• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE Outs Corrective BIOS Update for GeForce GTX 670 WindForce 3X OC

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,807 (8.50/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
Apparently, GIGABYTE's GeForce GTX 670 WindForce 3X OC graphics card (model: GV-N670OC-2GD) is riddled with stability issues that can only be corrected with a graphics card BIOS update. The stability issues apparently relate to the way the GPU is addressing overclocked Hynix GDDR5 memory chips. The company released a pair of BIOS files, version F4 based on NVIDIA source BIOS 80.04.31.00.58 and version F12 based on NVIDIA source BIOS 80.04.31.00.09. The two were posted recently, but are date-stamped 13-Jul-2012. The two don't change the clock speeds the card ships with: 980 MHz core, 1058 MHz GPU Boost, and 6.00 GHz memory. Graphics card BIOS updating is a trickier process than motherboard BIOS updates, and you need to be really sure what you're doing. Find the BIOS files, and related documentation in the link below.



DOWNLOAD: BIOS updates for GV-N670OC-2GD

View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,807 (8.50/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B450-E Gaming
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GameRock
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Cooler Master MWE Gold 650W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
Many Thanks to Dj-ElectriC for the tip.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
4,539 (1.33/day)
To verify, i have updated my own GTX670 Windforce Edition and artifacts at diablo III were solved!
as-well as driver crashes btw.
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
1,024 (0.37/day)
Location
New Jersey, USA
System Name Current Rig
Processor Intel i7 920 oc to 3.5ghz
Motherboard MSI x58 Platinum
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory G.Skill 6gb ddr3 1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC WindForce 3X GV-N670OC-2GD
Storage Samsung EVO SSD
Display(s) Viewsonic 1440x900 5ms
Case CoolMaster HAF 932
Power Supply Coolmax 950w
Software Win 7 64bit
To verify, i have updated my own GTX670 Windforce Edition and artifacts at diablo III were solved!
as-well as driver crashes btw.
I've gotten such great overclocking from my card that I'm on the fence whether or not to update. I have not noticed any stability issues whatsoever. :twitch:

Thanks for the news btarunr.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
4,539 (1.33/day)
Theoreticly OC abilities should not change, you can always backup the old one and just try :)
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
541 (0.12/day)
Location
Melbourne, Australia
System Name beast
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P SE2011
Memory 16GB Kingston Value DDR3 1333Mhz CL9
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 1GB
Storage 1x 120GB Intel 520
Display(s) 3x X243BW@5760x1080
Case Antec P182
Power Supply Antec TruePower Trio 650
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
I had to DOA a dozen of these cards a couple of months ago due to BIOS issues.
The issue encountered wasn't a stability problem but a problem where when the cards installed were loaded to the OS desktop (never before or during setup and always after) the fans would run 70%+ speeds constant (LOUD), drivers or not.. on various platforms. In each instance this occurred i changed to EVGA cards which fixed the issue.

I haven't really handled these since then but believe that problem is long gone now.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,753 (0.43/day)
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor Intel 7940x
Motherboard Asrock X299 Gaming i9
Cooling Corsair H150i
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Zotac AMP RTX 2080 Ti
Storage 4TB PciE NVMe Storage
Display(s) Asus P27UQ
Case Corsair HAF120
Audio Device(s) JBL 30X
Power Supply Seasonic Titanium 1000W
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
I have a pair of these, they run ice cold and quiet. Haven't had much problems with them though...might have to boot up the new vga bios when I get home...
 

helloWorld

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.06/day)
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
How do I know if I need F4 or F12?
 

helloWorld

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.06/day)
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
Edit.

If you want to do this, just download their VGA@BIOS software, and it will tell you which version of the BIOS you have. For instance, mine was F1, so I downloaded F4, per their guide, if you follow the link "How to reflash bios?"

After you download the new BIOS and extract it, preferably to the desktop, just run VGA@BIOS, click Flash when the main screen appears, choose the newly downloaded BIOS, and wait for it to finish.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
290 (0.09/day)
System Name IntelSLI Z370 KEW's Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 8770K @ 4.9GHz 1.290V
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 7
Cooling Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 360 TT Premium Edition
Memory G.Skill TridenZ RGB 32GB 3000Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP Edition 11 GB GDDR5X in SLI
Storage Samsung Evo 256 GB SSD + G.Skill Phoenix III 120GB SDD + 9TB HDD
Display(s) 3x Asus PG278Q in Surround Mode
Case Thermaltake View 71 TG RGB
Audio Device(s) Built-in Audio Sound BlasterX 720°
Power Supply Cooler Master V1200W 80 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Please notify here if you have successfully updated the bios. Waiting for the result. :)
 

helloWorld

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.06/day)
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
Oh sorry. Using the instructions I posted, it was successful. I am posting using the computer that has the flashed 670 right now actually.

Edit. The whole process literally took less than two minutes and the great part is, it flashes it right in Windows and all you have to do is restart and DONE.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
290 (0.09/day)
System Name IntelSLI Z370 KEW's Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 8770K @ 4.9GHz 1.290V
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 7
Cooling Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 360 TT Premium Edition
Memory G.Skill TridenZ RGB 32GB 3000Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP Edition 11 GB GDDR5X in SLI
Storage Samsung Evo 256 GB SSD + G.Skill Phoenix III 120GB SDD + 9TB HDD
Display(s) 3x Asus PG278Q in Surround Mode
Case Thermaltake View 71 TG RGB
Audio Device(s) Built-in Audio Sound BlasterX 720°
Power Supply Cooler Master V1200W 80 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Oh sorry. Using the instructions I posted, it was successful. I am posting using the computer that has the flashed 670 right now actually.

