Phenom II X4 945, 925. Spring 2009 / CeBIT. Companies will keep announcing/paper-launching their AM3(with DDR3 support) boards till then.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  11. szulmizan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    AM3 board with DDR3.. that's wow for me.. i read some where the AM3 platform will only use DDR2. good news..
     
  12. ASharp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Yeah, that does seem a bit odd. As btarunr mentioned, it's entirely possible for it to have only two PCIe slots but, in a lot of cases, it's rare to see 790FX boards have only 2 PCIe slots unless it's mATX form factor or something.

    Really? It's been known for a while now that AM3 boards support DDR3. It's one of the main reasons for the change from AM2/AM2+ to AM3. :)
     
  13. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    best looking card on AM3 for now


    let the DRAGON OUT....
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2009
  14. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    +1 i was thinking the same earlier on today, AMD have been lacking in the mobo's compared to intel as of late. Very nice board.
     
  15. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    Definetly a huge bonus for AMD.
     
  16. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    This looks nice. Can't wait to see more of the AM3 boards. The 4 DIMM slots doesn't make sense to me still... an AM3 board supports DDR3, can you put DDR2 into them? I know the AM3 procs support both, so the boards will support both as well?
     
  17. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Basically it just uses DDR3 in 4 dimm configuration, just like Intel partners did with many x48 boards. You cannot put DDR2 in DDR3 slots.
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,144
    How doesn't it make sense? Dual channel DDR3. It's the same as DDR3 P45 boards. Tri-Channel is a core i7 thing, it's memory controller is designed for it. AM3's memory controller is dual-channel.
     
    Kei says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    is weird that only has 2 pcie whereas most 790 fx should have 3 or 4.

    i guess they realized that it will be more economical to put 2 since most people that do crossfire only uses 2 cards
     
  20. juan adames

    juan adames New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm still waiting for an AMD3 with nvidia support.
     
  21. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Didnt really like ASus' offerings ( I dont think I dont remember) but this looks like it may be my board :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,779 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    i support u, it looks very good. my only complaint are the floppy/ide ports placement. i would change the placement of the 24pin atx power with the ide, then it would be perfect :)
     
  23. fochkoph

    fochkoph

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Excellent looking board, hopefully the trend for AM3 continues with news like this! Hmm, buyer's remorse kicking in about my recent P5Q Pro purchase. :ohwell:
     
  24. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i wouldnt worry about that, it should be coming soon.
     
  25. szulmizan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So this board will use DDR3 with Dual Channel memory..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)