• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte R9280 OC-3GD (rev. 2.0) "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered"

tomek7

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi Guys,

I was wondering is someone could help me. I have recently changed my Saphire Radeon 6850, to r9 280x and every time I try to play chivalry it crashes on the starting menu with a message:

"Display driver stopped responding and has recovered"

I tried to clean old drivers using cc cleaner, I updated my MB BIOS to the latest one, switched off Aero and it is still not working. In Windows everything is ok, also when I run the test with GPU-Z. I bought this card used with 18 month warranty, could it be a problem with my hardware? Please help!

Windows 8.1 Pro
PC Case Fractal Design (R3 I think)
Antec TP 550W (see screen)
Asus M5A78L/USB3 AMD Socket AM3+ 8 Channel HD Audio ATX Motherboard
AMD Athlon II X3 455 3.3GHz Socket AM3 Retail Boxed Processor
Gigabyte Radeon R9 280X 3GB GV-R928XOC-3GD Rev 2.0
G-Skill 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX Memory Kit CL9 (9-9-9-24) 1.5V
MAXTOR HDD 500GB
Samsung SSD 128GB
Samsung SyncMaster SA350 (full HD)
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,683 (2.69/day)
Likes
1,998
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#2
have you tried the other driver?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,406 (5.42/day)
Likes
9,579
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#3
have you tried the other driver?
+1

Clean the drivers off, reinstall the latest WHQL driver, and ensure you don't have an overclock set up through any software. Display Driver crash is usually down to instability. If a non-beta driver doesn't work properly either, and you're certain the card is running @ stock, then RMA it.

Also your PSU is slightly worrying. 45A split over 4 rails.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#4
Hi

Was the windows OS prepaired before installing the r9 280x?
[Catalyst Driver was removed using express uninstall with Saphire Radeon 6850 still installed]

general info and trouble shooting here

atb

Law-II
 

tomek7

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
I forgot to uninstall old drivers before changing my graphics card (I know rookie mistake) After I spot this I used Driver Cleaner Pro, CC Cleaner and Registry easy.

I tried drivers from gigabyte website for my card which were 13.X, now I am running on 14.4
How do I uninstall WHQL driver? Where do I find it?

I did not overclock my card I think in the attached screen-shot you can see that card is on standard clock. I put a new Bios to my card, see attached (but it is still playing up)

I did think about my PSU, but when I do the test in GPU-z everything is fine?! later this week I will have a chance to put this card into my fridns PC witch better PSU.

What if I install windows on a different hard driver to see if this is problem with drivers, will this work?
 

Attachments

Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
138 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name URBAN303
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 3
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 16GB (4x4) Kingston Hyper-X Beast 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) (Crossfire Sapphire R9 280X Tri-X OC) 1150/1700
Storage WD 500GB Sata3 + WD 1TO Sata3 + WD 1TO Sata3 + Seagate 250GB Sata2
Display(s) 2x BenQ GL2250 Led (21.5") + 1x BenQ GL2250HM Led (21.5")
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair RM 1000 - 1000W 80+Gold
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bits
#6
I forgot to uninstall old drivers before changing my graphics card (I know rookie mistake) After I spot this I used Driver Cleaner Pro, CC Cleaner and Registry easy.

I tried drivers from gigabyte website for my card which were 13.X, now I am running on 14.4
How do I uninstall WHQL driver? Where do I find it?

I did not overclock my card I think in the attached screen-shot you can see that card is on standard clock. I put a new Bios to my card, see attached (but it is still playing up)

I did think about my PSU, but when I do the test in GPU-z everything is fine?! later this week I will have a chance to put this card into my fridns PC witch better PSU.

What if I install windows on a different hard driver to see if this is problem with drivers, will this work?
Hi! Tomek ;)

To cleanly uninstall your AMD Catalyst drivers use " amd_cleanup_util_1.2.1.0.exe " utility.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,893 (0.77/day)
Likes
890
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.3GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb & Gskill TridentX 16Gb 9-10-9-28 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 16299.192]
#7
Hi

now I am running on 14.4 How do I uninstall WHQL driver? Where do I find it?
Look here

I did not overclock my card I think in the attached screen-shot you can see that card is on standard clock. I put a new Bios to my card, see attached (but it is still playing up)
Why would you do this? vbios update is the very last possible resort; oh well, live and learn

What if I install windows on a different hard driver to see if this is problem with drivers, will this work?
Yes; this would rule out driver errors

atb

Law-II
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#9
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.45/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#10
i would like to blame temps but the gpu temps seem pretty good really.
maybe the vrm?
 
