• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Got new router, now can't surf while downloading

Joined
Jul 8, 2009
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
hi everyone, i bought a new router modem -> ZyXel P-660HW-T1 v2 (White color). I got a problem, whenever I on DL (torrents) i cant surf net, any browser also hang, kept time out. I did some research online saying that change mode to Bridge then encapsulation Ppoe. Then I just follow and change mode to bridge but after change to bridge I don't see Ppoe but PpoA. Your Help!
I don have any problem using previous router. After change to this. Everytime open torrent sure very XX7&^%@&*# hard time surf net. So pissing me :banghead:

P/S: my port is opened
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#2
What is your upload capped at? It sounds like you're downloading/uploading too fast for your connection to do anything else.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2009
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
my upload only 10kb/s, download low or high also the same. whenever open torrent, i cant surf net. =\
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderatorâ„¢
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#4

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
Sounds like the speeds aren't the issue, but the number of open connections is overloading the router...
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#6
Torrents can be hard on routers i've noticed in the past. I've crashed a Linksys WRT54g running torrents, playing wow and my bro playing wow.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,376 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#8
Check for a new firmware for your router. I had this problem with a Netgear router the other day. The problem also happened while transfering files over the local network. A new firmware was supposed to fix the issue, unfortunately it didn't. Router went back and they got a Cisco/Linksys. Problem gone.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
46 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2Q Q9450 @ 3.75Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Pro
Memory 4GB Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) Asus 4870 1GB
Storage x2 Samsung F1 750GB
Display(s) Yuraku 24
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi
Power Supply Corsair 750W
Software Vista 64 Sp2
#9
Try turning off the hardware firewall one if there is one
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#10
Firewalls.. bleh.. could be.
1300 up and 300 down.
thats 13 meg and 3 meg.
Those numbers sound odd to me.
I have 18 down and 2 up.

Whos the provider?
and if you just got it, save the receipt.
Return it if it keeps giving you problems.
No need for you to deal with that crap.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2009
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
Check for a new firmware for your router. I had this problem with a Netgear router the other day. The problem also happened while transfering files over the local network. A new firmware was supposed to fix the issue, unfortunately it didn't. Router went back and they got a Cisco/Linksys. Problem gone.
already update to latest firmware..same..

Firewalls.. bleh.. could be.
1300 up and 300 down.
thats 13 meg and 3 meg.
Those numbers sound odd to me.
I have 18 down and 2 up.

Whos the provider?
and if you just got it, save the receipt.
Return it if it keeps giving you problems.
No need for you to deal with that crap.
:p its not 13 meg and 3 meg..just 1 meg :p the unit i mention is in kbps 1500kbps dl and 300kbps ul. i off all firewall still the same. meh...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
turn down the amount of connections. i use 15-20 connections and max my 8Mb line out, some weird people use 100+ and choke their routers.


You bought a cheap router (zyxel isnt high end), so it just cant take large amounts of connections.