• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[GPU-Z 0.7.8] Cannot dump BIOS - Gainward 750 Ti GS

Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name x
Processor Intel Core i5-4690K @ 4.4GHz (1.125V)
Motherboard Asus Z97I-PLUS (Mini-ITX)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i (CPU) AeroCool SilentMaster 20cm (case front) 2x N-B-BlackSilent 8cm (case back)
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill TridentX @ 2400Mhz 10-10-12-31-1T (1.60V)
Video Card(s) Zotac GeForce GTX 970
Storage 1x 256GB Plextor M6e M.2 2280 (OS) 1x 512GB Crucial MX100 SATA-III (Data)
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite GB2488HSU (1920x1080@144Hz)
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D (Mini-ITX)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 (onboard)
Power Supply Corsair RM450
Software Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64
Benchmark Scores System on 2014-10-02
#1
Hello,

I cannot save BIOS to file with GPU-Z but it works with Gainward EXPERTool.

Any idea why?

Cheers.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
206 (0.08/day)
Likes
93
Location
Germany
#2
What happens if you use NVFlash manually?
I get an error message as seen in screenshot (with EVGA though) and system becomes unresponsive.
(I had no time to try with 5.166 yet)

 
Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name x
Processor Intel Core i5-4690K @ 4.4GHz (1.125V)
Motherboard Asus Z97I-PLUS (Mini-ITX)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i (CPU) AeroCool SilentMaster 20cm (case front) 2x N-B-BlackSilent 8cm (case back)
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill TridentX @ 2400Mhz 10-10-12-31-1T (1.60V)
Video Card(s) Zotac GeForce GTX 970
Storage 1x 256GB Plextor M6e M.2 2280 (OS) 1x 512GB Crucial MX100 SATA-III (Data)
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite GB2488HSU (1920x1080@144Hz)
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D (Mini-ITX)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 (onboard)
Power Supply Corsair RM450
Software Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64
Benchmark Scores System on 2014-10-02
#3
With NVFlash the dump works but then the system becomes very unresponsive (massive non-stop system lag, only fixed by rebooting, same as GPU-Z)



BIOS file has the same checksum as the one dumped from Gainward EXPERTool.

BTW while saving the BIOS with EXPERTool, the monitor goes back to default resolution (800x600 or something) before going back to normal desktop resolution, dunno if that helps!
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
206 (0.08/day)
Likes
93
Location
Germany
#4
BTW while saving the BIOS with EXPERTool, the monitor goes back to default resolution (800x600 or something) before going back to normal desktop resolution, dunno if that helps!
Interesting, so EXPERTool deactivates the GPU (respectively the kernel mode driver) temporarily.
With the same effect like uninstalling the GeForce driver as NVFlash recommends.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#5
I just downloaded latest Gainward Expertool and it uses NVFlash version 5.165 (unpacks it during runtime to temp directory and deletes afterward)

Can you try if 5.166 hangs your system too or if it works properly ?
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
206 (0.08/day)
Likes
93
Location
Germany
#6
I just downloaded latest Gainward Expertool and it uses NVFlash version 5.165 (unpacks it during runtime to temp directory and deletes afterward)

Can you try if 5.166 hangs your system too or if it works properly ?
The 5.166 version i got failed, because it has a vendor lock for Hewlett Packard :(
5.165 behaves like 5.163, i.e i have to uninstall GeForce driver for successful operations.

 
Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name x
Processor Intel Core i5-4690K @ 4.4GHz (1.125V)
Motherboard Asus Z97I-PLUS (Mini-ITX)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i (CPU) AeroCool SilentMaster 20cm (case front) 2x N-B-BlackSilent 8cm (case back)
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill TridentX @ 2400Mhz 10-10-12-31-1T (1.60V)
Video Card(s) Zotac GeForce GTX 970
Storage 1x 256GB Plextor M6e M.2 2280 (OS) 1x 512GB Crucial MX100 SATA-III (Data)
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite GB2488HSU (1920x1080@144Hz)
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D (Mini-ITX)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 (onboard)
Power Supply Corsair RM450
Software Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64
Benchmark Scores System on 2014-10-02
#8

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#9
If NVIDIA added that warning to the screenshot, then I'd guess that's the case.

Some kind of GPU engineering fuckup, otherwise they'd have put some workaround into nvflash
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
206 (0.08/day)
Likes
93
Location
Germany
#10
Looks like the issue is gone with 5.190
Warning message is still there, but no more timeout or freezing with GeForce driver installed

Code:
NVIDIA Firmware Update Utility (Version 5.190)
Simplified Version For OEM Only

Adapter: GeForce GTX 750 Ti  (10DE,1380,3842,3757) H:--:NRM B:01,PCI,D:00,F:00

The display may go *BLANK* on and off for up to 10 seconds during access to the EEPROM depending on your display adapter and output device.

Warning: Please make sure no Nvidia Display Driver is installed before continue
  Else update may fail, and system may crash!
Press 'y' to continue (any other key to abort):  

Identifying EEPROM...
EEPROM ID (C8,4012) : GD GD25Q20 2.7-3.6V 2048Kx1S, page
Reading adapter firmware image...
IFR Data Size  : 1468 bytes
IFR CRC32  : 11B2E5A6
IFR Image Size  : 1536 bytes
IFR Image CRC32  : 0082CCE3
IFR Subsystem ID  : 3842-3757
Image Size  : 167424 bytes
Version  : 82.07.25.00.53
~CRC32  : 97B72B01
Subsystem ID  : 3842-3757
Hierarchy ID  : Normal Board
Chip SKU  : 400-0
Project  : 2010-0050
CDP  : N/A
Build Date  : 12/27/13
Modification Date  : 02/25/14
UEFI Support  : Yes
UEFI Version  : 0x10028 (Nov  7 2013 @ 17238399 )
UEFI Variant Id  : 0x0000000000000005 ( GM1XX )
UEFI Signer(s)  : Microsoft Corporation UEFI CA 2011
Saving of image completed.
 

ryanly

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2014
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
What happens if you use NVFlash manually?
I get an error message as seen in screenshot (with EVGA though) and system becomes unresponsive.
(I had no time to try with 5.166 yet)
please tell me: nvflash 5.166 download addess, Thank you.