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
138 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name URBAN303
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 3
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 16GB (4x4) Kingston Hyper-X Beast 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) (Crossfire Sapphire R9 280X Tri-X OC) 1150/1700
Storage WD 500GB Sata3 + WD 1TO Sata3 + WD 1TO Sata3 + Seagate 250GB Sata2
Display(s) 2x BenQ GL2250 Led (21.5") + 1x BenQ GL2250HM Led (21.5")
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair RM 1000 - 1000W 80+Gold
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bits
#11
I'm pretty sure I've heard that utility completely breaks Windows 8 systems.
But no! it removes cleanly various PACKAGE as VC + + Redist, Catalyst, including FUEL, ATI ACE, etc etc properly! it is not a virus but an AMD utility! you are free not to trust but you are also free not to desecrate misconceptions about a utility which you know nothing.

I use this utility to install the Beta versions of Catalyst when I sometimes encounter bugs; I then forced to use this utility to clean up at the graphics driver.

Learn instead to create doubt; thank you in advance!

It's official tool not modificated and not adware ...

Refer to: http://www.ngohq.com/news/24778-amd-clean-uninstall-utility-1-4-0-0-a.html

warning : if you're in RAID System ONLY : As a result, USB and audio devices and systems using RAID arrays may become unresponsive after system reboot. Because all AMD Drivers are unisntalled with this tools ! This is the ONLY inconvenience you may encounter ... Are you RAID? If "yes" > not use this tool, if "not" > you can use it without problem.

This tool is made for users who frequently install Beta versions of Catalyst. I did not encounter any problems with Windows 7 Pro.

You are FREE to use it or not;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#12
But no! it removes cleanly various PACKAGE as VC + + Redist, Catalyst, including FUEL, ATI ACE, etc etc properly! it is not a virus but an AMD utility! you are free not to trust but you are also free not to desecrate misconceptions about a utility which you know nothing.

I use this utility to install the Beta versions of Catalyst when I sometimes encounter bugs; I then forced to use this utility to clean up at the graphics driver.

Learn instead to create doubt; thank you in advance!

It's official tool not modificated and not adware ...

Refer to: http://www.ngohq.com/news/24778-amd-clean-uninstall-utility-1-4-0-0-a.html

You are FREE to use it or not;)
I'd use and/or recommend it if I had some confirmation that it doesn't break Windows 8 anymore as it did last year. I only mentioned it because I've heard of issues with it in several places, including this forum. Seeing that you use Windows 7, and probably have been all along, perhaps you never encountered said issues?

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/amd-catalyst-uninstall-utility.178948/
http://www.overclock.net/t/1350750/win-8-users-warning-about-amd-uninstallation-utility
http://www.gamespot.com/forums/pc-m...-use-amd-catalyst-uninstall-utility-29399990/
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=373855
http://forum.notebookreview.com/ali...-uninstall-utility-messed-up-windows-8-a.html
http://www.reddit.com/r/pcgaming/comments/1fpzn1/amds_official_uninstall_utility_ruined_my_win8/

I don't bother using cleaners most of the time, and if I do, I just use Treexy DriverFusion.
 
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
138 (0.10/day)
Likes
16
System Name URBAN303
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 3
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 16GB (4x4) Kingston Hyper-X Beast 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) (Crossfire Sapphire R9 280X Tri-X OC) 1150/1700
Storage WD 500GB Sata3 + WD 1TO Sata3 + WD 1TO Sata3 + Seagate 250GB Sata2
Display(s) 2x BenQ GL2250 Led (21.5") + 1x BenQ GL2250HM Led (21.5")
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair RM 1000 - 1000W 80+Gold
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bits
#13
I'd use and/or recommend it if I had some confirmation that it doesn't break Windows 8 anymore as it did last year. I only mentioned it because I've heard of issues with it in several places, including this forum. Seeing that you use Windows 7, and probably have been all along, perhaps you never encountered said issues?

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/amd-catalyst-uninstall-utility.178948/
http://www.overclock.net/t/1350750/win-8-users-warning-about-amd-uninstallation-utility
http://www.gamespot.com/forums/pc-m...-use-amd-catalyst-uninstall-utility-29399990/
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=373855
http://forum.notebookreview.com/ali...-uninstall-utility-messed-up-windows-8-a.html
http://www.reddit.com/r/pcgaming/comments/1fpzn1/amds_official_uninstall_utility_ruined_my_win8/

I don't bother using cleaners most of the time, and if I do, I just use Treexy DriverFusion.
You may encounter problems if you have a RAID system as utility uninstalls the AMD drivers manage the RAID amongst other; so if you are not in RAID you should have no problem. Expect to have user feedback here or elsewhere on the "source of problems in Windows 8" problems once identified will let you know if using this tool is good or not for you.
Windows 7 I have actually never had a problem; but I'm not either ... RAID

Uninstall manually each programs AMD with Windows is long ...

The Raid is a process "networks" and "server" which came to be added to the average user wishing to increase the performance problem for configurations using video games is completely different from a server folders, and RAID can show these limitations here ... there he has a great interest in using this type of configuration for use "gaming"? I do not think; evidence and yet it is only the visible part of the iceberg.

Don't Use Raid System it's better ;) because this type of installation on MS Windows is delicate and fragile ... Proof a simple software can make a RAID configuration to nothing! is it a guarantee of reliability for you?
 
Last edited: