• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU mystery !!!!!

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#26
does the 4670 need an external power connector at the back of the card? these symptoms would appear if you failed to connect that.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,884 (1.03/day)
Likes
881
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#27
Wouldn't that result in a "Additional power needed bla bla bla...plug cable." message, instead of a blank screen?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,125 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,559
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#28
Wouldn't that result in a "Additional power needed bla bla bla...plug cable." message, instead of a blank screen?
nope, that kind of error message was only on a select few cards when they first came out. now they beep, or light up an LED (or do nothing)
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,573 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,470
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#29
Most cards do nothing.
 

baggpipes

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2009
Messages
163 (0.05/day)
Likes
45
System Name R2D2
Processor AMD FX-4100
Motherboard MSI 970 G45
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston T1 8GB 1600 DDR3 @ 1800mHz
Video Card(s) AMD Sapphire 6850
Storage RAID 0 WD Caviar Blue 1TB total
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen and Sony 32" Bravia 1080p 60hz
Case NZXT Gamma Series
Power Supply 700w OCZ Mod Stream Pro
Software Windows 7 Professional
Benchmark Scores hit 4.5ghz stock cooler....
#30
4670 needs no power plug. It gets all power from PCI bus. Is the card used?
 

Noci

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
42 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Location
Somewhere in the middle of my universe
System Name Warranty Voided
Processor AMD FX-8150 @ 4.0 Ghz
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1.0
Cooling Zero Infinity Freeflow+, 2 x Accelero Xtreme 5870 and 3 x Corsair AF140
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4 GB DDR3 1600 (7-8-8-24)
Video Card(s) 2 x VTX3D HD 6950 1GB GDDR5 (1 x shaders unlocked) in CF
Storage Corsair Force3 60GB SATA III, 2 x 250GB Maxtor SATA in RAID 0, 1 x 2TB eSATA
Display(s) 3 x Medion MD20888, 23" (1920x1080 @ 60 Hz) in Eyefinity
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540 (temporary)
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek® ALC889
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Windows 8 pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Sooo useless! It a form of exhibitionism...;-) Games just have to run nicely....
#32
Simple thing maybe?

I'm certainly no expert, but for example my monitor needs manually to be set on VGA, DVI or HDMI input on it's OSD. Without choosing the right input, it will display nothing with the rest of the system working properly.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,246 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,824
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#33
I'm certainly no expert, but for example my monitor needs manually to be set on VGA, DVI or HDMI input on it's OSD. Without choosing the right input, it will display nothing with the rest of the system working properly.
its manual switching which I prefer honestly
 

kurasaki

New Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#34
I'm certainly no expert, but for example my monitor needs manually to be set on VGA, DVI or HDMI input on it's OSD. Without choosing the right input, it will display nothing with the rest of the system working properly.
@_JP_
i already know that information,i am already using that button,i do change my monitor source
whenever i need to change
as i already know that info though
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.16/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#35
Hi,

have you already tested the HD 4670 in another computer? Perhaps the video card is faulty? Consider returning the video card and get a replacement. See if the replacement would work, otherwise there's something wrong with the motherboard, e.g. the pci-e slot or it's a compatibility issue.
 

Huddo93

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
299 (0.13/day)
Likes
57
Location
Perth, WA, Australia
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus Z77 Deluxe-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory RipjawsX 8GB @ 2133MHz 11-11-11-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SC @ 1300MHz core
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 256GB + 1TB Samsung HDD
Display(s) 23" LG W2343T
Case Corsair 650D
Power Supply Corsiar AX-850
#36
There really isn't any definite way to check if your HD4670 is dead or not UNLESS you try it in another computer, OR try a different GPU that is known to work with your computer.

Otherwise there is no definite answers, and to be honest testing the GPU in a different rig or with a working GPU is the easiest way to check where the problem lies.