• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU-Z 0.7.8 / 0.7.9 / 0.8.0 Bios reading not possible GTX670-solved with gpu-z 0.8.1

Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi,
with GPU-Z 0.7.8 I can not save this Bios from GTX 670, Error see screen, with GPU-Z 0.7.7. all fine, what's wrong with v.0.7.8? Can you fix it please, thanks. :toast:



 
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#2
Hello W1zzard,
the Problem with Bios reading GPU-Z and nvflash still the same, nvflash 5.163 and GPU-Z 0.7.7 are both Version OK, Error / Problem see picture please.

Can you Help ?
 

Attachments

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#3
i updated to a newer version of nvflash, which is apparently broken.. i'll look into this later today
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Hi W1zzard,

with GPU-Z 0.8.0, same problem as before, Bios reading not possible.
Possible workaround for this Problem "Bios reading" in sight, or say you, with the older version GPU-Z 0.7.7... :(
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Hi W1zzard,
sorry for the late answer, with GPU-Z 0.8.1 Bios saving -> GTX670, it works, Bios-File with Hex-editor... same as orig.
Thanks for your great work!

Regards
gbt modder :)
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
501 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#7
Works for me too!
GIGABYTE GTX 670 (2 GB videoRAM), Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit OS.
However, I need to disable my Windows Defender antivirus, or else the whole PC freezes and needs a hard reset. :)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
Windows Defender
Can you use nvflash directly (from our dl section) and check if there is a difference between running it from your windows temp directory (ie C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Local\Temp) vs another folder?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Can you use nvflash directly (from our dl section) and check if there is a difference between running it from your windows temp directory (ie C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Local\Temp) vs another folder?
I'm able to save just fine with the NVFlash in temp that GPU-Z extracts using the same parameters GPU-Z uses. Just doesn't work when executed from GPU-Z. GPU-Z runs it as ...temp\\nvflash.exe... I'm no expert on paths in Windows but could the double slash be a problem?
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
501 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#10
@Maban - does GPU-Z fail the same way for you the way it does for me? I.e. total system freeze/lockup, requiring a hard reset?

@W1zzard - I will try the suggested steps later today, as I am not near that PC at the moment.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
Yes, total freeze.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
501 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#13
Can you use nvflash directly (from our dl section) and check if there is a difference between running it from your windows temp directory (ie C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Local\Temp) vs another folder?
Nvflash works fine - does not freeze the system - both from Windows TEMP folder and from another folder. Hope that helps!
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
Just for my understanding, that Windows Defender Antivirus is the separate-install Microsoft antivirus that adds a systray icon ?
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
143 (0.13/day)
Likes
89
Location
Argentina
System Name Silent Potato
Processor i5 4590 @ 3.3 / 3.7 (Stock)
Motherboard Asus z97-C
Memory 2x4GB Gskill Sniper 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX960 Windforce
Power Supply XFX PRO650W XXX Ed.
#15
Just for my understanding, that Windows Defender Antivirus is the separate-install Microsoft antivirus that adds a systray icon ?
Not separate, built in on Win Vista / 7 / 8 . Most of the notifications come from the "Action Center" on the systray and I don't actually know when/why it showed as a different icon on the systray (I know I've seen it, but I don't know on what situation/OS) .

It is apparently also installed + scheduled (1x fast check daily) + have real time all enabled by default on a clean W7 Ultimate + Updates. I just checked on my PC that it's actually in this state, weird as I would have disabled it given the option.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#16
Not separate, built in on Win Vista / 7 / 8 . Most of the notifications come from the "Action Center" on the systray and I don't actually know when/why it showed as a different icon on the systray (I know I've seen it, but I don't know on what situation/OS) .

It is apparently also installed + scheduled (1x fast check daily) + have real time all enabled by default on a clean W7 Ultimate + Updates. I just checked on my PC that it's actually in this state, weird as I would have disabled it given the option.
Can you try disabling real time protection and see if that makes any difference?
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
143 (0.13/day)
Likes
89
Location
Argentina
System Name Silent Potato
Processor i5 4590 @ 3.3 / 3.7 (Stock)
Motherboard Asus z97-C
Memory 2x4GB Gskill Sniper 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX960 Windforce
Power Supply XFX PRO650W XXX Ed.
#17
Works for me too!
GIGABYTE GTX 670 (2 GB videoRAM), Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit OS.
However, I need to disable my Windows Defender antivirus, or else the whole PC freezes and needs a hard reset. :)
Can you try disabling real time protection and see if that makes any difference?
Sorry, don't have a GTX670 (or a nVidia card yet). Naki pointed out that it solved the issue for him.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#18
Oh, I'm just wondering if Naki is talking about Windows Defender which is always automatically installed on Windows 7, or MS Security Essentials which is a separate install.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
501 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#19
Oh, I'm just wondering if Naki is talking about Windows Defender which is always automatically installed on Windows 7, or MS Security Essentials which is a separate install.
Neither. Windows Defender in Vista/7 is a malware-defense ONLY.
In WinXP, Vista, 7, you can install MSSE, which is a full-fledged antivirus.
You can NOT install MSSE on Windows 8.1, as it contains Windows Defender already.
Unlike in Vista and 7, in Windows 8/8.1 Windows Defender comes with the OS, but is a full antivirus, much the same way MSSE is on Windows XP/Vista/7.
But unlike MSSE on those, which needs an installation, Windows Defender is a default part of the Windows 8/8.1 OS.

Hope it is clearer now! :)
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
501 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#20
Just for my understanding, that Windows Defender Antivirus is the separate-install Microsoft antivirus that adds a systray icon ?
No, it is not. There is no systray icon in Windows 8 for Defender. So, it is accessed via a different way (from Windows Start screen, desktop shortcut/etc).
And NO, it is not installed separately - it comes preinstalled with the OS. :)

Not separate, built in on Win Vista / 7 / 8.
It does not work that way.
In Vista and 7, Windows Defender is just an anti-malware program.
In Windows 8/8.1/10, it is a full-fledged antivirus software.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,072 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,990
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#21
Ok, so your crash on BIOS save is specific to Windows 8 ?
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
501 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#22
I am not sure. I am not willing to move the videocard around to a Windows 7 system (I do have one, but it is in different location), but maybe I can try a Windows 7 Live CD/USB Flash drive on the Windows 8.1 PC?

I can try that later today. :) Not quite sure if I will be able to install MSSE to a Live Windows 7 OS, but I can try. :)
 

nageme

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#23
BIOS saving also doesn't work on my GTX 750, on XP, with both 0.8.0 and 0.8.1. Didn't try older versions.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
501 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#24
BIOS saving also doesn't work on my GTX 750, on XP, with both 0.8.0 and 0.8.1. Didn't try older versions.
In what way? Does it show an error? Does it crash? Does it completely freeze your computer?
 

nageme

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#25
GPU-Z says "BIOS reading not supported on this device".

Running Nvflash directly returns "Error attempting to map adapter (0x000001E7)". It does work in DOS.

Maybe it could be also a question of the driver version? I think I was on v347.25.