1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte Readies 990FXA-UD5 Socket AM3+ Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 27, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,335 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,299
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Gigabyte's top-tier socket AM3+ motherboard lineup is shaping up in a big way, with a bleeding-edge GA-990FXA-UD7 at the top of the pile. Gigabyte has yet another motherboard to cater to fans of the AM3+ platform, the GA-990FXA-UD5. The UD5 features a more conventional-looking component layout, with the northbridge located where it usually is. You still get the 10-phase VRM from the UD7, the black Ultra Durable 3 PCB, but this board is designed for multi-GPU setups with up to 3 graphics cards: supporting 3-way SLI and CrossFireX.

    Expansion slots include five PCI-Express 2.0 x16, of which three (slots 1,3,5) are PCI-Express 2.0 wired to the AMD 990FX northbridge, with electrical configurations of x16/x16/NC or x16/x8/x8. Slots 2 and 4 are electrical x4, wired to the SB950 southbridge. Other slots include a PCI-E x1, and a legacy PCI. Storage connectivity is similar to that of the UD7, with eight SATA 6 Gb/s internal ports, a power-eSATA, and a normal eSATA.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Other connectivity features include 8+2 channel HD audio driven by Realtek's ALC889A CODEC, FireWire, four USB 3.0 ports (two rear, two via header), a single gigabit Ethernet, and a number of USB 2.0 ports. Like most new Gigabyte boards, the UD5 features dual-BIOS with EFI-like extensions that let it boot from volumes greater than 2.2 TB in size. The GA-990FXA-UD5 from Gigabyte should target a market sweetspot price in the performance category of motherboards.

    Source: TechConnect Magazine
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  2. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,867 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    I really dig the idea to ditch all the crazy colored motherboard components, my ud3p looks like a box of nerds.
    The heatsinks are nice too wonder how well they work, tho the new AMD HSF bracket scares me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,145 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    294
    Location:
    Formosa
    stinger608 and btarunr say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. dickobrazzz New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    ermm... and what about sli/3sli? i can`t see sli icon on motherboard:confused:
     
  5. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,616 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I really like the fact they have completely ditched the horrible baby blue and white color scheme! If it's like the last UD5 it will be a pretty solid board.
     
  6. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    they all do stop already. If it can crossfire it can sli the end. So what it dosnt say it on the board i repeat if it can crossfire it can sli


    here is the link page too so u can read it

    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3891#ov
     
    Damn_Smooth and H82LUZ73 say thanks.
  7. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,616 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    That's not a true statment just because a board can do crossfire doesn't mean it can do SLI my 890FXA-UD5 can do crossfire but is not capable of SLI.
     
    DaedalusHelios says thanks.
  8. jalex3

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    188 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    this better be a fair bit cheap than the ud7 smaller pcb and all. looks good but i wish gigabyte didnt take this like the post screen off, power switches its not like this is a cheap board either.
     
  9. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,874 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Guys asking about sli itis BIOS or EFI programed to allow it.Also Thanks dude i`m downloading the user manual for this board :) :toast:

    The ud5 890fx board is around $175 in Can-Us money so this could be my next board with some new memory easy upgrade.

    BINGO Under Box contents
    1x 2 way SLI bridge
    1x 3 way SLI bridge
    page 6 in the manual......
     
  10. GSquadron

    GSquadron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,264 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    316
    This board is so cool, but i think they better remove the ata connector
    Also, why the pci-express slots are with different "catchers"?
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  11. cavemanthreeonesix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    56 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I guess it was just a typo on the ud7 preview where it said it came with the 850sb chip since this board is using the 950sb?
     
  12. nemesis.ie

    nemesis.ie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    240 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    This looks like a better slot layout than the UD7 to me.

    If it's cheaper and has more or less the same performance this may well be my next motherboard.

    The main differences seem to just be a few connectors like coaxial digital audio and a USB3 header.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. faramir New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    203 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I liked the old color scheme where color-key was used to quickly determine what goes where. Those tiny silkprint signs on the PCB are only useful while board is outside the enclosure. Once it's in it becomes much more difficult to determine how to set up your memory for dual channel etc., without referring to the manual that you've misplaced who knows where long time ago :)
     
  14. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    It's weird that they split the CPU cooler bracket on this, and not the UD7.

    Are they going to support SLI without bios hacking on this?
     
  15. Pjokerxp_

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    why gigabyte is not using Watercooling on thier northbridge anymore like
    x58a-ud7 rev1.0 on this picture here :
    [​IMG]

    if that motherboard had water cooling ready on its northbridge chip I would greatly buy it...
    am still looking for one with watercooled northbridge...

    I must say that X58a-UD7 is the best motherboard that I have ever had in my entire 10 years of pc building.
    the cooling method on the northbridge has entirely helped me alot...

    Gigabyte... dont ditch this!
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,441 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,777
    Because it's deffinitely not necessary even while highly clocked.
     
    NAVI_Z and Pjokerxp_ say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Pjokerxp_

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    really how so? I see Alot of people customising their Pcs with watercooling on northbridge. so many people even my friend buy a watercooler Blocks for northbridges... and if my motherboards hasnt one i would buy a block for northbridge....\like this picture and many more people does it.
    [​IMG]

    And here is another one...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    I even had Asus motherboard X58 and I had to use fans on the northbridge! and that not good NOISY also Brings dust and heats up your GFX card if it is underneath northbridge..

    and if my GA x58a-ud7 rev1.0 Dies on me, i would by another same exact one again! I LUV IT TO DEATH
    now why do you say watercooling the northbridge is not necessary?
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  18. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    397 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Looks like a really nice board, too bad it won't be in my price range. Not long until Bulldozer comes out.
     
  19. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,239 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,163
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    X58 is notoriously hot under overclocking. If the 990FX was as well, then they might release a UD7 with a watercooling block. Why are you expecting a waterblock on a UD5? And any aftermarket waterblock is going to perform better than the stock, so what's the point of your whining anyway?
     
    NAVI_Z, ERazer and Pjokerxp_ say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. fochkoph

    fochkoph

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    Hmm, I wish the third PCI-E x16 slot wasn't limited to x8. Would've loved to run my setup x16/NC/x16 since I usually slap on heatsinks that consume at least three slots.
     
  21. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    What comes to the "3000+MHz"; you're talking about the NB integrated in your CPU, not the chipset on the motherboard.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Three more boards.

    As I (and most of you) will never need more than dual Crossfire/SLI capability, I'm most interested in the UD3. Oddly, the other 990FX board doesn't have any VRM heatsink, and two of the 990FX and 990X are back to the typical Gigabyte color scheme.

    Priced appropriately, the UD3 will be well considered. Although, I really wish the second PCIe x16 slot and first PCIe 4x slot were switched, so a dual slot card won't block the PCI slot (my sound card).

    Edit: some cool options available in the Gigabyte BIOSes for AM3+ CPUs:
    As all FX processors have their multipliers unlocked (CPU frequency, memory controller, memory divider), I've been wondering what the 'p' suffix for the high-end 125W model signifies. I wouldn't be surprised if it has something to do with allowing free adjustment of that CPB ratio.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2011
    NAVI_Z, fochkoph and Damn_Smooth say thanks.
  23. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,987 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    It's because Gigabyte uses different PCIe connectors that have either half or 3/4 of the physical pins removed according to the lane count, even though the plastic part of the socket is still x16 length.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. mixa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    120 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Aden Castle Town
    The only thing the board is missing is a nice buldozer inside :D
    That will come soon anyway, seems like a good buy to me :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Very very nice board. Giga is really doing a great job with the board. Let's wait for the bios and see how that turns out
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)