• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Going gigabit, do I need a gigabit router?

Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
681 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i GTX
Memory Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB
Storage 1TB WD Red
Display(s) 1920x1080 HDTV
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Power Supply Corsair CX750M 750w
Software Win7 Professional though I hate it, I want XP back!
#1
I have a new roommate moving in and he has a pretty large media library on his PC.

We are wanting to share the media library between our two computers.

Right now I have a standard 100 megabit wireless router.

If we want a gigabit connection to send files between the computers do I need to buy a gigabit router or can I buy a gigabit switch and connect the two computers to that?

I guess I'm worried that the computers will be limitted to 100 megabit speed because the router is 100 megabit.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,012 (1.47/day)
Likes
630
Location
UK
System Name PC
Processor AMD FX 8320E @4.3ghz
Motherboard Asrock 970 extreme3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC12DX, 3 x NZXT FN 140mm, 1x NZXT FV V2 120mm
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 290 DCII-OC 4GB
Storage 128GB Kingston V200 SSD 1TB WD Blue, 750GB Maxtor
Display(s) LG 27MB85Z 27" 1440p
Case NZXT Source 340
Power Supply Thermaltake 675w
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Logitech G510S
Software Windows 8.1 64 bit
#2
I have a new roommate moving in and he has a pretty large media library on his PC.

We are wanting to share the media library between our two computers.

Right now I have a standard 100 megabit wireless router.

If we want a gigabit connection to send files between the computers do I need to buy a gigabit router or can I buy a gigabit switch and connect the two computers to that?

I guess I'm worried that the computers will be limitted to 100 megabit speed because the router is 100 megabit.
you should be okay if you just by a gigabit switch but it all depends on your network setup really, but 99% of the time, if you connect the 2 computer into the gigabit switch, the communications will bypass the router and you'll be okay
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#3
if the pcs are connected directly to the router then the pcs will talk to each other using 100 mbit. if you have a gige switch where the pcs connect to and the router is connected to that switch then the pcs will be connected using gige
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
731 (0.22/day)
Likes
102
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.2 GHz Quad-core Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-M Z77
Cooling ID-COOLING IS-50 TDP 130W
Memory Kingston HyperX Genesis 2x4 GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz 9-11-9-27-1T
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce® GTX 1070 AMP Edition (ZT-P10700C-10P)
Storage WD SiliconEdge Blue 64 GB SSD, Kingston SSDNow! 240 GB SSD, WD RE4 1 TB HDD
Display(s) LN-T4065F FullHD LCD TV
Power Supply Raidmax RX-1000AE 1000W 80 Plus Gold
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury FPS Gaming Mouse (Defective MOUSE3)
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
So the PCs are only going to use the router for DHCP and move data through the switch?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#5
Like many other things in technology, ethernet uses the lowest common denominator in the connection. If you both have two LAN ports, you might be able to connect your two PC's directly (someone correct me if I'm wrong here), but if you're going to depend on the router for a connection, it's going to need to be gigabit.
 

kciaccio

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
364 (0.11/day)
Likes
45
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-2600K, 4433 MHz (43 x 103)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68 DELUXE GEN 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 8 gigs DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video Card(s) POWER COLOR HD6870 EYEFINITY 6 EDITION 2GB
Storage KINGSTON HYPER X 120G SSD
Display(s) Quad set of Acer X193X's AND 2 Dell P2210 - 22"
Case Silverstone Raven 2 WHITE LIMITED EDITION
Power Supply NZXT HALE 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#6
assuming both computer are using gigabit nics Just get a gigabit switch. Plug both computers to the switch and one line to the router. Problem solved. It's not rocket science guys.
 
Last edited:

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#7
Even though it was answered already.

Do I need gas to drive a car? :roll:
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
681 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i GTX
Memory Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB
Storage 1TB WD Red
Display(s) 1920x1080 HDTV
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Power Supply Corsair CX750M 750w
Software Win7 Professional though I hate it, I want XP back!
#8
Ok now I'm confused.

Sorry guys networking is totally foreign to me.

I have some saying I need a gigabit router and others saying I can just use a gigabit switch with my current 100 megabit router.

Which is it?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#9
Depends on the switch. Some switches drop everything down to the highest speed all devices support (which would be the 100 Mbit router). Others allow different speeds for each port.

If you're looking at buying a gigabit switch to plug in your megabit router or buying a gigabit router, I would go with a gigabit router. You'll get other benefits from a new router (like potentially 802.11n support) that definitely make the router option better.
 

kciaccio

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
364 (0.11/day)
Likes
45
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-2600K, 4433 MHz (43 x 103)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68 DELUXE GEN 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 8 gigs DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video Card(s) POWER COLOR HD6870 EYEFINITY 6 EDITION 2GB
Storage KINGSTON HYPER X 120G SSD
Display(s) Quad set of Acer X193X's AND 2 Dell P2210 - 22"
Case Silverstone Raven 2 WHITE LIMITED EDITION
Power Supply NZXT HALE 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#10
Unnessesary, just get a netgear gigabit switch for $50 it works great with the different speeds.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
Unnessesary, just get a netgear gigabit switch for $50 it works great with the different speeds.
$5 more gets a DIR-655 at newegg with promo code EMCKCHD43. Ends August 1.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,482 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#12
Joined
Mar 11, 2007
Messages
681 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor AMD Phenom II x6 1090T @ 3.8GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H80i GTX
Memory Patriot Gamer 2 Series 8GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 460 4GB
Storage 1TB WD Red
Display(s) 1920x1080 HDTV
Case NZXT Phantom 240
Power Supply Corsair CX750M 750w
Software Win7 Professional though I hate it, I want XP back!
#13

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,921 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,022
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#14
A draft N router with megabit switch? Madness!

DIR-655 is an awesome router. The only thing bad I have to say about it is that it is white. XD
 

kciaccio

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
364 (0.11/day)
Likes
45
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-2600K, 4433 MHz (43 x 103)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68 DELUXE GEN 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 8 gigs DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video Card(s) POWER COLOR HD6870 EYEFINITY 6 EDITION 2GB
Storage KINGSTON HYPER X 120G SSD
Display(s) Quad set of Acer X193X's AND 2 Dell P2210 - 22"
Case Silverstone Raven 2 WHITE LIMITED EDITION
Power Supply NZXT HALE 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#15
Yes.