• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gpu stuck at x8

Stashboxx

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
Hello and thanks for having me.
I have been through the forums as best I can to find a fix but nothing I try works.
I have been through 3 cards the most recent being 2070 super , and two new motherboards so far and the problem persists . Only will run at x8 when gpuz and my bios says it shows that I can run at 16x .

Msi z390 gaming pro carbon
8700k
16g hyperx fury ram
700 super flower psu
250 g toshiba m.2
250 Kingston sata ssd.
Corsair h110 aio

I have tried everything I can to get it to x16 from bios settings, changing the gen to gen 3 from auto, Nvidia control panel , different slots in my motherboard, I have tried the nvme in both available slots and even just off the sata ssd. No change.
I’ve done drive and memory checks galore. Been through device manager etc
One other thing I see is it often hangs up with a solid white vga light and takes a few times to boot properly.
Desperately pulling my hair out here.
Only things I haven’t replaced are cpu ram and psu.
And I’m also running out of funds to replace parts.
It started after a spillage got liquid on my original motherboard near the pcie slot my gpu was in.
I’ve since replaced the board for new , twice , and three different gpus .

Please help lol.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
269 (0.26/day)
If you've tested both different motherboards and gpus, then the only common element left is the cpu - that's where the PCIe controller is.
It may either have some grease/dirt on one of pads underneath, of simply be damaged.

What is the reported lane count when you put gpu into second x16 slot? This slot is electrically x8, but if one of signalling lanes is shot, it should report less.
 

Stashboxx

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
how would i check this ?
i have ran it in the other slots and get the same x8 or x4 fromthe bottom slot

I have also reseated the cpu and checked pins, one need a very very minor amount to move like less than a millimetre to move if anything.
As well as re seating the gpu many many times

so after a
1591027634156.png
system crash and a few reboot attempts, its gone down to x1

after eboot it came back to x8
1591029270872.png
 

Stashboxx

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
I have down to either that or the psu is past it’s best so to speak and not delivering what it says it is and therefore not allowing the power through to allow x 16 ?
It’s just so strange of a fault to just lose 8 lanes from a cpu and it still mostly works.
 

Regeneration

NGOHQ.COM
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
2,275 (0.42/day)
PSU has no role in PCIe link negotiation.

By the way, the 2 motherboards you tried. Different models or the same one?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
289 (0.86/day)
System Name Neon Master
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard x570 Aorus Master F11
Cooling H115i RGB Platinum 280mm/Case Fans NF-A14 x4
Memory 2x16GB 3733 C16 G.Skill Neo
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Strix
Storage MP600 1tb+2tb / 860 Evo 1tb / WD4005FZBX
Display(s) LG 27GL850-b
Case Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) BeyerDynamic DT 770 Pro (250 Ohms)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro rgb
Keyboard K95 Platinum rgb
Software W10Pro 1909
Actually having the same issue on a completely different platform. At some point i solved it *somehow* by loading up bios defaults and it was working at x16 for months.. up until recently when again.. it wasnt.. and now its stuck at x8 again.
 

Stashboxx

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
The first board was msi z390 a pro.
Now using msi z390 gaming pro carbon.

I tried bios resets and bios versions lol.

So it def not a power issue ? Like it couldn’t be a fault reading it’s giving the power but isn’t ?

Again it seems strange where my lanes have gone too
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
165 (0.31/day)
Location
United Kingdom
System Name Rainbow Headcrab
Processor Intel Core i7-7700
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B250I Gaming
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 2x 8 GB HyperX Fury DDR4 2400 MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSi GeForce GTX 1660 Ti Gaming X
Storage 512 GB ADATA SU900, 512 GB ADATA SP600, 2 TB Seagate Barracuda 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung C24F396
Case AeroCool Aero One Mini Eclipse
Audio Device(s) Genius SP-HF160 speakers, AKG Y50 headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 550W
Mouse Logitech M525
Keyboard MagicForce 68
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy: 6113, Superposition 1080p Extreme: 3426, Cinebench R20: 2048/398
I once had the same issue, and a PSU swap solved it. It might be something else in your case, but I definitely wouldn't rule out a faulty (or in my instance underpowered) PSU.
I already answered that question.

PSU has no role in PCIe link negotiation.
Theoretically, I agree. Theoretically...
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
899 (0.17/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600 AF@4.075Ghz 1.312v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Chinese Snowman
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse AMD RX 580 4GB BIOS Modded
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
I already answered that question.

PSU has no role in PCIe link negotiation.
Yup, different boards and GPU's tested leaves one culprit, the CPU, it's the only constant in the testing and it houses the chipset/pcie controller. OP you have tested the CPU in different boards with different graphics, these are all found to be ok presumably though the chance of having the exact same problem in a different test setup specifies something else, aand as pointed out the PSU does not have any effect on the number of pcie lanes
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
165 (0.31/day)
Location
United Kingdom
System Name Rainbow Headcrab
Processor Intel Core i7-7700
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B250I Gaming
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 2x 8 GB HyperX Fury DDR4 2400 MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSi GeForce GTX 1660 Ti Gaming X
Storage 512 GB ADATA SU900, 512 GB ADATA SP600, 2 TB Seagate Barracuda 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung C24F396
Case AeroCool Aero One Mini Eclipse
Audio Device(s) Genius SP-HF160 speakers, AKG Y50 headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 550W
Mouse Logitech M525
Keyboard MagicForce 68
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy: 6113, Superposition 1080p Extreme: 3426, Cinebench R20: 2048/398
Yup, different boards and GPU's tested leaves one culprit, the CPU, it's the only constant in the testing and it houses the chipset/pcie controller. OP you have tested the CPU in different boards with different graphics, these are all found to be ok presumably though the chance of having the exact same problem in a different test setup specifies something else, aand as pointed out the PSU does not have any effect on the number of pcie lanes
Again, theoretically it's true, but I had the exact same problem once, and swapping my PSU solved the issue. Never rule out anything just because theory says otherwise. ;)
 

Stashboxx

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
Update, ive bought a 9700k and this resolved the issue back at x16 now. Thank you all very much for your help and time on this :)
 
Top