• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Google Android users clubhouse

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,938
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
I have a quick question.
When installing a rom, most instructions say to ensure you have a 100% charge on the battery. I have a dock for my GS2 and I'm wondering if its safe to just leave it plugged in while installing roms?
After 6 months or so I've finally started messing with roms, AlienRom was pretty special, except its based on Gingerbread instead of ICS and the camera doesn't work, so about to try another one (my third since yesterday) but its a drag to wait for the battery to fully charge everytime. If I just left it on the dock, wouldn't need to wait...but I'm not sure if this can affect anything?
Thanks
Well some things like CWM recovery do not have battery charging capabilities so even if its in the dock, the battery will not charge.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Location
Ontario Canada
System Name Monster
Processor Intel i5 4670k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Giigabyte G1 Sniper Z87
Cooling Antec H20 Kuhler 1250
Memory 16GB Mushkin Blackline (4x4gb) @1600 9 9 9 20
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280x 3GB OC
Storage Samsung Pro 240gb, 1TB Black, 640GB Black 1.5TB green
Display(s) 40" Toshiba LED 1080p
Case Level 10 GT Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster ZX
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 X64 and stuff
Your telling me software is necessary for charging?
I'm not sure this makes sense, the phone charges while shut off completely, what relevance does the software have?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,518 (6.45/day)
Likes
6,938
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Location
Ontario Canada
System Name Monster
Processor Intel i5 4670k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Giigabyte G1 Sniper Z87
Cooling Antec H20 Kuhler 1250
Memory 16GB Mushkin Blackline (4x4gb) @1600 9 9 9 20
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280x 3GB OC
Storage Samsung Pro 240gb, 1TB Black, 640GB Black 1.5TB green
Display(s) 40" Toshiba LED 1080p
Case Level 10 GT Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster ZX
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 X64 and stuff
I'm just being a whiner anyway, I'm an impatient guy. Its not a big deal to wait 5 min I suppose.
If someone else has thoughts on this I would love to hear them. I'm just interested in learning.
My concern is when the phone boots the computer see's it and tries to mount the drives and I'm not sure how that will affect the update process if at all.
I would be surprised if the PC even initialized it in CWM, but I haven't tried.
 

t_ski

Former Staff
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
11,960 (2.80/day)
Likes
6,443
System Name My i7 Beast
Processor Intel Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus X99-A II
Cooling Nickel-plated EK Supremacy EVO, D5 with XSPC Bayres & BIX Quad Radiator
Memory 4 x 8GB EVGA SuperSC DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SuperClocked
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 256GB m.2 SSD + 480GB Sandisk storage SSD
Display(s) Three Asus 24" VW246H LCD's
Case Silverstone TJ07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
ahem, my galaxy S isnt on that list.


oh yeah, stock rom list. fail :p
Stock roms can kiss my arse. LOL
Not everyone wants to or knows how to root their devices, and some people don't want to lose functionality by going to a custom rom. I hear you though - my phone is stock but my Touchpad is rooted and running ICS (CM9).
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Location
Ontario Canada
System Name Monster
Processor Intel i5 4670k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Giigabyte G1 Sniper Z87
Cooling Antec H20 Kuhler 1250
Memory 16GB Mushkin Blackline (4x4gb) @1600 9 9 9 20
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280x 3GB OC
Storage Samsung Pro 240gb, 1TB Black, 640GB Black 1.5TB green
Display(s) 40" Toshiba LED 1080p
Case Level 10 GT Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster ZX
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 X64 and stuff
Geez I am just overwhelmed here. There are SOOOOO many mods available for the GS2, just when I find one I like, I find a dozen more that I need to try!
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.56/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
Geez I am just overwhelmed here. There are SOOOOO many mods available for the GS2, just when I find one I like, I find a dozen more that I need to try!
That's the first step I guess. Don't get overwhelmed by the number of mods. :laugh:
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
@Canzara

If you don't flash while 100% and you can charge while phone is in a completely powered off state(something that some smartphones don't do), wip battery stats when your phone DOES get to 100% or you may have battery calibration issues. Say "shortened" battery life so to speak.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Location
Ontario Canada
System Name Monster
Processor Intel i5 4670k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Giigabyte G1 Sniper Z87
Cooling Antec H20 Kuhler 1250
Memory 16GB Mushkin Blackline (4x4gb) @1600 9 9 9 20
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280x 3GB OC
Storage Samsung Pro 240gb, 1TB Black, 640GB Black 1.5TB green
Display(s) 40" Toshiba LED 1080p
Case Level 10 GT Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster ZX
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 X64 and stuff
if I turn my phone off and put it on the charger after a second a battery indicator comes on and the phone charges
Or am I reading what you said wrong as from reading that this shouldn't be happening.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Or am I reading what you said wrong as from reading that this shouldn't be happening.
I am just saying, some of them don't have this ability and needs to be in a fully booted state to charge. Some of them have a custom recovery that allows charging while in recovery.

