• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU audio chip ionfo

Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Is more detailed information available for determining the specific GPU audio chip's model number & capabilities? S/N ratio, for example.
AFAIK, Realtek audio chips are usually found on most video cards with audio out capability, even though the AMD/nVidia driver usually calls the audio driver by some other name.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
Realtek? I doubt that. What software so you currently use to get this audio info?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,510 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,597
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#3
Is more detailed information available for determining the specific GPU audio chip's model number & capabilities? S/N ratio, for example.
AFAIK, Realtek audio chips are usually found on most video cards with audio out capability, even though the AMD/nVidia driver usually calls the audio driver by some other name.
Your GPU can only output digital audio, so SNR is meaningless.
Otherwise, GTX500-series and later, or AMD 5000 series and later can do 24-bit 192KHz 8ch LPCM.
Anything Kepler-based and above can do advanced codecs, like DTS-HD, Dolby Atmos etc.
http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2796/~/which-hdmi-audio-formats-do-nvidia-gpus-support?

Realtek audio chips are usually found on most video cards with audio out capability
When did this happen?
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Okay: is the audio out chip that's found on video cards, found as a separate microchip, or is it located on the same wafer as the GPU?
I recall that some ATI (pre-AMD buyout) video cards did include Realtek audio.
At any rate: it seems to be logical to include some details on the audio output capabilities within the GPU-Z software.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
607 (0.41/day)
Likes
303
System Name Headshot
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8GHz 1.35V
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero ROG
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4 @ 2666 16-18-18-18-36
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix ROG RX 480 8GB OC
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Seagate 1TBx2 (Home/Data), 2TB Seagate (Games)
Display(s) 2x LG IPS235
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Stack (Schiit Audio Modi 2 DAC + Magni 3 AMP)
Power Supply eVGA Supernova 1000 G2
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Solus - Budgie 64bit (No Windows)
#5
Your GPU can only output digital audio, so SNR is meaningless.
Otherwise, GTX500-series and later, or AMD 5000 series and later can do 24-bit 192KHz 8ch LPCM.
Anything Kepler-based and above can do advanced codecs, like DTS-HD, Dolby Atmos etc.
http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2796/~/which-hdmi-audio-formats-do-nvidia-gpus-support?


When did this happen?
The Radeon HD 2900 Supported 5.1 Audio over HDMI (the cards came with a special DVI-D to HDMI adapter) A realtek chip was used.

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads...=24&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

Down the list is the ATI HDMI Audio driver, last updated 2012.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,637
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#6
I don't think there is any audio chip on a graphics card. It simply passes the digital audio to a source that has a DAC
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
607 (0.41/day)
Likes
303
System Name Headshot
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8GHz 1.35V
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero ROG
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengence LPX DDR4 @ 2666 16-18-18-18-36
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix ROG RX 480 8GB OC
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB, Seagate 1TBx2 (Home/Data), 2TB Seagate (Games)
Display(s) 2x LG IPS235
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Stack (Schiit Audio Modi 2 DAC + Magni 3 AMP)
Power Supply eVGA Supernova 1000 G2
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Solus - Budgie 64bit (No Windows)
#7
I don't think there is any audio chip on a graphics card. It simply passes the digital audio to a source that has a DAC
It is just a codec, compression/decompression. for the DAC
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,057 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,962
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
The audio codec is inside the GPU silicon nowadays, and yes, it can only output digital audio signals.

I vaguely remember some 3rd party audio chip way way back on ATI, for the first generation, before they implemented their own.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,376 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,508
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#9
The audio codec is inside the GPU silicon nowadays, and yes, it can only output digital audio signals.

I vaguely remember some 3rd party audio chip way way back on ATI, for the first generation, before they implemented their own.
Yeah they definitely used to use Realtek as you could download the HDMI audio driver directly from them.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,510 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,597
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#10
I vaguely remember some 3rd party audio chip way way back on ATI, for the first generation, before they implemented their own.
Those were ATI Wonder chips (or ATI Theatre), which were handling everything from video capture to some analog A/V outputs (only on All-in-Wonder and AiW HD cards).
Nvidia used to have a similar co-processor on some 200-series and 9000 series cards. Don't remember what was the name and what exactly it did...
Though, nothing to do with what OP is talking about.

