• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 Thread

Queelis

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4
Memory Corsair CMS2 4GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4830 512MB w/ HDMI
Storage Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) Samsung T200
Case Antec Sonata Plus
Power Supply Antec NeoPower 550
Pro - 8+2 power.
Con - ALC888 codec vs. ALC889a - I suppose latter is better (maybe)

Otherwise they seem identical.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Likes
79
Location
Martinez, CA
System Name Dusty's Rig // HTPC
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock) // Intel I7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe // GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H100 // CoolIT Eco R120
Memory 16 GB Team Xtreme DDR3 2400 //16 GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980 // MSI GTX 970
Storage 2xCrucial M500 (RAID 0) // 500 GB PNY SSD
Display(s) 27" LG 27EC33V-B // 60" Sharp LC-60SQ15U
Case Corsair Carbide 500R// Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z // HDMI
Power Supply Corsair TX750 // OCZ Stealthxstream 700W
I wonder what's new with F5. It's odd that F4 was taken down so quickly. Well, I just hope it resolves cool n' quiet not working when the CPU multiplier is taken off of Auto. It's a shame to have a BE CPU and not be able to take advantage of it.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
With new F5 bios I can set Memory mode 800 and overclock to DDR2 1088. 272x12.5 :rockout:

I have a crazy idea. Can someone with an unlocked CPU press F11 at main screen and save bios to a file then upload it, and I can try and load your saved bios and possibly trick my 7750 into unlocking. 7750 can be unlocked on Biostar boards. I could possibly mod/combine files into something useful. So everyone can unlock unlockable cpus. I know its crazy but may be worth a wild shot....
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
332 (0.10/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (4.6GHz @ 1.28-1.33v)
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.C + Blue Vortex 140mm
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury White (2x8GB, DDR3-1866, 10-11-10-30, 1.5v)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage Crucial C300 128GB, WD Green 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair HX 650W
Software Win7 Ultimate (64-bit)
Anyone had/having any problems with this board's sound device + microphone?
I can't get it to work with Skype, Ventrilo.

Also when I record video in games using Fraps and record sound it records the "Input" not output. On my previous PC I had I remember having "What you hear" and ".... .... output" as audio options and here it's ".... ... input" and "Default".
Well I can record audio when recording with Fraps this way, but it's weird sounding like I would put a microphone in front of my speakers.



I checked and everything is inserted in the right sockets. I read some problems with this onboard audio when googling but no solution.

Any ideas?
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Messages
36 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
I wonder what's new with F5. It's odd that F4 was taken down so quickly. Well, I just hope it resolves cool n' quiet not working when the CPU multiplier is taken off of Auto. It's a shame to have a BE CPU and not be able to take advantage of it.
FOUND This CUSTOM CoolNQuet for overclocks works great!! It runs awesome now I have my own custom power settings. This switches between high and low power very fast!! Awesome! You must have CoolNquiet Disabled in your BIOS!! Ignore the top! Only play with P-State 1 or you will mess up your bios overclock.
http://www.overclock.net/amd-cpus/551259-phenommsrtweaker-guide-custom-cool-n-quiet.html
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
332 (0.10/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (4.6GHz @ 1.28-1.33v)
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.C + Blue Vortex 140mm
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury White (2x8GB, DDR3-1866, 10-11-10-30, 1.5v)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage Crucial C300 128GB, WD Green 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair HX 650W
Software Win7 Ultimate (64-bit)
I was using the 3rd newest drivers, then I upgraded to 2nd newest drivers. I see there's even newer drivers, I'll try them I guess :banghead:
 

eleazar6

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Has anyone noticed really low temps on the F5A bios?

I got a Sunbeam core contact 92mm and my temps went waaay down, more than I thought normal. I was at 37/55c idle/load with the stock HSF, and now I'm 29/37c. This is with a 720BE @2.6ghz, 1.5v core. It seemed more normal with the F5, F6a and F7... they were around 40/55c idle/load with same settings. Did allow higher overclock, though.
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
352 (0.11/day)
Likes
302
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
its someone nnew in last 2 BIOS, better OC stability? I eman, for Phenoms II, to time i have 1.475V and 3.9GHz/2.665GHz for NB stable AIR
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
332 (0.10/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (4.6GHz @ 1.28-1.33v)
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.C + Blue Vortex 140mm
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury White (2x8GB, DDR3-1866, 10-11-10-30, 1.5v)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage Crucial C300 128GB, WD Green 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair HX 650W
Software Win7 Ultimate (64-bit)
What a great coincidence.. I prepared my PC for a BIOS upgrade but the damn Gigabyte website is down :banghead:
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
332 (0.10/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (4.6GHz @ 1.28-1.33v)
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.C + Blue Vortex 140mm
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury White (2x8GB, DDR3-1866, 10-11-10-30, 1.5v)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage Crucial C300 128GB, WD Green 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair HX 650W
Software Win7 Ultimate (64-bit)
Ok upgraded to F5 and tried the Realtek R2.30 HD drivers - no change :banghead:

People who reported better OC stability, do you OC with ACC?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
Czech Republic
Processor AMD Phenom II 940BE @ 3636MHz (1.424V), NB 2626, HT 1818
Motherboard GA-MA790X-UD4 F3 + SLIC
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-U12P, INTAKE + OUTAKE: 2x octua P12-1300@900 RPM
Memory Kingston HyperX 2×2GB 1066 @ 1078MHz 5-5-5-15 T2 2.15V
Video Card(s) Gainward 4850 GoesLikeHell 512MB DDR5 @ 750 /4000 MHz
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F1 1TB, 32MB, 7200ot. + Schythe Himuro
Display(s) Samsung 2232BW 22″, 2ms, 1000:1, 1680×1050 + optical sond calibration
Case Thermaltake Soprano RS101 + Akasa AK-PAX-2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi X-treme Music 7.1, 24 Bit, PCI
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600W
Software Windows Vista x86 SP2, Windows 7 PRO x64
Im OCing my PII 940BE without ACC, because in BIOS F3 was no difference and thermal sensor of CORE temp didnt work. Maybe this is fixed in F5, but still better OC capabilities is big question
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
352 (0.11/day)
Likes
302
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
we will see, i dont now test it, because i have all profiles good tweaking and save in BIOS. With new flash il lost all saves setings :(...
 

mrfil13

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Does AMD overdrive pick up acc now with the F5? Ive just got my MB back as it was faulty (3rd time lucky) so not had chance to test yet, also anyone been able to get a change log for the f5?
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
44 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
System Name Yonef-PC
Processor AMD Phenom II 940
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 2x2GB Corsair DDR2 1066 Mhz (5-5-5-12)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 280X
Storage Corsair Force 3 240 GB SSD + Samsung F1 1TB
Display(s) AOC 27"
Case Termaltake VJ40001W2Z
Audio Device(s) Logitech G35
Power Supply Be-quite 650 W
Software Windows 8.1 x64
OK, this is my first and last time buying Gigabyte :(
I got GA-MA790X-UD4 v1.0 MB, and since then I had numerous problems with it.
1) On BIOS F1,F2 ACC is not working at all.
2) ON BIOS F3,F4,F5, PC couldn't boot if Virtualization is enabled. Cold boot is not possible when ACC is enabled (need to press reset button to boot). When booted with ACC system BSOD when I run Prime 95 (on stock CPU clock)
3) Default CPU voltages are too high on BIOS F2A and onwards. Gigabyte support team said that it is done to improve OC. (shocked) How LAME! If someone wants to OC will increase vcore from the bios!!! There is no need to be rised by default!
4)There is no propper CPU fan PWM control (my biggest problem). I have to have installed windows to get my CPU fan controlled by ET6. What if I run linux ? All oher brands MBs I had had a PWM controll in BIOS to keep CPU fan at low RPM and they had an option to set exact RPM you want when CPU is under certain temp. On gigabyte there is no such option and my CPU fan spins at 2300 RPM wich is unecessery loud. I have to boot in Windows to spin it down to 1400 RPM. And this is not the worst part: When gaming, my CPU fan spins up to 2800 RPM for 10 sec. and then back to normal with no reason, CPU temp did not exceed 50C. It happens randomly! I have contacted support team and they said that they working on the problem since F2 BIOS, now F5 is out and it still did not solve this issue.
5) CPU temps rise by ~10C with BIOS F2a onwards. (what the hell). My CPU idleing at 40C (stock clock, undervolted to 1.2V) !!!! Reaches low 60C in 1 min. on prime. On F2a BIOS it hardly reaches 45C
6) onboard sound card is RUBBISH. Sound is very low quality, crackling all the time when ET6 is loaded. I have to close ET6 to get better sound quality BUT then my CPU fans is irritating me! Again gigabyte team said that they know about this issue and working on it since F2a BIOS - still nothing!! I bought external sound card for £10 and it outputs way better sound than onboard one! partially solved this issue, but the problem with the fan that spins up and down drives me mad.
This is the worst MB I ever had.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
332 (0.10/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (4.6GHz @ 1.28-1.33v)
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems Rev.C + Blue Vortex 140mm
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury White (2x8GB, DDR3-1866, 10-11-10-30, 1.5v)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage Crucial C300 128GB, WD Green 2TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2420T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair HX 650W
Software Win7 Ultimate (64-bit)
4) Yea there's no PWM control in BIOS :( but my CPU fan works great. Speeds up as the CPU gets hotter etc. Right now it's at 1650rpm @ 39c.
5) I noticed my temperature rose about 5-7c after I upgraded from F2f to F5 too. At 100% load it gets to about 45c max.
6) Agreed, onboard sound is B U L L S H I T :mad: (when buying my future motherboard I'll be sure it's not with Realtek soundcrap)
 

mrfil13

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
41 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Well im just about to send back my 3rd ud4. The first 2 lasted less than a week before i had to send it back, this one was DOA. I liked the board while it worked but im a little ticked off now.

