• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 Thread

VI

New Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi,
Do anyone know how much power Gigabyte EP45-UD3R board consumed during the highest OC settings? I am planning to build my own system. Just want to know what is the best PSU rating that I need to buy to reach its 80% capacity at highest system performance.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
332 (0.10/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (4.6GHz @ 1.28-1.33v)
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.C + Blue Vortex 140mm
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury White (2x8GB, DDR3-1866, 10-11-10-30, 1.5v)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage Crucial C300 128GB, WD Green 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair HX 650W
Software Win7 Ultimate (64-bit)
Dang. After installing my new hsf I keep trying to overlock my 720. The heat is not an issue (43c max on 100% load for 20mins).
Well I had 18.5x200 which is 3.7Ghz at 1.504v, seemed working for 20mins under 100% CPU and memory stress testing, but my PC just reboots in most games (randomly, from 10min to 3hours of play).
Same with 18x200 at 1.488-1.504v AND 19x200 at 1.504-1.530. Just reboots during gaming sessions.

I tried higher vcore until PC refused to boot at around 1.58v.
I just don't see what's standing inbetween me and a stable 3,7Ghz :/
Is my PSU not enough?

What should I try doing?
 
Last edited:

mrfil13

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
In my experiance you sometimes just hit the limit of the chip, i have a amd 8750 BE which gets to 3ghz very easily with just 1.3v but try an extra 100mhz and even up the voltage to 1.5 and it just reboots. Idle temps are mid 30s.

For VI i have a gigabyte 550w Odin GT which allows you to view the amps on each rail and the wattage the system is using, admitidly it won't be 100% accurate but with my amd 8750 (not OCed) 4gb ram, at 4870 GC and the ma790x ud4 it never goes beyond 300watts, at idle its about 120 watts.

Have a look on jonnygurus website, they have some very indepth reviews of PSUs and they show at what wattage the PSU hits a % efficancy.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
332 (0.10/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (4.6GHz @ 1.28-1.33v)
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.C + Blue Vortex 140mm
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury White (2x8GB, DDR3-1866, 10-11-10-30, 1.5v)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage Crucial C300 128GB, WD Green 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair HX 650W
Software Win7 Ultimate (64-bit)
I've lowered multiplier back to 3,3Ghz and started testing stability from +0v and kept raising it until that speed was stable, then raising the multiplier. This graphic will make sence of what I just said:




So I'm at 18x200, 1.504v again... and 48hours stable.. if I ever reboot I'll up the vcore more.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
332 (0.10/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (4.6GHz @ 1.28-1.33v)
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.C + Blue Vortex 140mm
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury White (2x8GB, DDR3-1866, 10-11-10-30, 1.5v)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage Crucial C300 128GB, WD Green 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair HX 650W
Software Win7 Ultimate (64-bit)
1.55v is usually top that a CPU will want. I've seen some crazy voltages like 1,68v but that's very rare to work.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
Ozpa, Are you using ACC and changing them with voltage? If so what are your settings? I get best results with +4 in Hybrid mode. The newest bios lets you select Hybrid mode. F3 2009/06/03 Its newer than F3F that your specs say.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
332 (0.10/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (4.6GHz @ 1.28-1.33v)
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.C + Blue Vortex 140mm
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury White (2x8GB, DDR3-1866, 10-11-10-30, 1.5v)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage Crucial C300 128GB, WD Green 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair HX 650W
Software Win7 Ultimate (64-bit)
No, I'm not using ACC. I just don't have enough info on it and I don't know how to use it OR if it helps at all.
My BIOS is F3F, but I see it's removed from the Gigabyte download section. F3 is newer than the one I'm using. I'll try and update my BIOS when I get more free time in case something goes wrong.
 
Last edited:

mrfil13

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
I haven't played with acc much, im on f3 bios, set it to normal and auto and thats how i hit 3ghz easily, without it i think the max was 2.8. Think the main idea is to find a point that its unstable like your 3.7 and increase the values on each core until its stable, problem is theres not enough info on it and what point is the % going abit too high.

Its a damn shame that ACC does not work in Amd overdrive, makes things easier to tweek rather than reboot, change, reboot....

Go back to the first page of this thread and goto near the bottom down to devguys post about ACC.
 
Last edited:

mrfil13

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Anyone still getting the cold boot issues?

Im on the F3 bios, no ACC at the moment or OC, kingtson 1066 set at 2.2v (did the same at 800mhz 1.8v), ati 4870 This seems to startup, no post, restart and just loops like that. Managed to get it working by holding down restart button for a few seconds and then let go.

By the way this happedned before with a different 4870 and another ud4 board (was replaced)

I may try changing the pcie speed down to 100mhz from the auto 108 and see if that helps.
 

Jickel

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
I'll return with more info as soon as I have some spare time, just throwing out the question here in the meantime:

Anyone else having problems starting (Debian-based, maybe) Linux live-CDs? I'm still on F3i, but I keep getting an incompatability error with the power scaling module. I can't remember the exact wording, but it's BIOS related and it keeps your Live-CD from booting, so you'll most certainly notice it.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Likes
79
Location
Martinez, CA
System Name Dusty's Rig // HTPC
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock) // Intel I7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe // GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H100 // CoolIT Eco R120
Memory 16 GB Team Xtreme DDR3 2400 //16 GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980 // MSI GTX 970
Storage 2xCrucial M500 (RAID 0) // 500 GB PNY SSD
Display(s) 27" LG 27EC33V-B // 60" Sharp LC-60SQ15U
Case Corsair Carbide 500R// Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z // HDMI
Power Supply Corsair TX750 // OCZ Stealthxstream 700W
Just wanted to say that I decided to try unlocking a Phenom II X2 550 and it was rather successful. Only had bump CPU voltage up to 1.39. Not only does it unlock to four cores but it overclocks to 3.6 GHz without any additional voltage thanks to the Hybrid ACC firmware. :D
 

Attachments

Queelis

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Memory Corsair CMS2 4GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4830 512MB w/ HDMI
Storage Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) Samsung T200
Case Antec Sonata Plus
Power Supply Antec NeoPower 550
Anyone still getting the cold boot issues?