The Radeon HD 2900 Supported 5.1 Audio over HDMI (the cards came with a special DVI-D to HDMI adapter) A realtek chip was used.

http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads...=24&Level=4&Conn=3&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false

Down the list is the ATI HDMI Audio driver, last updated 2012.
I think that's the driver for audio pass-through. Basically for an onboard Realtek audio IC to do the heavy lifting and stream its output to HDMI of your ATI/AMD GPU HDMI directly.
Just to make it simple: new cards do their own audio, old cards do pass-through from onboard audio (if they have HDMI).
For all newer cards you can find specs and audio capabilities either on corresponding official websites, or the worst case scenario - Wikipedia.
In 99.9% of the cases it will be 7.1ch 192KHz for everything made in the past 5-something years, as I mentioned earlier.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,361 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#11
The audio chip on board is only used for HDMI passthrough. So graphic card can output video and audio through HDMI output. The chips cannot playback audio on their own.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,376 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,508
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#12
The audio chip on board is only used for HDMI passthrough. So graphic card can output video and audio through HDMI output. The chips cannot playback audio on their own.
Sorry but you’re r wrong. I'm currently listening to Spotify on my Monitors speakers via DP through my Fury.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,361 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#13
Afaik, you're actually playing music on CPU, it's just outputting it through the graphic card. Passthrough, no actual DSP involved.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,376 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,508
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#14
P
Afaik, you're actually playing music on CPU, it's just outputting it through the graphic card. Passthrough, no actual DSP involved.
That’s a bit of gymnastics there to justify your point. You’re trying to tell me my CPU is now a sound card rather than the more likely fact the card is actually doing the work? But do go on...

 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,361 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#15
Don't mix TrueAudio DSP with passthrough. You need to specifically code the audio processing to go through TrueAudio DSP logic, in which case GPU is acting like the usual audio DSP on dedicated soundcards. Imagine TrueAudio as Creative's EAX...
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,376 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,508
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#16
Don't mix TrueAudio DSP with passthrough. You need to specifically code the audio processing to go through TrueAudio DSP logic, in which case GPU is acting like the usual audio DSP on dedicated soundcards. Imagine TrueAudio as Creative's EAX...
Cmon man it’s coming direct from the card to my monitor this is not a pass through situation is my monitor doing it? This is not a DSP situation it was music in Stereo nothing more...Nothing like EAX. Just accept that the card can do audio on its own...
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,361 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#17
Your procesor is decoding MP3 and sending the audio directly to your speakers via graphic card. That's simple decode without any DSP involved (basically the same as Direct Stereo on Sound Blaster cards which bypasses DSP logic entirely). Windows does that on its own since Windows Vista (when they trashed the audio subsystem).

When DSP is involved, your CPU decodes the MP3, sends it to DSP which processes the audio and sends it to DACs or through soundcard to monitor DACs. Technically, DSP doesn't play much role in the process if you're not applying post processing effects like equalizer, bass enhancements and things like "Crystalizer". It just outputs the audio as it was recorded. With DSP involved, you shape the sound to your taste.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,376 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,508
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#18
Your procesor is decoding MP3 and sending the audio directly to your speakers via graphic card. That's simple decode without any DSP involved (basically the same as Direct Stereo on Sound Blaster cards which bypasses DSP logic entirely). Windows does that on its own since Windows Vista (when they trashed the audio subsystem).

When DSP is involved, your CPU decodes the MP3, sends it to DSP which processes the audio and sends it to DACs or through soundcard to monitor DACs. Technically, DSP doesn't play much role in the process if you're not applying post processing effects like equalizer, bass enhancements and things like "Crystalizer". It just outputs the audio as it was recorded. With DSP involved, you shape the sound to your taste.
I can agree it's not actually using the True Audio DSP bit, but the point still stands you don't "need" anything extra besides your GFX card to actually get usable audio from it regardless of Format
I just tested it with a HL2 just to see what happened. Again have audio I have even made sure my SB ZX is disabled. The card has zero issues giving me sound in anything I have thrown at it. Just listening to Radiohead on iTunes in their Lossless format, again just the card here...
God these speakers are terrible....
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,361 (2.56/day)
Likes
5,816
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz 15-15-15-32 1T (1.25V)
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (1950/11000 OC Mode)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
#19
Well, yes, end result is audio playback. How it gets there and at what quality, that's another thing, but yes, you get the audio.