• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE Releases DRM Fix Tool for Intel Alder Lake Processors to Dynamically Park and Unpark E-Cores

Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
180 (0.33/day)
System Name BUBSTER
Processor I7 12700K
Motherboard Z690 Gigabyte Aorus Elite Pro
Cooling Arctic Freezer II 360 RGB
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 4400MHz 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce RTX 3070 Super Dual OC
Storage WD SN850 Black PCIE4 1Tb + 2 Samsung 970 Evo Plus M2 1Tb RAID 0 + 12 TB HDD
Display(s) Sony Bravia KD-55X8505C
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply Corsair AX 850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB + Razr Taipan
Keyboard Asus ROG Strix Flare Cherry MX Red + Corsair Gaming K65 lux RGB
Software Windows 11 Pro x64
Dr Evil : How Much will you pay for this? Please don't Say One Hundred Million Dollars :)
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
8,255 (1.91/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2.5
Processor Ryzen 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Pro V2
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory F4-4000C18D-32GVK @ 16-20-20-24-64 1.40v
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage ADATA SX8200PRO NVME \512GB Intel 545s ssd \500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 3TB Spinner
Display(s) 1440p Dell
Case Phanteks P300 /w 300A front panel conversion
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Kone burst Pro
Keyboard redragon k580 vata /w QMK-ORGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Would you prefer they aorus it up with bling bling chicken head?


Wait... scroll lock disables e-cores?
So frigging stupid
A mutli-billion dollar company like intel can't implement a better solution then this
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
2,016 (0.68/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Hey - They gotta try something to get those cores up to 8GHz...... Maybe.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
427 (0.39/day)
Location
UK, Leicester
System Name Main PC
Processor 9900k@4.8ghz
Motherboard Asrock Fatality K6 Z370
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 32 Gig 3200CL14
Video Card(s) 3080 RTX FE
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Antec HCG 750
nice a app from a 2 billion dollar company and the the app looks like it was written in autohotkey
They did at least make the tool which is nice, but yeah thats some serious UI padding.

In case you guys wonder how this works:



Port 128 (80h) is for the POST code debug output
Port 96 (60h) is the AT keyboard controller

So all this really does is turn on scroll lock via software via keyboard controller command 0xED
Wow, not so good then.

These scroll lock toggle systems, do they disable actual scroll lock function, or does scroll lock itself have to be enabled when toggling?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
33 (0.31/day)
I find it a little hard to believe Intel can't fix this. It's a simple if>then statement in thread director..before anything hits P or E cores.

If queued thread(s) contains encrypted DRM content then send to P cores, explicitly.

And the fix, parking cores, comes from Gigabyte? Parking cores. Manually. Okay..
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
5,575 (3.22/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
Gaming should work without all of this nonsense.
Tell that to DRM makers whose work mainly serves to make playing games that much more complicated.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
23,526 (3.64/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
If queued thread(s) contains encrypted DRM content then send to P cores, explicitly.
Denuvo game binaries do not really contain "encrypted" content. Also it's impossible to detect encrypted content in the first place

"contains" for executable code is impossible to answer, too, all you can look at is the instructions executed in the past, or some characteristics like executing filename
 

ScaLibBDP

New Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2019
Messages
27 (0.02/day)
Location
Calgary, Canada
>>...This DRM Fix Tool is a lightweight utility that unfortunately runs exclusively on GIGABYTE motherboards...

