• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Google Android users clubhouse

Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
I don't think there's a problem with the router side of things.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.80/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
The question is, how exactly is it getting messed up? Is it dead to all connections until you reboot it? Is only the wireless (not the wired ports) not working? Is there something on the router you changed from default when you set it up?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
my galaxy S isnt connecting to the bluetooth of my navman MY80T, it connects but internet wont share, and audio is only one way (no one can hear me)


any ideas what to look at? running galnet MIUI's gingerbread rom.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
hmm quite a few with bluetooth problems with that GPS.... did you look at reviews before you bought it??just wondering...If I ever need a feature on something I google "device feature problems" and if I see a lot then I won't buy it...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
hmm quite a few with bluetooth problems with that GPS.... did you look at reviews before you bought it??just wondering...If I ever need a feature on something I google "device feature problems" and if I see a lot then I won't buy it...
i got it for other reasons, bluetooth was a secondary feature. but i'd like to make the damn feature work :(
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
The question is, how exactly is it getting messed up? Is it dead to all connections until you reboot it? Is only the wireless (not the wired ports) not working? Is there something on the router you changed from default when you set it up?
Everything in the router gets messed up (both wired and wireless) once I connect my GS2. Nothing was changed in the router at all. It doesn't even have that problem when I first got ICS on my phone (6 days ago), and the problem only appeared 4 days ago.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Everything in the router gets messed up (both wired and wireless) once I connect my GS2. Nothing was changed in the router at all. It doesn't even have that problem when I first got ICS on my phone (6 days ago), and the problem only appeared 4 days ago.
does the phone have incorrect IP/DNS settings? maybe its trying to do some ICS (internet connection sharing, fuck this two meanings to the one acronym crap)
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
IP address is DHCP (same as the iPod Touch that has NOT caused problems), proxy settings are "None".
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
IP address is DHCP (same as the iPod Touch that has NOT caused problems), proxy settings are "None".
any tethering/net sharing enabled? your phone could be trying to run its own DHCP on the same network.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
any tethering/net sharing enabled? your phone could be trying to run its own DHCP on the same network.
Thethering and net sharing is disabled.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
went thru all the IP settings on your router and phone right???
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.80/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I'm wondering if the phone is trying to force some kind of encryption setting that the router doesn't like. Since this is something that is new to the phone that was working fine, have you tried resetting the phone to default?
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
That's what I feared I had to do. I'm still looking for some fixes that won't involve that but it looks like I either need to reset or at least get back to stock firmware in some way.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
Well, looks like resetting it fixes the problem. Now I'll just need to restore my apps...
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Totally odd, entropy. You ever get foxhound running?
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
lol problem reappears after I restored the backup (apps, messages, accounts).
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Restore apps only without data. Go back into recovery and do a factory reset/data wipe.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
I'm using CWM Manager for resets and backups, and when I restore the backup I can't restore only the apps as it's under "data".
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
754 (0.18/day)
Likes
136
Location
Australia
System Name max
Processor Ming Mecca
Software Torah
Benchmark Scores 884509627386359275033751967 943067599621731590401694134 434007629683591574337516791 1976157334751953
Greetings,
Whats going on over here?
just upgraded my iphone 3GS to a shiny android
It seems i have quite some catching up/reading to do
this thread is large.
I really like my new phone.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,219 (1.18/day)
Likes
3,568
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
So, a quick question. What if I wanted to dual boot? Say, I want to play with Cyanogenmod, make some changes, but I'm having some problems, so I need to go back to stock (because I need to use the phone), but want to come back to Cyan later and continue to tweak. Is there an easy way to do that?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
I'm using CWM Manager for resets and backups, and when I restore the backup I can't restore only the apps as it's under "data".
2 options if you currently have the apps installed;
Option 1;
Setup ADB and do "adb pull data/app/ Apps/"

What that will do is pull just the APK manually to your PC that you can use in conjunction with a few mass installers.

Here's a good one:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=970348
EDIT: Ixnay on Option 1 see option 3 if you have ADB, crashes for me while doing a restore

Option 2;
Running MyBackup Root. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rerware.android.MyBackupRoot&hl=en

Download& install. Do a backup of apps, selecting all. Factory wipe. Reboot & Setup accounts. Let Play Store update. Then download MyBackup root again, it will ask APK/DATA or APK+Data, choose APK only.

Option 3;
Do an ADB pull like above
Then use ES File Explorer or Astro to sideload apps after transferring the apk's to your sd card.

Option4;
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1531880

Currently playing around with this app

@Ahhzz

Check to see if you device is compatible
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.drx2.bootmanager.lite

@craigo

Ask away. I will try and answer any questions you may have.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
Tried doing option 1, I have the Android Package Installer. Now what do I do, exactly?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Tried doing option 1, I have the Android Package Installer. Now what do I do, exactly?
Do option 4 with all your apps installed. Do a backup, you can backup to any directory on your pc that you wish. Data or no data does not matter.

After you factory reset and setup all your accounts & iomport contacts go back into the app and run this

Same options as pictured.


This is going to end up being a cleaner method. What's really cool with this app, You can choose which app you want to restore and a not an "all or nothing" scenario.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
how many apps do you guys have? I thought I had a lot but I'd rather download new versions from the market whenever i reinstall. it doesn't take long imo.

is there another reason it's necessary? bad internet, specific settings, etc? or non market apps?

Greetings,
Whats going on over here?
just upgraded my iphone 3GS to a shiny android
It seems i have quite some catching up/reading to do
this thread is large.
I really like my new phone.
welcome craigo :) I love my phone - still on the OG htc evo from 2010, but it is strong and i have NO complaints. have it running an ICS miui rom for some extra pretty :)

I recently got an android tablet as well, just loving it.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
how many apps do you guys have? I thought I had a lot but I'd rather download new versions from the market whenever i reinstall. it doesn't take long imo.

is there another reason it's necessary? bad internet, specific settings, etc? or non market apps?
When you update it also overwrites the APK. So reinstalling apps via Play store would be the same as this. Also saves time and precious data (if on a capped plan). Also I have ~ 400MB of apps installed on the 2GB internal of my Rez. Noticed it takes half the time to go through them all and install from SD card. Will start using the Windows app though as coming acrossed USB is 3x faster.