1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Got my new opty 165.. should I let it run or OC NOW??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by DrunkenMafia, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Well I got my new opty 165 from the US 2day. :rockout: I ended up with the LC9BE.. Its one of the newer steppings but I have heard they are doing around 2.8ish.

    My question is this, should I let the thing run for a week or so before ocin it or can I get straight into it? It is a new cpu, one of those oem versions
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,792 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    i personally would burn it in for 5 hours or so and then clock the holy hell out of it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    heehee.. sounds good to me. Thanxs bro, I hope I can get upwards of 2.8, just doing some more research on the stepping now.

    For some reason my chipset is sitting at 53c!!! wonder why that is, I just removed the waterblock and put new AS5 on there... should it be that high??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    You have to give it some time to break in, although that is kind of high, especially for water.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,792 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    whats the full stepping number on that opty?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    its a LCB9E 0704TPMW

    My nb usually sits around 47.. so maybe it will go down when the AS5 sets in a little...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    lol just did PI 1m and got like 45 seconds... my opty148 did 30...

    Cant wait to see what this thing can do
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,792 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    from wha ti can find the lcb9e stepping is good for 2.8ghz so a nice 60 or 70 % overclock:toast: my 144 will do 3ghz on air but with 1.7v so with any luck u can hit 3..and u have a really new stepping
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    yeah I think is the most recent stepping there is for these.. I will be happy with 2.8. will have to run a massive divider on my ram as it only does DDR460.. will need my fsb up around the 300-320 mark..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    1.7!!!! how long has it been running on that for.. I was never game to take my 148 over 1.5v.... maybe I should have
    :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,792 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    wanna trade ram? mine will do DDR670 @ 2.8v :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,792 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    stable 24/7 on air arctic freezer 64 pro idle is 21c load is 31c :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    nice one on the ram.. I would but I need the 2gb.. I just sold my corsair ddr500 for this stuff.. I oinly got it about 2 months ago of some chump on ebay who wanted $80 for each stick... he didn't even know what size they were!!!! I bought both sticks for $160 and managed to still get free postage outa him..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    might do a couple of benchies with this thing at stock to have something to compare with..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Athlon2K15

    Athlon2K15 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,792 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    yeah that a good idea,you still have the 148? i might be interested if u have it:D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    yeah man I still have it.. was going to put a thread on here or just ebay it... its a great chip, still under warrantee too.

    I have had it sitting on 2750 since I bought it and never once has it crashed. I have only had the core up to 1.49 though... it may go higher. I can't test it now though as it takes about 1 hour to change a cpu in my rig with all the water n shit everywhere...

    But hey if your interested let me know.. I am in Aussie though so you may be able to pick one up way cheaper over there...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Ok so I was sitting here waiting for 5 or so hours to pass by before I oc'd the 165 and well.... It felt like 5 hours so I figured that must be close enough...

    This chip seems good It booted at 2200mhz on stock v, so I chucked it up to 2700 and it got to windows on stock v then died.. So I put the volts up to 1.39 and I am here now in windows at 2700!!! nice...

    Will leave this run p95 for a while then I will come back and try some more... I am scoring up with the c2 extreme in everest benchmarks... :)

    will keep you posted...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    ok p95 for around an hour stable at 300.. will jump it up a little and see what happens..

    Current volts @ 1.39. Cpu stayed below 40 during prime 95..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Oh man.. I just ran pcmark05 and only got like 2291 points... What the???

    My old 148 gets around 4100

    I pasted the scores here, any ideas what is dragging them down so low??

    I know my HDD's Suck bad...


    System Test Suite
    HDD - XP Startup 8.84 MB/s

    Physics and 3D 219.07 FPS

    Transparent Windows 811.01 Windows/s

    3D - Pixel Shader 138.42 FPS

    Web Page Rendering 3.36 Pages/s

    File Decryption 50.05 MB/s

    Graphics Memory - 64 Lines 1622.73 FPS

    HDD - General Usage 0.0 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 1 / Audio Compression 2496.44 KB/s

    Multithreaded Test 1 / Video Encoding 456.15 KB/s

    Multithreaded Test 2 / Text Edit 159.79 Pages/s

    Multithreaded Test 2 / Image Decompression 32.97 MPixels/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / File Compression 5.73 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / File Encryption 30.01 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / HDD - Virus Scan 0.02 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / Memory Latency - Random 16 MB 15.27 MAccesses/s
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    heres a screeny @ 2880.. only 1.39v core
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    try again
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    aaargh where is it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. p-jack New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    333 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arheilgen
    :toast:


    also got myself an opty 165 last week, but it won´t go over 2.6GHz @ stock voltage... stepping is CCBWE0603XPMW :)cry: ). didn´t play with the Vcore since i´m still on stock cooling....

    btw how´s your temps? mine gets darn hot, hitting +55°C when running orthos....
    EDIT: never mind, i see you´re on water....
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    A couple more benchies... Im loving this cpu... :pimp:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)