• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Gonna take the plunge...

Arch80

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Well, after 5 years of single-core processing this is what I've come up with as my upgrade:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 w/XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler and Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound

MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-MA790FXT-UD5P

RAM: 2x OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) - OCZ3RPR16004GK (8GB total)

Vid Cards: 2x XFX HD-489A-ZDDC Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-bit GDDR5

PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-1000HX 1000W

HD's: 4x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM (striped array)

CASE: COOLER MASTER HAF 932

Disc Drive: LG Black Blu-ray/HD DVD-ROM & 16X DVD±R DVD Burner - GGC-H20L

Vista 64 Ultimate

Monitor: LG W2453V-PF Black 24" 2ms(GTG) HDMI Full HD 1080P

Full system will cost around $2300 on Newegg.
I will be playing as many games as I can throw at this setup. My big question is whether I have picked out a system that will A; last me a while, and B; work together nicely. Thank you in advance for your advice. :rockout:
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#2
Nice Build. Are you going to OC the 955? If not really you could get a 940 for cheaper and it wouldnt make much difference.
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#3
Wow, what an upgrade. Skipping dual core completely..nice! It will server you well, that's for sure. Do you really need that much RAM though? 4 GB does just fine for my gaming rig.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#4
Wow, what an upgrade. Skipping dual core completely..nice! It will server you well, that's for sure. Do you really need that much RAM though? 4 GB does just fine for my gaming rig.
4 GB is good enough for any gaming rig. I agree. Welcome to TPU.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
1,146 (0.35/day)
Likes
58
Location
South Africa
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 635
Motherboard Asus M4N78-SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) XFX 7900GS
Storage Samsung 5000GB 7200RPM 16MB cache
Display(s) Samsung 22'' T220
Case Coolermaster 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek audio
Power Supply OCZ fatal1ty 550w
#5
Are you sure you want an lg monitor. Why not samsung maybe? And welcome to tpu :toast:
 

Arch80

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Yes I plan on OC'ing the 955. I want to be able to listen to media player, ventrilo and play mmo at same time with no added lag from bottlenecked resources. I am a rookie though and will step back to 4GB if it's enough to do the job. I will look at Samsung, I enjoyed my last monitor from them. Thanks for the input guys.
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#7
I was able to play WoW with several addons, browse the web, listen to music, and do a variety of other things all fine on 3.5 GB(4 technically, but I was on Vista 32 bit). I don't even think I used much over 2 GB while doing that.
 

Arch80

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Am I going overkill with the 2 vid cards too? I mostly raid in WoW but would like to try some of the games where crossfire is supported.
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#9
If you want to, go for it. Dual card setups are a lot more stable now than they were. WoW uses more CPU power I think, and since you're getting a quad core you're covered on that.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,470 (0.73/day)
Likes
613
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#10
That thing is going to be a monster. :toast:

But do you really need two HD4890s ? I am yet to find a good use for my HD4870X2 and I've had it for around 8 months now (Almost from launch day, replacing my 8800GT SLI).
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#11
Yes I plan on OC'ing the 955. I want to be able to listen to media player, ventrilo and play mmo at same time with no added lag from bottlenecked resources. I am a rookie though and will step back to 4GB if it's enough to do the job. I will look at Samsung, I enjoyed my last monitor from them. Thanks for the input guys.
good to hear that you want to OC. My advise on over 4gb of ram is it's only needed if you video edit/photoshop etc. I had 6gb in my i7 rig I just sold off not to long ago, alot of games hate 6gb and I would get constant crashes in Fallout3, made it unplayable. Just a fair warning. Yes I know this doesn't apply to everyone I just had problems.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#12
Am I going overkill with the 2 vid cards too? I mostly raid in WoW but would like to try some of the games where crossfire is supported.
The only benefit you will recieve from this is a bigger Epenis. One 4890 will suit your needs.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,470 (0.73/day)
Likes
613
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#13
good to hear that you want to OC. My advise on over 4gb of ram is it's only needed if you video edit/photoshop etc. I had 6gb in my i7 rig I just sold off not to long ago, alot of games hate 6gb and I would get constant crashes in Fallout3, made it unplayable. Just a fair warning. Yes I know this doesn't apply to everyone I just had problems.
I am running 6Gb on my Q9650 with no issues in anything (Vista Ultimate 64-Bit).

My 12 gigs of DDR3 for my i7 build arrived this morning, I'll see if I run into any similar issues.
 

Flyordie

New Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2008
Messages
1,870 (0.56/day)
Likes
246
System Name Shay's Revenge
Processor Phenom II X2 550 @ 4,012Mhz 1.488V
Motherboard DFI LANParty 790GX-M2RS
Cooling ThermalTake V1 "Black Widow"
Memory 2x2GB OCZ Reapers 4-4-4-12-1T @ 1.8V
Video Card(s) BBA HD5770 Crossfire @ 900Mhz Core 5.6Gbps VRAM
Storage 3x SATA (320GB/ 160GB/160GB Seagates)
Display(s) Westinghouse L1916HW 1680x1050 VGA/DVI/HDCP
Case ThermalTake Element V
Audio Device(s) RealTek Onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-550HT Active PFC F3 80PLUS Bronze
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 w/ SQL Hack
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 13,200 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=495939
#14
Thank you for buying AMD. You will not be disappointed.
Good Parts also.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#15
I am running 6Gb on my Q9650 with no issues in anything (Vista Ultimate 64-Bit).

