1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU mystery !!!!!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by kurasaki, Apr 20, 2012.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,813 (9.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,258
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    does the 4670 need an external power connector at the back of the card? these symptoms would appear if you failed to connect that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,723 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    784
    Location:
    Portugal
    Wouldn't that result in a "Additional power needed bla bla bla...plug cable." message, instead of a blank screen?
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,813 (9.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,258
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    nope, that kind of error message was only on a select few cards when they first came out. now they beep, or light up an LED (or do nothing)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    25,282 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,578
    Location:
    Houston
    Most cards do nothing.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    4670 needs no power plug. It gets all power from PCI bus. Is the card used?
     
    Law-II and Mussels say thanks.
  6. kurasaki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    :) bump
     
  7. Noci

    Noci New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle of my universe
    Simple thing maybe?

    I'm certainly no expert, but for example my monitor needs manually to be set on VGA, DVI or HDMI input on it's OSD. Without choosing the right input, it will display nothing with the rest of the system working properly.
     
    kurasaki says thanks.
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,429 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,774
    its manual switching which I prefer honestly
     
  9. kurasaki New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    as i already know that info though
     
  10. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    374 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi,

    have you already tested the HD 4670 in another computer? Perhaps the video card is faulty? Consider returning the video card and get a replacement. See if the replacement would work, otherwise there's something wrong with the motherboard, e.g. the pci-e slot or it's a compatibility issue.
     
  11. Huddo93

    Huddo93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    299 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Perth, WA, Australia
    There really isn't any definite way to check if your HD4670 is dead or not UNLESS you try it in another computer, OR try a different GPU that is known to work with your computer.

    Otherwise there is no definite answers, and to be honest testing the GPU in a different rig or with a working GPU is the easiest way to check where the problem lies.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)