The fan control never really bothered me, i like it been on full whack at boot then to use something like speedfan to adjust the fan speeds to how i like it, there were 2 fan headers you can adjust via voltage control. But if your using linux i can't help.
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
352 (0.11/day)
Likes
302
Location
czech republic
System Name AMD forever, AMD overclocker
Processor Athlon 3000+ Venice, Athlon x2 4600+ EE Windsor,x4 955 BE@3.9GHz AIR, X4 965 BE, x4 970 BE, x6 1090T
Motherboard Asus C5F-Z, Asus C5F, Asus C4E, Asus C4F, Asus RIIIE, Asus R4E, Asus M5F, Asus M6F, Asus M7H,
Cooling Corsair H100, Swiftech H220, CM Hyper 212, Xigmatek 1283 DK+Ultra Kaze, CM V6GT, Noctua NHD14
Memory Kingston Hyper X, 1600 A-Data 2000x, Corsair Dominator GT 2000 MHz, GSkill TridentX 2400MHz, HyperX
Video Card(s) HD3870 512MB GDDR4, HD5770 1024MB GDDR5, ATI HD4870, HD 6870 GDDR5, HD 7870,Radeon R9-270X
Storage 2x 320GB WD+Samsung, 1x 500 GB Samsung, SSD X-25, SSD HyperX, SSD Seagate, SSD Corsair GT
Display(s) BenQ 24" 24XL
Case HAF 922, Aspire X-Cruiser, benchtable Wroom
Power Supply Seasonic 500W and Seasonic 650W, Corsair AX 1200W, Zalman Goldrock 750, Galaxy OC edition 1200W
Software x64 win 7 and x86 Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores you rather I do not want to see .. :-D !!!Thuban coming soon, new secret Gigabyte mobo too !!!
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
Czech Republic
Processor AMD Phenom II 940BE @ 3636MHz (1.424V), NB 2626, HT 1818
Motherboard GA-MA790X-UD4 F3 + SLIC
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-U12P, INTAKE + OUTAKE: 2x octua P12-1300@900 RPM
Memory Kingston HyperX 2×2GB 1066 @ 1078MHz 5-5-5-15 T2 2.15V
Video Card(s) Gainward 4850 GoesLikeHell 512MB DDR5 @ 750 /4000 MHz
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F1 1TB, 32MB, 7200ot. + Schythe Himuro
Display(s) Samsung 2232BW 22″, 2ms, 1000:1, 1680×1050 + optical sond calibration
Case Thermaltake Soprano RS101 + Akasa AK-PAX-2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi X-treme Music 7.1, 24 Bit, PCI
Power Supply Seasonic SS-600HT 600W
Software Windows Vista x86 SP2, Windows 7 PRO x64
flashed to F5 bios, and no improvements from bios F3 for me. OC is the same
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
343 (0.10/day)
Likes
79
Location
Martinez, CA
System Name Dusty's Rig // HTPC
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock) // Intel I7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97 Deluxe // GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Corsair H100 // CoolIT Eco R120
Memory 16 GB Team Xtreme DDR3 2400 //16 GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980 // MSI GTX 970
Storage 2xCrucial M500 (RAID 0) // 500 GB PNY SSD
Display(s) 27" LG 27EC33V-B // 60" Sharp LC-60SQ15U
Case Corsair Carbide 500R// Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z // HDMI
Power Supply Corsair TX750 // OCZ Stealthxstream 700W
flashed to F5 bios, and no improvements from bios F3 for me. OC is the same
Well your OC is still better than what I could accomplish with a 940. I was only able to manage 3.5 GHz at 1.425 vcore. I could boot Windows at 3.6 GHz but within one minute of Prime95 stressing, I'd get a blue screen.

Has anyone had any ethernet issues? Recently, my ethernet disappeared in my Device Manager. At first I thought it was completely dead so I hooked it into an old 10/100 Linksys switch. When I would reboot, the ethernet would reappear. The moment I brought it back to my gigabit router though, it would disappear again. So I finally reduced the speed to 100 Mb and hooked it back to my gigabit router. It is recognized on that router now. I don't like being limited in my transfer speeds, so I recently purchased a cheap ethernet card. Anyway, it's really an annoying issue and I am quite curious if I'm the only one who has experienced this.