Say my Rezound for instance, CWM 5 is incompatible. While having CWM5 flash one the pohone I can't let the battery get to where the phone will kick off or it won't charge again unless i have an extra battery with at minimum 25% charge on it. That's just a plain out scenario though.

Flashing while 100% helps more than hurts, even though not needed still preferred.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Location
Ontario Canada
System Name Monster
Processor Intel i5 4670k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Giigabyte G1 Sniper Z87
Cooling Antec H20 Kuhler 1250
Memory 16GB Mushkin Blackline (4x4gb) @1600 9 9 9 20
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280x 3GB OC
Storage Samsung Pro 240gb, 1TB Black, 640GB Black 1.5TB green
Display(s) 40" Toshiba LED 1080p
Case Level 10 GT Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster ZX
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 X64 and stuff
Ok, thanks.
Thats what I've been doing anyway. My question was will leaving it on the dock while flashing have any affect? Will my computer initialize it in CWM and affect me in any way?
I've already decided its more of a curiosity and convenience then a necessity anyway, but....
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Will my computer initialize it in CWM and affect me in any way?
Shouldn't. Most it would do would be mount your SD/Internal storage, and you wouldn't be able to flash. Wouldn't hurt anything, you would just need to take it out of the dock. Try it out.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Location
Ontario Canada
System Name Monster
Processor Intel i5 4670k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Giigabyte G1 Sniper Z87
Cooling Antec H20 Kuhler 1250
Memory 16GB Mushkin Blackline (4x4gb) @1600 9 9 9 20
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280x 3GB OC
Storage Samsung Pro 240gb, 1TB Black, 640GB Black 1.5TB green
Display(s) 40" Toshiba LED 1080p
Case Level 10 GT Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster ZX
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 X64 and stuff
Thanks, I'll try it next flash.
Just installed Resurrection Mod and liking it so far.
I wish that AlienRom was ICS. Although when looking on the xda forums under that thread title, there is some controversy and its been LOCKED...so maybe a bad rom to use at this point regardless of how cool it was.
Thanks for your info Jr.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Joined
Feb 11, 2010
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
8
Location
Ontario Canada
System Name Monster
Processor Intel i5 4670k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Giigabyte G1 Sniper Z87
Cooling Antec H20 Kuhler 1250
Memory 16GB Mushkin Blackline (4x4gb) @1600 9 9 9 20
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X R9 280x 3GB OC
Storage Samsung Pro 240gb, 1TB Black, 640GB Black 1.5TB green
Display(s) 40" Toshiba LED 1080p
Case Level 10 GT Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster ZX
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G19
Software Windows 7 X64 and stuff
Just to update, in case anyone else wondered I just flashed while in the cradle and it went fine. So it does work and is no risk as Jr suggested would be the case.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
anybody tried "fast charge" enabled kernel yet? I have, but my biggest charger is only one amp. supposedly, it can handle 1.5 amps. thoughts?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
Does anyone now how to install games to my EXTERNAL sd card? I bought a 32GB sd card for my games, but it seems it will only install to the phones sd card memory. :(

Using a GSII 4.0.3 stock.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Does anyone now how to install games to my EXTERNAL sd card? I bought a 32GB sd card for my games, but it seems it will only install to the phones sd card memory. :(

Using a GSII 4.0.3 stock.
i go to settings -> apps and theres a button 'move to USB storage' (which i take it to mean SD card)
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
i go to settings -> apps and theres a button 'move to USB storage' (which i take it to mean SD card)
I go to settings, applications and I tap the downloaded tab. On my games I have the setting of move to phone and that's it. The game install themselves on the 11.5GB "SD Card" which is the phones own storage. I can't get it to install onto my external sd card :(

For example if I go to task manager and go to storage theres System storage which is 2GB, USB storage (the phone) 11.50GB and SD card 31GB with no memory used on it.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,423 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,603
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
i'm trying that dropbox app to backup my pics automatically.... it's nice...
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.56/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
I go to settings, applications and I tap the downloaded tab. On my games I have the setting of move to phone and that's it. The game install themselves on the 11.5GB "SD Card" which is the phones own storage. I can't get it to install onto my external sd card :(

For example if I go to task manager and go to storage theres System storage which is 2GB, USB storage (the phone) 11.50GB and SD card 31GB with no memory used on it.
Manually move the apps to the SD card. Check each app and press "move to SD card"
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.56/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.69/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
Oh yeah. You mentioned your phone. The Galaxy SII supports 16GB max.
I've tried it with a 2GB sd card and still didn't work. I have some screenies if you want to see?
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.56/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
Scratch that I've read wrong :laugh:

Anyway if it's still having problems even with a different card, maybe the slot's problematic?