• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GotGame Launches Rogue, The First In-Game Web Browser

Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
211 (0.06/day)
Likes
62
Location
Orange County, Southern California
System Name AEROPLEX rev. 4.5
Processor Intel Core i7 4820K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Dark
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) G.Skill DDR3 2200MHz CL9 (F3-17600CL9D-8GBXLD)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC
Storage Mushkin Scorpion Deluxe 240GB PCI-E 3.0 SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung Curved 1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02
Power Supply SilverStone Strider 1500W
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
GotGame Launches Rogue, The First In-Game Web Browser
November 21, 2008, 9:00 AM

SAN FRANCISCO, Nov. 21 /PRNewswire/ -- GotGame, the company that enables gamers to access the in-game content they desire, today launched Rogue, its highly anticipated web browser.

Gamers spend a quarter of their time in game waiting for teammates to log in or games to load. They want something to do during this downtime, but exiting or minimizing the game means missing critical action.

Rogue eliminates this waiting game, enabling PC gamers to surf the web via a fully functional web browser without ever leaving their favorite games. Players can navigate to Wowhead to obtain information about items in World of Warcraft, or pull up Hulu to watch movie clips between Counter-Strike rounds; these are just two of the countless options available.

In order to use Rogue, gamers simply visit rogue.gotgame.com and download the free application. By hitting a hotkey, users can overlay the application in their favorite games; the browser will appear as though it were a part of the game itself, without disrupting any in-game functionality.

You can see a video of Rogue in action on YouTube or GotGame Videos.

The application is optimized to impact the gaming experience as little as possible. Gamers can set the browser's transparency setting so the entire game screen is still visible, even if the browser is open. This means that they can, for instance, watch online videos overlaying their game at 50% transparency, while at the same time "grinding" for experience in Age of Conan.


Rogue's Notable Features:
-- Game overlay for Windows XP & Vista
-- Full CSS, Javascript, and Flash support
-- Hot key to open/hide browser when in game
-- Configurable transparency settings
-- Optimization toggle for faster/slower computers



About GotGame

GotGame enables gamers to access the content and community they crave through a variety of in-game applications and Internet content portals. Through the LIVE and Rogue downloadable applications, GotGame offers gamers advanced communication, browser, and content delivery tools they can use inside of the most popular PC games. GotGame also operates the GotGame Network, which includes one of the most exciting gaming video-sharing sites (videos.gotgame.com), a widely-read gaming news site (news.gotgame.com), and the largest syndicated radio show about gaming in the world (radio.gotgame.com).


http://news.prnewswire.com/DisplayReleaseContent.aspx?ACCT=104&STORY=/www/story/11-21-2008/0004930576&EDATE=
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.95/day)
Likes
500
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
#2
Dam that means I need to get a quad core if I don’t want to affect my in-game performance.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#3
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#4
The video arent fluid in games. Frames skip. I dont recommend watching any video's while in game.
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Flickering video

Yeah, I'm getting the video flicker. Just normal web browsing is working great for me though!
 

canndie

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Rogue rocks!

this app has been working perfectly fine for me so far, I recommend everyone to go try it!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#8
I may be entirely dense here and missing something, though how is this any different than alt-tabbing? I know it's transparent/overlay etc. However, if you're trying to 'browse' a web-page while in game, then you need to use the mouse(most people anyways...) but what percentage of games have a mouse icon while you're playing it? With the exception to RPG/MMO, there is no cursor.

In order to bring up the cursor, you have to enable it, through a hotkey. Doing so, switches the CPU priority to the browser, a.k.a. a faux-process window? Hence, you're still technically "alt-tabbing."

For a list of common problems associated with this program :

-GG_Live.exe half or fully loads one cores, slowing anything you attempt to run simultaneously. HL2 Deathmatch runs at 13FPS instead of its usual 90+, and the optimization options have no noticeable effect(as an example, and that's WITH 'Game" mode enabled).
-Mouse wheel scrolling works intermittently at best, not at all most of the time (at desktop, you can scroll up, but not down?)
-Rogue cannot be run simultaneously with ATI Tray Tool - the latter must be shut down for Rogue to run. Upon testing it became apparent that Rogue is conflicting with ATI Tray Tool's overlay function (used to display FPS ingame, among other things) and disabling this part of ATT allows both to run in tandem.
-Even in the very limited number of games you can get the overlay to display correctly, half the time you can't interact with the window other than dragging it around.
-The program seems entirely devoid of configuration options - simple things such as proxy and security settings are nowhere to be found.
-Latency is inconsistent, and sometimes noticeable slower than a normal browsing session, with a proper browser.

The second to last one concerns me the most. While a hard-firewall should handle the majority of your security issues; not being able to manage bookmarks, edit, adjust or change browser settings is aggrivating. I'd love to be able to change the default key binding so that it doesn't conflict with FRAPS, without having to use a keyboard script to do it...

Neat idea, but I can see why noone's published it in the past, as it's just a limited transparent browser. I imagine there's people out there that have reworked their FireFox to do the same thing...
 
Last edited:

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#9
I couldn't get it to work either. The overlay keys wouldn't work, and it crashed both Call of Duty 2 and 4...the main games I play. SO until they get a good number of bugs worked out I won't be using it.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,833 (1.00/day)
Likes
594
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#10
Also, if you do uninstall it, make sure to uninstall Adobe "Air," which doesn't seem to be removed alongside Rogue. That's of course if you don't use Air for other things.
 

Msap14

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
156 (0.05/day)
Likes
10
Location
US
System Name Piece
Processor Ahtlon 2 X2 3GHz
Motherboard AsRock
Cooling Big sink and fan
Memory 4GB
Video Card(s) 9600
Storage three , don't remember what they are
Display(s) Asus 22" wide
Case Xigmatek
Power Supply a good one
#11
this is tight as hell. little improvement and it will be tits