• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU crashes while gaming

soulcakeduck

Hello all, my graphics card crashes after a few minutes of gaming and I am wondering how to get more info out of it or test solutions.

PC
Windows 10
AMD Ryzen 5 2600x ~3.6 GHz processor
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
ROG STRIX X370-F motherboard
Cool Master 750 Watt, Semi-Modular 80 PLUS Bronze PSU

Problem
I recently started playing Grim Dawn, an older game and had no issues for the first 50 or so hours played. Now I can only play about 10-15 minutes before the graphics card turns off. The rest of the PC is running but there's no way to get a signal to the monitors again so I end up rebooting.

So far...
* I've monitored GPU temp, about 68 Celsius when it crashes. The Windows task manager performance window suggested the card was at about 60% utilization fwiw.
* I tried running FurMark to test the GPU under strain. FurMark ran about 3 minutes and then encountered the same issue, GPU turned off. I couldn't find any log from FurMark (in its install directory or in %appdata%/local/temp) but maybe I'm not checking correctly.
* Windows event log doesn't have any event that I could identify related to the GPU crashing, just a "last shut down was unexpected" after the next reboot. Again I might be clueless here.
* I have tried unplugging. The GPU is firmly in its slot and connected to the PSU.

Whither
I don't have super easy access to another computer to swap parts in/out so I'm hoping there's more I can learn before resorting to that, but it's an option if necessary.
From here, what's the best way to monitor/log/test that would give me some meaningful info about the problem?

System Name Sunk Cost Fallacy
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard ASRock B650E Steel Legend Wifi
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360 Rev. 7
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 7900 XTX Vapor-X