• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU Always runs on PCIE 1.1 x16 no matter what I do!

Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol
I have set Power management mode to "Prefer Maximum Performance" in NVIDIA Control panel, changed the CPU and PCH link speed to the max that my motherboard supports from "auto" in the BIOS, and even started the render test in GPU-Z. The GPU still runs at PCIE 1.1 instead of 2.0! Please help if you know any solution.
2024-07-09 15-02-07_Trim.gif
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,942 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Eutopia!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
which motherboard ? the z490 ?
 
Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
50 (0.03/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming - Bios 3607
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A
Memory 32 GB DDR4 @3800 MHz CL16 (4 x 8 GB)
Video Card(s) ASRock Radeon RX 7900 XTX Phantom Gaming OC
Storage 1x WD Black SN850 1 TB, 1 x Samsung 990 PRO 2 TB, 2 x Samsung 860 1 TB, 1x Segate 16 TB HDD
Display(s) Dell G3223Q 4K UHD
Audio Device(s) ROG SupremeFX 7.1-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC S1220A
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x SHIFT
Mouse Razer DeathAdder v3.0 PRO
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow V4
Software Windows 11 PRO 23H2 build 22631.3447
Do you have a setting in BIOS named max link speed or similar ?
Have you updated the BIOS recently ?
Also try running another test to put more stress on the GPU (Unigine Heaven)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,942 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Eutopia!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol
Do you have a setting in BIOS named max link speed or similar ?
Yes, I already set it to the maximum supported link speed!
Have you updated the BIOS recently ?
To be honest, I don't remember the GPU EVER running on PCIE 2.0, since I built this PC. Since then, I updated the bios many times.
Also try running another test to put more stress on the GPU (Unigine Heaven)
Yes, I tried that too.

does it look like this

or this:
I have this one:
VGA Bios Collection: Afox GT 610 2048 MB | TechPowerUp
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2022
Messages
113 (0.12/day)
Processor Intel i5 9400f
Motherboard MSI Z390 Gaming Plus
Cooling SilentiumPC Fera 3
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 16-18-18-36
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 Super Ventus XS OC
Storage 500 GB Kingston A2000; 1 TB Kingston A2000; 1 TB HGST Travelstar
Display(s) AOC 24G2U
Case SilentiumPC Signum SG1
Audio Device(s) Creative Pebble Plus; Logitech G533
Power Supply beQuiet Systempower 9 500W
Mouse Logitech G403 Hero
Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins (Red)
Software Windows 10 Pro
Have you tried removing your overclock and running at stock, because your card is already heavily artifacting in the gpu-z rendertest.
 
Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol
Have you tried removing your overclock and running at stock, because your card is already heavily artifacting in the gpu-z rendertest.
Yeah, I did!
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,942 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Eutopia!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
normally gpu-z should be saying my motherboard can do pcie x16 3.0 at pcie x16 2.0

did ya try other slot on mainboard ?

and did ya set link speed in bios to maximum like pcie 3.0 or the graphiccards 2.0
 
Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol
normally gpu-z should be saying my motherboard can do pcie x16 3.0 at pcie x16 2.0

did ya try other slot on mainboard ?
Well, i tried that too. My GPU never ran at PCIE 2.0, since I built this pc (as i have said before).
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,942 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Eutopia!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
sorry edited my post
and did ya set link speed in bios to maximum like pcie 3.0 or the graphiccards 2.0
 
Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol
sorry edited my post
and did ya set link speed in bios to maximum like pcie 3.0 or the graphiccards 2.0
Yeah pcie link speed is set to max. i changed it from "auto".
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,942 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Eutopia!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
last option i can think of is set it to 2.0
 
Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
3,085 (0.45/day)
Update BIOS to the lastest version, clean the PCIe pins and blow some air into the socket.

Try the card on both PCIe slots and force link speed. Ensure all drivers are updated.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,678 (6.54/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Do you have msi afterburner?
 
Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,678 (6.54/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yes, I have it installed, but I don't use it. I use aorus engine to overclock.
Restore your defaults in aorus engine, and anything in options, same with msi afterburner, I remember a certain setting doing that in afterbuner, but it was under options

Also check windows power properties
 
Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol
Restore your defaults in aorus engine, and anything in options, same with msi afterburner, I remember a certain setting doing that in afterbuner, but it was under options

Also check windows power properties
I even tried gpuz render test without applying any overclocking, still showed pcie 1.1. For windows power plan, I use the ultimate performance power plan.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,678 (6.54/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok shut down, pull the gpu out, clean the pins, dust the slot carefully, check the gpu for any missing smd parts near the pcie blade on both sides Reinsert the gpu properly. Last effort is to try a fresh install of windows and not use any oc tools for the time being.
 
Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol
I even tried gpuz render test without applying any overclocking, still showed pcie 1.1. For windows power plan, I use the ultimate performance power plan.
I actually tried another GPU (GT 730 Kepler version) and it showed as pcie 1.1 too. So the problem is definitely not the GPU.

Ok shut down, pull the gpu out, clean the pins, dust the slot carefully, check the gpu for any missing smd parts near the pcie blade on both sides Reinsert the gpu properly. Last effort is to try a fresh install of windows and not use any oc tools for the time being.
It's already a fresh install of windows as you can guess by seeing the desktop wallpaper. I installed it yesterday.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,678 (6.54/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I actually tried another GPU (GT 730 Kepler version) and it showed as pcie 1.1 too. So the problem is definitely not the GPU.


It's already a fresh install of windows as you can guess by seeing the desktop wallpaper. I installed it yesterday.
Well then it boils down to motherboard or cpu, check for bent lga pins, corrosion on cpu pads, check for bent pins in pcie slot, clear cmos before booting up again.
Update motherboard bios

Try another motherboard/cpu
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
5,323 (4.10/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
It's a GT 610, it could be running on 1.1 x1 and it's not going to be a bottleneck. And it so happens you picked one of the worst brands to buy yours from too, Afox sells tons of dubiously sourced cards, some are legit, some are outright counterfeit

I'd be more concerned about using a GT 610 for ANYTHING paired with a Rocket Lake system, talk about an extreme bottleneck! You'd have been far, far better off by simply buying an 11600K instead of KF and using the iGPU instead.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
115 (0.06/day)
Processor i9 10900K
Motherboard ASUS Z590 E-Gaming
Cooling CPU AIO - EVGA Liquid cooled GPU - Air cooled
Memory 32GB
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3090 Ti Holoblack (NTK female pins in the cable that came with the GPU)
Storage Too many to list here !!!
Display(s) 32" Samsung 4K (Smart Monitor)
Case Obsidian 500D
Audio Device(s) Monitor - see above
Power Supply EVGA 1000 watt
Mouse EVGA X17
Keyboard EVGA Z15
Software Win 10
I have set Power management mode to "Prefer Maximum Performance" in NVIDIA Control panel, changed the CPU and PCH link speed to the max that my motherboard supports from "auto" in the BIOS, and even started the render test in GPU-Z. The GPU still runs at PCIE 1.1 instead of 2.0! Please help if you know any solution.
View attachment 354592
Set the Max Link Speed to Gen2 in the BIOS, this is a workaround fix for it for some, there are others that have this problem with PCI Express 2.0 on newer motherboards like Z390 and Z490 and so on, if it still don't work it points to a problem with the BIOS on the motherboard.

Watch the video below.....

 
Last edited:
Joined
May 23, 2024
Messages
39 (0.75/day)
System Name Rocketlake Workstation+ (Yes, it's a workstation, not a gaming PC, so don't mind the GPU)
Processor Intel core i5-11600KF (Overclocked to 5.6 GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z490
Cooling Deepcool Liquid Cooling (AIO)
Memory DDR4-3200/ 2x32 GB (Total 64 GB)
Video Card(s) Afox GT 610/ 2 GB GDDR3 (Overclocked to 1.1 GHz)
Storage Kingston SSD 128GB L50361-00, Crucial 240GB CT240BX500SSD1, Toshiba 500GB HDD
Display(s) AOC E970Sw - 1970W (overclocked to 76 Hz)
Audio Device(s) iBall stereo speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart 500W + Gigabyte GP-450B (Total 950W)
Mouse Dell USB Mouse
Keyboard SIGMACHIP USB Keyboard
VR HMD None
Software Ubuntu (Always the latest version) + Windows 11 Enterprise Insider Preview (Dev channel)
Benchmark Scores Any free and trusted benchmarking software out there? I don't want to install stuff from steam lol
It's a GT 610, it could be running on 1.1 x1 and it's not going to be a bottleneck. And it so happens you picked one of the worst brands to buy yours from too, Afox sells tons of dubiously sourced cards, some are legit, some are outright counterfeit

I'd be more concerned about using a GT 610 for ANYTHING paired with a Rocket Lake system, talk about an extreme bottleneck! You'd have been far, far better off by simply buying an 11600K instead of KF and using the iGPU instead.
When I built my PC back in 2020, it was the only good unlocked CPU available in my area (and I really needed to overclock). The non-F version wasn't available. And I bought the afox version because it's cheaper and has 2GB vram instead of 1gb. Also as you can see this is the only GT 610 that can be overclocked by THAT much. It's a 300+MHz OC on the core clock!

Set the Link Max Speed to Gen2 in the BIOS, this is a workaround fix for it for some, there are others that have this problem with PCI Express 2.0 on newer motherboards like Z390 and Z490 and so on, if it still don't work it points to a problem with the BIOS on the motherboard.

Watch the video below.....

Thanks. But it's still not fixed. I don't know what to do.....
 
Last edited:
Top