My 12 gigs of DDR3 for my i7 build arrived this morning, I'll see if I run into any similar issues.
Intresting. Fallout3 was by far the worst on my system. I couldn't get outside of the vault without it crashing into windows. Also I couldn't play alot of older games..not a big deal, I do however love older games too so it was to me.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,470 (0.73/day)
Likes
613
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro OC 4GB (Thunderbolt3 eGPU), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage HP NVMe 256GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Skullcandy SLYR
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair RM550x (for eGPU)
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
#16
Intresting. Fallout3 was by far the worst on my system. I couldn't get outside of the vault without it crashing into windows. Also I couldn't play alot of older games..not a big deal, I do however love older games too so it was to me.
I have my OC'ed P4 for any older games. At 4.2Ghz and with the HD3850 AGP is deals with anything old well, so any incompatibility issues aren't a biggie for me, but my Q9650 never had any problems with older titles. Sounds like some weird incompatibility issue or driver pain your rig is experiencing. Then again, a Core i7 is a very different beast from the Core 2 Quad (And anything else, for that matter), so I might be having these issues right around the corner and not even know it yet.
 

Arch80

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
I should have mentioned that I intend on getting a 30 inch monitor later this year. Will a single 4890 be able to handle the higher resolution?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#18
it's gone now, I'm building a PII rig.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
2,664 (0.81/day)
Likes
213
Location
Ohio
Processor FX-8350 PileDriver
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro
Cooling Zalman
Memory Kingston Hyper X 8GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 660TI 3GB SC+
Storage Wester Digital Black 1 TB
Display(s) Hanns G 27 Inch
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Kingwin Lazer 1000W
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
#19
I should have mentioned that I intend on getting a 30 inch monitor later this year. Will a single 4890 be able to handle the higher resolution?
My guess is yes. If your worried save some more cash and grab a 4870x2, newegg has been dropping prices on them lately.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
462 (0.11/day)
Likes
121
System Name Elysium
Processor i7-4790k @ 4800MHz (re-lidded)
Motherboard Asus Z97-WS
Cooling Custom 3 radiator loop for CPU and GPUs, D5 pump
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) GSkill @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x R9 290x with full cover blocks
Storage Plextor P6E M.2 (OS/work). Samsung 950 Pro 512GB on NVMe card (Games etc.)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) On board, SBZ + HDMI to sound processor
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i
Mouse Mad Catz MOUS 9
Keyboard K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores #1 worldwide on 3D Mark 99 or 2000 or one of those, at one point back in the day. :)
#20
The resolution of the new monitor (and nothing wrong with LG's stuff that I have seen) was not mentioned.

If you plan on getting a 30" (2560 x 1600) the 2nd card might be nice, but you can always get one to start with and see how it goes, plust you might want to go DX11 in the autumn so save the cash you would spend now on the 2nd card and extra 4GB until then.

That said, I'm running a 4890 in my (dual core C2D 4GHz) box on a 30" and there are some titles that would really benefit from the 2nd card at full res.

Finally, Windows 7 is out soon and you can test the RC for free for a year (and it has DX11 of course), so why not throw that on and then if you like it, buy it later? That should save some initial outlay and upgrade pain/money? :)
 

Sejanus47

New Member
Joined
May 9, 2009
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
California
Processor Q6600 @ 3.4ghz 1.4v
Motherboard GA-P35-DS3R Rev 2.0
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 4gb Corsair Dominator @ 888 mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) eVGA Geforce 9800 GTX 512mb
Storage WD 160gb 16mb Cache x2
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) X-FI Titanium PCI-E x1
Power Supply Zalman 750W
Software Windows 7 RC 7100 64 Bit
#21
I also suggest dumping vista 64 bit and getting a free copy of 7. I installed it over the weekend and I fell in love with it right away. Loads faster than vista 32 bit and today I bought another 2gb of ram and my system is even more responsive. I haven't had a single issue with 7 which is surprising considering the silly bugs I had with Vista when I initially bought it. That's not to say that I'm not a fan of Vista. Also may I suggest you look at MSI's 790FX board? It is highly rated and has a few more features over the GB board you selected. Although anything made by Gigabyte is gold in my eyes ;). Heres a link to that board if you are curious - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130223
 

Arch80

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#22
Resolution of the LG monitor is 1920 x 1080. I'm going to wait for DX11 cards until next year, perhaps Summer 2010. I am not ordering until Wednesday so I will check back on this thread until then to see if there is something else I am missing. Thanks again for all the help ppl !
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#23
welcome to TPU
nice chose , but there is a option about one card which 4870x2 , i know 2x4890 is better performance but 4870x2 can run anything at maximum setting , less power , less price , less heat in case