Im on the F3 bios, no ACC at the moment or OC, kingtson 1066 set at 2.2v (did the same at 800mhz 1.8v), ati 4870 This seems to startup, no post, restart and just loops like that. Managed to get it working by holding down restart button for a few seconds and then let go.

By the way this happedned before with a different 4870 and another ud4 board (was replaced)

I may try changing the pcie speed down to 100mhz from the auto 108 and see if that helps.
I still do have the issue. Only I get over POST, up to Windows splash-screen, and then either black blank screen or lost signal with the VGA fan spinning up to 100%. Then reset one or more times, and eventually I get to boot.

The F3 are newer than F3i, right? Since someone wrote there was a side-effect of F3i to fix the cold boot issue with a 4830 (which is what I have), maybe it would make sense rolling back? I don't plan to overclock, at least not yet, so I couldn't care less about BIOS options, I just want it to boot when I tell it so :)
 
Last edited:

mrfil13

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Normally random reboots are PSU related, what heatsink do you have? Someone i know had a problem where the heatsink unseated the CPU slightly, last night i held the heatsink down and the system booted fine until i let go at which point it froze.
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
352 (0.11/day)
Likes
302
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
Hi, later il post some results....I can say, with this great board i have x4 955 at 3.88GHz stable with AIR cooling...
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
352 (0.11/day)
Likes
302
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
whos better stable OC? We will see...

first setings: CPU 3895MHz 2665MHz for NB, busspeed 205
second setings: CPU 3857MHz 2842MHz for NB, busspeed 203

I tried quickly some benchs and aplications

Winrar bench

CPU 3895MHz=2766KB/s


CPU 3857MHz=2764KB/s



Fritzchess bench

CPU 3895MHz= 9473 score


CPU 3857MHz= 9385 score


Superpi 4M

CPU 3895MHz= 1m 38.844s


CPU 3857MHz= 1m 39.343s


AVS video convertion

CPU 3895MHz= 2m 16s


CPU 3857MHz= 2m 17s


X264 2.0 bench HD resolution

CPU 3895MHz= average 86.565 FPS and 21.16 FPS , max temperatures, all cores 57 C

Results for x264.exe v0.58.747
encoded 1442 frames, 84.82 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 86.90 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 87.56 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 86.98 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 21.29 fps, 3952.94 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 21.12 fps, 3952.94 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 21.07 fps, 3952.94 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 21.16 fps, 3952.94 kb/s


System Details
--------------
Name AMD Phenom
Codename Deneb
Specification AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
Core Stepping
Technology 45 nm
Core Speed 3895.2 MHz (19.0 x 205.0 MHz)



CPU 3857MHz= average 85.8725FPS and 20.9475 FPS, max temperatures 3x56 C + 1x 57C

Results for x264.exe v0.58.747
encoded 1442 frames, 84.98 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 86.33 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 85.69 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 86.49 fps, 3905.23 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.92 fps, 3952.95 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.93 fps, 3952.95 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.97 fps, 3952.94 kb/s
encoded 1442 frames, 20.97 fps, 3952.94 kb/s


System Details
--------------
Name AMD Phenom
Codename Deneb
Specification AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor
Core Stepping
Technology 45 nm
Core Speed 3857.1 MHz (19.0 x 203.0 MHz)


I think, diferent is in this benchs very small, but it see, 3895MHz with 2665MHz for NB is a bit better.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
Nice job Flank3r. I have been chosing between two overclocks myself 255Bus or 205Bus. Minimal difference also. I only have a chepo CPU. I stick around 3.4GHZ and 2500NB
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
352 (0.11/day)
Likes
302
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
System Name Yonef-PC
Processor AMD Phenom II 940
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR2 1066 Mhz (5-5-5-12)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 280X
Storage Corsair Force 3 240 GB SSD + Samsung F1 1TB
Display(s) AOC 27"
Case Termaltake VJ40001W2Z
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Be-quite 650 W
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Has someone tested new BIOS F4 !?
 

Queelis

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Memory Corsair CMS2 4GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4830 512MB w/ HDMI
Storage Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) Samsung T200
Case Antec Sonata Plus
Power Supply Antec NeoPower 550
Don't have the time now, but will do that first thing in the morning. Maybe the cold boot will be fixed! *crosses fingers*
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
Bios F4 Update. Only few items changed. Still supports Normal & Hybrid ACC Firmware. Sleep now works on my overclocked system with AMD cool&quiet enabled.

Added option to enable amd C1E.
Added Amd Overdrive Support.
Better easy energy & easy tool support.
Updated cpu code.
 

Queelis

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Memory Corsair CMS2 4GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4830 512MB w/ HDMI
Storage Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) Samsung T200
Case Antec Sonata Plus
Power Supply Antec NeoPower 550
Okay, so about C1E - if I don't overclock, is it better to enable it to save power?
 

Queelis

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Memory Corsair CMS2 4GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4830 512MB w/ HDMI
Storage Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) Samsung T200
Case Antec Sonata Plus
Power Supply Antec NeoPower 550
Well, the cold boot issue has gone nowhere.