Edit. The whole process literally took less than two minutes and the great part is, it flashes it right in Windows and all you have to do is restart and DONE.
Thanks for the info. Will try to flash it when I get home.
 

starstarman

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
I flashed mine to F4 but it didn't solve the issue on my card, as I am still forced to run it at PCI-E 2.0 or 1.0. Running at 3.0 will cause serious stability issue, e.g. driver crashes, screen freezing, system halt etc.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
69 (0.02/day)
I'm having serious issues with mine even after Bios upgrade to F4. I can run games for between 30 seconds and 20 minutes before I get a black screen crash and have to use task manager to close the game. Gigabyte Tech Support are prompt with their replies but their replies are devoid of any useful information, they didn't even tell me about the problem with the old bios. They've now told me to RMA it to my retailer who I know are going to shove it in a machine, fire it up, test for ten seconds and say it's fine then charge me testing fees :(

How do I go about downgrading my PCI-E lane to 2.0? That's one thing I didn't try (and I tried alot, about 40 hours worth of trying to solve this issue). I've got an Asus Maximus V Gene, would it just be a bios option (cant check cause I'm at work)?
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
4,539 (1.33/day)
Have you tried the F12 BIOS?

And yes there should be a an option in your BIOS for switching the PCIE Gen between 2 and 3
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
69 (0.02/day)
I havent tried F12. The gigabyte website says only to use F12 if your current version is F10 (or it might be F11). As mine was F1 they said use F4.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
69 (0.02/day)
I flashed mine to F4 but it didn't solve the issue on my card, as I am still forced to run it at PCI-E 2.0 or 1.0. Running at 3.0 will cause serious stability issue, e.g. driver crashes, screen freezing, system halt etc.
You aren't, by chance, using an i5 3570K on an Asus Maximus V Gene MB with your GTX 670 are you?
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
888 (0.32/day)
Location
US
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz (Running at 2933)
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW2 GTX 1070Ti
Storage 740GB of SSDs, 7 TB's of HDDs
Display(s) LG 27UD58P-B 27” IPS 4K
Case Phanteks Enthos Pro M
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA 750 P2
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard G Skill Ripjaws RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
which one do i download if my version is GV-N670OC-2GD.F2?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
290 (0.09/day)
System Name IntelSLI Z370 KEW's Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 8770K @ 4.9GHz 1.290V
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Z370 Gaming 7
Cooling Thermaltake Floe Riing RGB 360 TT Premium Edition
Memory G.Skill TridenZ RGB 32GB 3000Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP Edition 11 GB GDDR5X in SLI
Storage Samsung Evo 256 GB SSD + G.Skill Phoenix III 120GB SDD + 9TB HDD
Display(s) 3x Asus PG278Q in Surround Mode
Case Thermaltake View 71 TG RGB
Audio Device(s) Built-in Audio Sound BlasterX 720°
Power Supply Cooler Master V1200W 80 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
888 (0.32/day)
Location
US
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz (Running at 2933)
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW2 GTX 1070Ti
Storage 740GB of SSDs, 7 TB's of HDDs
Display(s) LG 27UD58P-B 27” IPS 4K
Case Phanteks Enthos Pro M
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply EVGA 750 P2
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard G Skill Ripjaws RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
1,024 (0.37/day)
Location
New Jersey, USA
System Name Current Rig
Processor Intel i7 920 oc to 3.5ghz
Motherboard MSI x58 Platinum
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory G.Skill 6gb ddr3 1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC WindForce 3X GV-N670OC-2GD
Storage Samsung EVO SSD
Display(s) Viewsonic 1440x900 5ms
Case CoolMaster HAF 932
Power Supply Coolmax 950w
Software Win 7 64bit
Seems as thought stability fixes have not been fixed.

Can anyone comment if overclocking has improved with this updated BIOS?
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2010
Messages
4,539 (1.33/day)
I cannot say anything about overclocking but my GTX670 WF X3 just became useable again thanks to the update.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
69 (0.02/day)
Now i can buy it.
I wouldn't if I was you. It seems to be lucky dip at the moment if the card will work with your system. If it doesn't and you try to RMA it then you'll end up like me with a card that's now cost me £360 and still doesn't work. First and definately the last time I ever buy anything Gigabyte!

Further info:

Just been on the Gigabyte forum. Apparently it is indeed a problem when running PCI-E 3.0 on a 16x Lane. The problem affects some but not all cards (so it is indeed lucky dip), they haven't solved the issue on the faulty cards with the bios update. Those with a faulty card can either change to PCI-E 2.0 or use an 8x Lane, neither of which will bottleneck a single GTX 670. Or you could try faulting it to your retailer but good luck with that!

I've also seen talk that it's not just affecting this card. Apparently some GTX 680 models from other manufacturers are having the very same issue.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
I have 670 OC on P8P67 and 2500k, and none problems , card runin ice cold and silent, 6-7 hours wow, 3-4 hours bf3 , everything fine. Should i update bios or not touch if it's working ?
 
Top