• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gigabyte GTX770 4GB boot / graphic problems.

Simon998

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2013
Messages
18
Likes
5
Location
N. Ireland.
System Name Synister.
Processor Intel i5 3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.8GHz 1.288v [100MHz x 48.0] Delidded & Lapped.
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Corsair H100i, 4 x Corsair SP120, 4 x Corsair AF120, 2 x GELID WING 140mm's
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB (2 x 8GB) 1600MHz @ 1800MHz CL9
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 770 4GB OC Windforce 3.
Storage Corsair Force 3 GT 120GB, 2 x WD Green RAID1
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2410
Case Corsair 400r
Power Supply Corsair TX750M V2 Modular
Software Windows 8 Pro
#1
Hey,
I bought a Gigabyte GTX770 4GB Windforce 3 graphics card when I was in the states a couple of weeks ago and since installing it it has made my PC hang on boot. It happens straight away as soon as I press the button then after exactly 90 seconds it throws up a glitched BIOS boot-screen logo and boots into Windows (8) almost instantly.

I've reset the BIOS, tryed the card in the 8X PCI-E slot, reverting back to the non-beta Nvidea driver set and various other things to no avail.

The only other thing I've noticed wrong with the card once it's booted happens whilst playing ARMA2 in Chernorus. The grass would sometimes flicker from a light mauve colour to the normal green and back repeatedly.

Any ideas? Perhaps should I RMA the card?

Many thanks.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,936
Likes
5,044
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#2
What's your system specs? What PSU do you have to power it? I have the same card but 2GB and it's been an amazing card! No issues at all. But I'd consider RMA if you know your PSU is capable of powering that beast of a card.

Have you considered turning fast boot off in BIOS to see if that changes the issue or maybe allows the card to load correctly? Just a thought..I have a feeling towards a bunk card or a stressed PSU.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,725
Likes
26,162
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#3
Do you have another card to try in your system, and can you try your 770 in another system? It'll help to narrow down whether it's the card at fault.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
731
Likes
87
System Name WhiteWalker2020 / LAN Box
Processor Intel i7 6900K 4.4GHz / 2500K i5@4.5GHz
Motherboard MSI X99A Krait / Gigabyte Z68-UD3P
Cooling Full custom liquid / XIGMATEK HDT-Aegir
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3000MHz/ 4x4GB G. Skill DDR1866 Sniper
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SSC / EVGA GTX 960
Storage 950 Pro 512GB M.2, 960GB SanDisk Ultra II, Intel 730 480GB and 240GB, 850 EVO 250GB, 17TB Mechanical
Display(s) 39" AMH 399A (no glass) UHD + 2x Dell 22" LED S-IPS 1080p / LG 37" 1080p S-IPS
Case Thermaltake Core x9 / HAF 932 Red
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD-Audio On-Board
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850W / Corsair 650TX
Mouse 2x Logitech 610
Keyboard Razer DeathStalker / Logitech G910 Orion Spark RGB Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 7 64bit Professional
#4
There are a good chunk of people having to update their BIOS for the 7xx series cards. I noticed this in the newegg reviews section as I might be getting a similar card when BF4 hits.
 

Simon998

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2013
Messages
18
Likes
5
Location
N. Ireland.
System Name Synister.
Processor Intel i5 3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.8GHz 1.288v [100MHz x 48.0] Delidded & Lapped.
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Corsair H100i, 4 x Corsair SP120, 4 x Corsair AF120, 2 x GELID WING 140mm's
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB (2 x 8GB) 1600MHz @ 1800MHz CL9
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 770 4GB OC Windforce 3.
Storage Corsair Force 3 GT 120GB, 2 x WD Green RAID1
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2410
Case Corsair 400r
Power Supply Corsair TX750M V2 Modular
Software Windows 8 Pro
#5
Intel i5 3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.8GHz 1.30v [100MHz x 48.0] Delidded & Lapped.
MSI Z77A-G45
Corsair H100i, 4 x Corsair SP120, 4 x Corsair AF120, 2 x GELID WING 140mm's
Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB (2 x 8GB) 1600MHz @ 1800MHz CL9
GIGABYTE GTX 770 4GB OC Windforce 3
Corsair Force 3 GT 120GB, 2 x WD Green RAID1
Corsair 400r
Corsair TX750M Enthusiast Series V2 Modular

I've tried it with my old GTX460 and an old GTX280 and it works's fine. I'll perhaps try updating the BIOS.
 

Simon998

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2013
Messages
18
Likes
5
Location
N. Ireland.
System Name Synister.
Processor Intel i5 3570K 3.4GHz @ 4.8GHz 1.288v [100MHz x 48.0] Delidded & Lapped.
Motherboard MSI Z77A-G45
Cooling Corsair H100i, 4 x Corsair SP120, 4 x Corsair AF120, 2 x GELID WING 140mm's
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB (2 x 8GB) 1600MHz @ 1800MHz CL9
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 770 4GB OC Windforce 3.
Storage Corsair Force 3 GT 120GB, 2 x WD Green RAID1
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2410
Case Corsair 400r
Power Supply Corsair TX750M V2 Modular
Software Windows 8 Pro
#6
There are a good chunk of people having to update their BIOS for the 7xx series cards. I noticed this in the newegg reviews section as I might be getting a similar card when BF4 hits.
Updated the BIOS, redone my Overclocks and wayhey it's fixed.

Thank you sir.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
246
Likes
46
Location
Pakistan
System Name The N Machinima
Processor Core i5 2500 (2nd Gen)
Motherboard MSI P67A GD65 B3
Cooling CM V6 GT
Memory Corsair dominator 2x2GB 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 760 windforce 3x
Storage Seagate 500GB/WD 500GB HDDs
Display(s) Samsung 22 Inch 1080p
Case CM 690 PLUS
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair GS 800
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores http://i.imgur.com/0O79u7Z.jpg
#7
good to hear that your problem is solved.

good luck with updated BIOS