• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Google: Let There Be Light

Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,311 (0.74/day)
Location
Essex Jct, VT
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aurorus Elite
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / Samsung EVO 860 500GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) AOC G2590FX
Case NZXT H500 Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM650x 650W Fully Modular
Software Windows 10
Google is finally starting to install their proposed 1 Gbps Fiber Optic network in Kansas City, Kansas this week. In a Blog Post on Monday they detailed what exactly they were up to. Google is promising to offer Fiber Optic services with download speeds reaching 1 Gbps, which is about 100 times faster than current broadband offerings in the area. This in itself is impressive, but not quite as impressive as their plan to offer upload speeds up to 1 Gbps, which is about 1000 times faster than currently available. Google had run into some snags with local utility companies over the positioning on utility poles of their cables, but the issue has since been resolved.

Source: http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Kansas-City-Google-Fiber-1-Gbps-fiber-optics-gigabit,14641.html
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
637 (0.19/day)
Location
SATX
System Name Bandit 2: Ryzen Boogaloo
Processor AMD R5 1600 @ 3.75 GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling EKWB EK-Kit L240
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ 16GB @ 2933 14-16-16-34
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Nitro+ RX 580
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2 500GB; Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Display(s) Viotek GN32Q
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 10 Professional
This is pretty cool stuff, especially considering the terrible connection available in the States to begin with. Interested to see if they will extend the service, and pricing as well. Hopefully it's not an arm and a leg.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,961 (8.87/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Finalmouse Pro
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Won't you need Sata 6gb/s SSD's in RAID 0 to utilize that bandwith? .. Or would that be 100 megabytes per second?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,012 (1.08/day)
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid SC2 11GB @ 2012/5151 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Won't you need Sata 6gb/s SSD's in RAID 0 to utilize that bandwith? .. Or would that be 100 megabytes per second?
It would be 1000 megabits divided by 8, resulting in 125 megabytes a second.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,327 (1.62/day)
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Booonnneeerr....


Whats the cost? 100x more? :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
470 (0.16/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
System Name Dell Studio XPS 8100 / Current PC
Processor Intel Core i5-750 @ 2.66 GHz / i5-3570K @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Dell Stock H55 / ASUS P8Z77-VLK
Cooling Stock
Memory Hynix 8GB DDR3-1333 / Kingston HyperX Blu Black 8 GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7770 / EVGA GTX 560 Superclocked
Storage 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black / 128 GB Crucial m4 + 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung 19'' LCD / Dell 24'' LCD
Case Dell Studio XPS 8100 / Bitfenix Merc Alpha
Audio Device(s) Realtek Integrated
Power Supply Dell Stock 350W / OCZ ModXStream 700W
Benchmark Scores Dell Keyboard + Dell Mouse / Azio Levetron Clicker + Razer Lachesis
Impressive, the max upload speed you get in Canada (I think) is 2Mbps, and that's for $100 a month.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.45/day)
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
2.4MB/s for $40 in Texas ;D
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,996 (2.09/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
Would like to see this expand into areas where providers have little (or no) competition.
 
Last edited:

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,146 (3.58/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
WOW so Google the advertising company is going fiber lines OMG.. IF i could i would avoid it like the plague. They just cannot get your info fast enough huh.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,311 (0.74/day)
Location
Essex Jct, VT
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aurorus Elite
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / Samsung EVO 860 500GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) AOC G2590FX
Case NZXT H500 Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM650x 650W Fully Modular
Software Windows 10
Small typo.
How so? Internet Connections are generally measured in Bits Per Second, not Bytes Per Second. 1 GB/s would be the only alternative and that is definitely incorrect. The original article and Google Blog post cited 1 Gbps (1 Gigabit per second) as the desired speed, so I wrote that.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,996 (2.09/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
How so? Internet Connections are generally measured in Bits Per Second, not Bytes Per Second. 1 GB/s would be the only alternative and that is definitely incorrect. The original article and Google Blog post cited 1 Gbps (1 Gigabit per second) as the desired speed, so I wrote that.
I actually misread that portion and didn't realize it was referring to upload speeds at that point. My mistake.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (3.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
if you've never been to kansas city you wont know about this but...

kansas city is on the border of kansas and missouri.

kansas city missouri is where the majority of the city is and the nicer part of town(if that can even be said about this place)

kansas city kansas however is ghetto as fuck

you know when people tell you not to go to "that part of town"? well kansas city kansas is THAT part of town.

my point is... why the fuck would google choose the ghetto to start providing their services in?
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,996 (2.09/day)
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX ES (32c/64t 3.5ghz@1.02v) || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard MSI X399 MEG Creation || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy TR4 Full Nickel, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 32GB (4x8GB) Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB DDR4 3000|| 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Vega 64 EK FC|| Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 250gb WD Black NVMe & (2) 2TB Intel 660p NVMe || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) 34" Dell Ultrasharp U3415W || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
Equal Opportunity ISP
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,188 (0.54/day)
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TaichiTig
Processor 6800K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock X99 Taichi
Memory 32GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) 1060 3GB
Storage 1TB 960 Evo, 1TB 850 Evo, 7x 6TB X300 in DrivePool
Display(s) BenQ PD3200U + Samsung C32HG70
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Behringer UMC404HD, 2x JBL LSR308, Sennheiser HD558, Beyerdynamic DT-1350, Etyomic HF3
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Deck Legend
Software Win10
you know when people tell you not to go to "that part of town"? well kansas city kansas is THAT part of town.

my point is... why the fuck would google choose the ghetto to start providing their services in?
I didn't know that and I don't know why but more power to 'em.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,311 (0.74/day)
Location
Essex Jct, VT
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aurorus Elite
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / Samsung EVO 860 500GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) AOC G2590FX
Case NZXT H500 Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM650x 650W Fully Modular
Software Windows 10
if you've never been to kansas city you wont know about this but...

kansas city is on the border of kansas and missouri.

kansas city missouri is where the majority of the city is and the nicer part of town(if that can even be said about this place)

kansas city kansas however is ghetto as fuck

you know when people tell you not to go to "that part of town"? well kansas city kansas is THAT part of town.

my point is... why the fuck would google choose the ghetto to start providing their services in?
I thought it was the other way around honestly. I've been to Kansas City, Kansas and it didn't seem too bad. I remember Google held a competition seeing who would be interested, and I believe Kansas City, KA won by renaming the town to Google for a day or week or something. I wanted Burlington to win so bad since we haven't had any real form of improved service since 2001 when my parents got our first computer. DSL has gotten substantially worse since Fairpoint got ahold of Verizon's old network, and when Comcast swallowed Adelphia they pretty much just matched the basic Comcast pricing\speed tiers.

There's also the fun fact that something like half the state doesn't have acccess to real high-speed internet services... :shadedshu
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (3.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
kansas city has time warner and they fought really hard to keep google away to keep their monopoly.

kansas city kansas, the far far west part, has the nascar track, legends(a ritzy outdoor mall), schlitterbahn(a good waterpark thats only open 3 months a year), a soccer complex and a recently opened casino.

so i guess they may be doing it for the money.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,876 (0.47/day)
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
I wonder how many tier 3 providers sprout off this
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Messages
470 (0.16/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
System Name Dell Studio XPS 8100 / Current PC
Processor Intel Core i5-750 @ 2.66 GHz / i5-3570K @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Dell Stock H55 / ASUS P8Z77-VLK
Cooling Stock
Memory Hynix 8GB DDR3-1333 / Kingston HyperX Blu Black 8 GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 7770 / EVGA GTX 560 Superclocked
Storage 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black / 128 GB Crucial m4 + 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Samsung 19'' LCD / Dell 24'' LCD
Case Dell Studio XPS 8100 / Bitfenix Merc Alpha
Audio Device(s) Realtek Integrated
Power Supply Dell Stock 350W / OCZ ModXStream 700W
Benchmark Scores Dell Keyboard + Dell Mouse / Azio Levetron Clicker + Razer Lachesis
I would like to see more competition in the Canadian ISP market.
 
Top