• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Going into water Cooling CM STORM SCOUT help please

Darrel

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
U.K
#1
Hey people, so im new to this forum and i could really use a little advice at the moment.

So by the title i have a CM Storm Scout case complete with a AMD 965 Black Ed. CPU.
A GTX 480 GPU and a whole bunch of Fans running air throughout. I installed a water block to my CPU begining of the year (Hydro Series H50) and after getting the GTX 480(Zotac) i decided i wanted to go into water cooling to supress noise levels and temps.

My problem now is the radiator for the CPU W.Block takes up alot of vital room needed to install a radiator larger than 120mm. Now i was thinking of doing away with the water block alltogether and setting up a full water cooling loop.:banghead:

Will a 80mm reservoir be sufficient enough to supply both the GPU and CPU for water?
Will a 120mm radiator be enough to keep everything at decent temps?

I can get some pics up, just dont know how.(Email?)

I appreciate your advice or a point in the right direction.:)
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
for the res size, yes 80mm is enough.

For the 120mm rad, no it isn't enough to cool a CPU and GPU.

Host images here: http://www.techpowerup.org/
 

Darrel

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
U.K
#3
Great. Is it possible to have two radiators in a loop?
Maybe i could have one radiator for each component.

Thanks for the fast reply.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
I personally think the CPU would be fine on a single rad, but the 480 may require the area of two to keep it cool, on top of the single for the CPU.
 

Darrel

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
U.K
#5
Hmmmm. Looks like im running out of options here with this. Say i keep the H50 W.Block currently supporting the CPU.Would a single 120mm Rad be sufficient enough for a single GTX 480? Was thinking i could squeeze that inside the case somewhere.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
maybe hang a double rad on the outside and keep the H50 on the inside?

I could be way off on the rad for the 480, but I seriously doubt one 120mm rad will be able to keep up with the heat load of the Fermi.
 

Darrel

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
U.K
#7
Never thought of that, though im not sure how i would get the tubes on the inside. Maybe a new case is in order.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#9
That would solve the issue if you want all the rads internal;)
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.94/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#10
Hey i changed my mind in the end, im going to swap out my case for this : http://www.coolermaster-usa.com/product.php?product_id=2810

Then i will be able to easily fit the Dual Rad.

If you know of a better idea im open to critism. Thanks for the advice.
that case is a great case. it has a slot for a filport so you never have to move your resevoir to. and it has pre cut tube holes in the back so you can mount your radiators outside and inside. my suggestion: buy a GOOD 3X120mm radiator ie. hwlabs black ice extreme/sr1 320, thermochill pa 120.3 etc etc. they cost a little more but are thicker and cool way better. get a good pump, D5/mcp655 or MCP355 with a top and run 1/2 ID-3/4OD tubing you will get optimal cooling this way AND a good block for the cpu and gpu: heatkiller 3.0,EK supreme HF, apogee XT. and ek fc block or aquacomputer fc block for the gpu