• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE Hacked, Attackers Threaten to Leak Confidential Intel, AMD, AMI Documents

Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
3,057 (3.14/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
No more crappy RGB Fusion because all of it's code is fixed and integrated into software as OpenRGB or SignalRGB? Would probably be the most useful thing.
I don't understand why they won't implement those controls on the BIOS level. It's already stored in it, why do we have to install additional software?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
422 (0.46/day)
Location
The New England region of the United States
System Name Daily Driver(gaming, browsing)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming B450M-Pro S(Temporary) Gigabyte X570 Aurus Pro Wifi(Open RMA)
Cooling Corsair H60 w/Nidec GentleTyphoon
Memory 16GB(2x8) G.Skill FlareX DDR4-3200C14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB (Boot/OS)|Samsung 980 1TB (Games)|2 x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB & 500GB (Misc)
Display(s) Gigabyte G27F
Case Corsair Graphite 600T w/mesh side
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z625 2.1 | cheapo gaming headset when mic is needed
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Redragon M808-KS Storm Pro (Great Value)
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux - Blue on Black
VR HMD Nope
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Nope
The consumer who needs support is getting extra screwed by this! The pandemic obviously doesn't make things easy to begin with, this just makes it much worse.

My X570 Aorus Pro WiFi died what seems like a month ago. It basically was working fine in the morning, shut it down and came back 8 hours later and it is dead. I explained this plus troubleshooting details to Gigabyte support and got a reply five days later with a recommendation to try QFlash. I did, it made no difference. I replied with the result, expecting an RMA. That was more than 10 days ago. This last weekend I decided to check the support portal, maybe I missed an email. There was no portal. Just a page that refuses to load. There still isn't a portal today.

I'm looking for at least a temporary replacement board now. It won't be a Gigabyte. This is the second board in a row from them that failed in warranty and the last one was a few years ago. Way before the pandemic and it still took them a week to respond. Piss poor support and products that fail after a year or two do not make a good combination.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2020
Messages
79 (0.26/day)
System Name Incomplete thing 1.0
Processor Ryzen 2600
Motherboard B450 Aorus Elite
Cooling Gelid Phantom Black
Memory HyperX Fury RGB 3200 CL16 16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 2060 Gaming OC PRO
Storage Dual 1TB 970evo
Display(s) AOC G2U 1440p 144hz, HP e232
Case CM mb511 RGB
Audio Device(s) Reloop ADM-4
Power Supply Sharkoon WPM-600
Mouse G502 Hero
Keyboard Sharkoon SGK3 Blue
Software W10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 2-5% over stock scores
I don't understand why they won't implement those controls on the BIOS level. It's already stored in it, why do we have to install additional software?
Well it's implemented on my motherboard atleast, but due to limitations it can only control your motherboard RGB + anything on the 3/4 pin. Not any GPU or RAM hence why you'd use the additional software. Besides that it's simply much easier to control it via your OS rather than having to go to the UEFI each time just to change lights. A simpler solution is just to get software that control everyones RGB stuff, no need for software for each brand.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2021
Messages
49 (0.27/day)
Well it's implemented on my motherboard atleast, but due to limitations it can only control your motherboard RGB + anything on the 3/4 pin. Not any GPU or RAM hence why you'd use the additional software. Besides that it's simply much easier to control it via your OS rather than having to go to the UEFI each time just to change lights. A simpler solution is just to get software that control everyones RGB stuff, no need for software for each brand.
Fine grained RGB Control in the BIOS would be awesome for those running other OSes other than Windows. Linux and another unnamed OS from a very popular lifestyle company company don’t have RGB fusion, and therefore such users need to briefly load Windows merely to tweak/set RGB controls.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
208 (0.12/day)
Location
behind you
Processor Threadripper 1950X (4.0 GHz OC)
Motherboard ASRock X399 Professional Gaming
Cooling Enermax Liqtech TR4
Memory 48GB DDR4 2934MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080, GTX 660TI
Storage 2TB Western Digital HDD, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD, 280GB Intel Optane 900P
Display(s) 2x 1920x1200
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M (1000W)
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2
Software Windows 10
Such a leak would be awesome for the developer community, to better support existing hardware
That's an understatement. Imagine the full source code of a video BIOS getting leaked! Maybe even the elusive microcode. Or the source and secret bits running the Intel ME privacy and security nightmare, or the System Management Mode black box. A fully open source machine running the latest hardware. No more binary blobs! It would be revolutionary.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,019 (3.61/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Imagine the full source code of a video BIOS getting leaked!
Gigabyte doesn't have access to that. I know that for a fact. Not to other things you mentioned either (I'm fairly sure)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
2,303 (1.36/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX3060 12GB (https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/d6y4u)
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV272U (DisplayPort) and HP 2311x (DVI/HDMI)
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
No more crappy RGB Fusion because all of it's code is fixed and integrated into software as OpenRGB or SignalRGB? Would probably be the most useful thing.
Yes, please. This needs to happen. RGBFusion is a train wreck of a program.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
208 (0.12/day)
Location
behind you
Processor Threadripper 1950X (4.0 GHz OC)
Motherboard ASRock X399 Professional Gaming
Cooling Enermax Liqtech TR4
Memory 48GB DDR4 2934MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080, GTX 660TI
Storage 2TB Western Digital HDD, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD, 280GB Intel Optane 900P
Display(s) 2x 1920x1200
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M (1000W)
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 MK.2
Software Windows 10
Gigabyte doesn't have access to that. I know that for a fact. Not to other things you mentioned either (I'm fairly sure)
Well what would they have from Intel that requires an NDA? Intel is very open with their specifications.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,019 (3.61/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Well what would they have from Intel that requires an NDA? Intel is very open with their specifications.
Yeah Intel is indeed the most open company in that regard, my developer NDA has lots of interesting stuff, very forward looking, too. and it's extremely useful to make my software perform great on the product that Intel sells. Not sure why so many other companies are so paranoid about providing support.