In case of Windows operating systems use "Set Affinity..." option in the Windows Task Manager ( Processes page ) to select Logical CPUs for an application, or a game.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
17,341 (5.54/day)
Location
USA
GIGABYTE Releases DRM Fix Tool for Intel Alder Lake Processors to Dynamically Park and Unpark E-Cores.
Why make a hardware concession? Either fix the pathetically functioning DRM or do the correct thing and remove it entirely. This effort is not a solution. It's not even a fix. It's a fail of a work-around that neither addresses the problem nor fixes it.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
5,575 (3.22/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
Why make a hardware concession? Either fix the pathetically functioning DRM or do the correct thing and remove it entirely. This effort is not a solution. It's not even a fix. It's a fail of a work-around that neither addresses the problem nor fixes it.
I doubt any of the parties involved in this - in this case Gigabyte and Intel - have any power over those things whatsoever, so they're doing what they are able to do. Whether that is a proper fix or not is kind of besides the point.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
1,124 (0.68/day)
I'll just go speak to my building's admin and tell her i want another parking space;
when she inevitably asks if i bought another car i'll look her straight in the eye and in a raspy,deep 20+ years smoker's voice i'll say:
No ma'am, i want to switch from Ryzen to Alder Lake and i want to park my E-cores.
Oooooooh, snap!
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,820 (0.39/day)
Location
Slovenia
System Name Multiple - Win7, Win10, Kubuntu
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 OC@ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 32GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD: 970 EVO 1TB, 2x870 EVO 250GB,860 Evo 250GB,850 Evo 250GB, WD 4x1TB, 2x2TB, 4x4TB
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Power Supply Corsair HX750, HX550, Galaxy 520W
Mouse Multiple, Razer Mamba Elite, Logitech M500
Keyboard Multiple - Lenovo, HP, Dell, Logitech
Oh yes, I remember the Turbo button very well and the drama around it. I never had those kind of older PCs as I only really started from 2004 with broadband internet for me, but my only experience with the Turbo button was in elementary school as a kid.
The elementary school had a PC-room that was suppose to be used for computer class but several PCs had Duke Nukem 3D and many other games installed, Commander Ken, Dangerous Dave and I don't remember but I wish I could go back into that room today for a blast to the past, and yes internet worked too. The-geek-class-pc-caretaker-teacher would show us mIRC (but I didn't use, or had any idea how to use it) we usually had to do only school stuff like Word documents, Excell, etc but they would let us play games on fridays, let's rock! Duke Nukem 3D LAN parties ... and even the teacher would play with us on the Admin-Teacher-Only-Computer, and I think like only 4 student PCs had DN3D (were good enough for) so you can imagine the circus of my-turn your-turn and there was a lot of keyboard splitting/sharing (or how is that called) of one student being responible for walking and other for shooting.

The PCs were quite various and only 2 of them were really good, 4 of them okay, another 4 medium and 2 were really bad and slow like crap, many of the medium and weaker-older ones would had a DIGIT screen that would show either "20", "40", "60" or "80" (only on the 2 best ones), I think if you pressed Turbo then it would go from 40 to 60, 60 to 80, but there was a catch to it and I don't remember what was the downside of Turbo at the time (I think I still don't, I think i saw it explained on LGR but forgot again), but the 2 bad ones were at 20 were super slow and had no 3D games so what do you guys think what happened, it was an absolute circus across the whole school facility, a mad dash after the end of the class before the computer class, running full speed to be the first one or else, because you had to be the first in the line to get to the best two PCs as the teacher opens the door to the PC room, if you're not in the top 10, you'll get the crappy PC or worse you wouldn't get any PC as there were total of ~20 students in the class and you had to share, 2 students per-PC could sit the way room was structured, I don't remember exactly how often would two switch seats and be the primary user of the PC, but I think it was actually better than being on the bad PCs because once you had your seat there was no changing of computers for the remainder of the class, I'm not sure if it was a rule but I think the teachers were okay with this always being determined at random by the crazy stampede that would ensue when teacher opened the door, it was fair I guess.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2021
Messages
57 (0.20/day)
Lol, I was just about to write "so they made an app that turns on Scroll Lock?" :roll:


It's precisely to avoid these DRM issues. Pretty handy feature in those cases!


BIOS updates take time, so most likely you'll have to wait until an official one (or at least offician beta) arrives.
For sure, but I'm just pointing out that the press on this issue can be a bit misleading. Most game companies are releasing denuvo less versions of their older games because the fixes don't work well or it will take months to work out, not a week after launch, that kind of thing.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
5,575 (3.22/day)
Location
Norway, currently in Lund, Sweden
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling Aquanaut + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UV@950mV/2050MHz/180W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
For sure, but I'm just pointing out that the press on this issue can be a bit misleading. Most game companies are releasing denuvo less versions of their older games because the fixes don't work well or it will take months to work out, not a week after launch, that kind of thing.
Wait, they are? If so, that's fantastic, and if this forces that into happening it's a great thing. In my experience this kind of thing never gets patched out, and especially if the game is more than a couple of years old, so if that is changing that makes me very happy.
 
Top