• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU-Z 0.7.5 + R9 290. Throttling the card

e1m0

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi!

My rig is as follows:
i5-3570k
Sapphire R9 290 reference
8GB ram
Windows 8.1 Pro

When I use GPU-Z my GPU starts throttling frequently (see the pictures).
Resulting this (white lines of the core and memory clocks are the throttles):
http://aijaa.com/NCvR9X

The exact moment of a throttle:
http://aijaa.com/pntucK

This doesn't happen, if I don't execute GPU-Z.

Before anyone says that this is temperature related, it is not. As my temperatures were (76-80°C) far inferior to my temperature target (88°C) and with out GPU-Z I don't experience the throttling.

This can be reproduced easily by just executing GPU-Z 0.7.5. when ever I'm stressing the GPU.
The throttling occurs even when down clocked (for example to 700MHz) and drops the core down to 300MHz causing fps drops etc.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
Could you test MSI afterburners hardware monitor to see if it does the same thing? Also let us know what driver you are using.
 

e1m0

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Could you test MSI afterburners hardware monitor to see if it does the same thing? Also let us know what driver you are using.
MSI Afterburner (3.0.0 beta) doesn't create any drops and works correctly.
(AB screens, when GPU-Z is not running) http://aijaa.com/3QAlFu

If I run GPU-Z, afterburner of course shows the same drops that GPU-Z.
But if GPU-Z is not executed, there are no drops.

I'm using the latest WHQL 13.12 drivers (as can be seen from the AB).
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#4
Hmm this may be a question for W1Z since he is the creator of the software. Give him a PM on this issue.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#5
does it help if you turn off some sensors (click the arrow after name) ? are you running any other monitoring apps at the same time as gpuz?
 

e1m0

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
I tried every sensor, and at some point (when turned off all the VDDC in/out measurements) it seemed that the clocks didn't throttle anymore, but the GPU load didn't stay at 100% and did fluctuate alot, but was better than with those sensors on, even though the performance was quite similar to the situation where the clocks also throttled.

cgminer has temperature and fan measurement and Heaven 4 has clock and temperature measurements.
Those are the two programs that I have used to test GPU-Z or after burner.
Neither temperature nor clock sensors had any effect on throttling (if I turned them on/off) during the test I just made.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#7
Is your CPU at 100% load while testing this? CPU, not GPU
 

e1m0

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
My CPU is not even close to 100% when testing this.
For example with cgminer it stays under 10% all the time, while GPU is 100% if I dont open GPU-Z (as soon as I open it the throttling begins).

I can't run further testes now because it appears that my connection to my computer that I was monitoring (from a distance) has failed after a crash when I executed GPU-Z as I tried to take a screen shot with CPU utilisation, AB and GPU-Z simultaneously....
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,067 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,974
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#9
the throttling happens only when using remote desktop?
 

e1m0

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
According to the data from GPU-Z I did experience throttling before remote desktop, but I didn't have time to verify the source and I didn't use GPU-Z that actively back then.
It was only today when I found out that it was GPU-Z that causes it (I started active monitoring of the temperatures and clocks yesterday, first I thought it was the GPU or PSU, but they are ruled now out as I could replicate the problem) and I'm sure of it as I could replicate the behavior just by opening GPU-Z while I had load on the GPU
I wont be able to do any further testes, as I can't hard reset my computer due to the distance. The computer apparently crashed and shut itself down without reboot. I'll be back to my computer in 2 weeks. Before that I don't believe that I can do anything about it.