But Intel certainly isn't giving out the keys to the kingdom, i.e. ME sources, or the signing keys. UEFI BIOS sources are available, but there isn't much there that's relevant for security.
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
5,177 (0.98/day)
Location
Tennessee
System Name R9 / R7
Processor AMD Ryzen R9 5950X / AMD Ryzen R9 3950X
Motherboard MSI MEG X570 ACE AM4 / Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite AM4
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 chromax.black
Memory Crucial Ballistix 64GB 3200 MHz DDR4 / Crucial Ballistix 32GB 3200 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) AsRock RX 6900 XT(XH) OC Formula / PowerColor Red Devil RX 6900 XT(XH) Ultimate
Case Fractal Define R7 / BeQuiet 900
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME PX-850, 850W 80+ Platinum, Full Modular
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Strange how Gigabyte made negative comments about China, and now they have been hacked.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
16,394 (3.16/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->LG B9 OLED/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard 1991 IBM Model M (Second Generation White Label Part #1391401)
Software Gentoo Linux x64
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Such a leak would be awesome for the developer community, to better support existing hardware
Yep, I don't view this as a bad thing at all. It will also poke more holes in hardware security than swiss cheese, which will make me laugh at least.

Death penalty.
Nah. If they leak this, I'm gonna state it outright: They ain't heroes because the means to get this data was nefarious, but nor am I going to ask for a harsh sentence. These guys just did wonders for my work.

Gigabyte doesn't have access to that. I know that for a fact. Not to other things you mentioned either (I'm fairly sure)
They wouldn't. They are generally blobbed into the bios with the assembly tools.

Or the source and secret bits running the Intel ME privacy and security nightmare
We've unpacked the ME by now, there isn't much secret about it left. Just the keys to sign and run it.
 
Last edited:
Top