• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z 2.9.0 freeze/BSOD with AMD Radeon card

Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
559 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#1
Windows 10 64-bit Enterprise OS.
Almost nothing running. Try to run GPU-Z - see attached.
Card is AMD Radeon R9 290 with 4 GBs of videoRAM, latest AMD Radeon Beta drivers.
(for other specs of this PC, see Main PC in my profile)

IMG_20180517_115754-- Copy.jpg
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,358 (5.41/day)
Likes
11,649
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Clock_Watchdog_Timeout almost always means something in the machine is unstable. Usually CPU or RAM in my experience.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
559 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#3
This happens exactly & only on running GPU-Z.
There is no overclock. I will test RAM but I do not think CPU can be it - if CPU is it, this means motherboard usually (CPUs rarely defect - mobos do).
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,849 (5.57/day)
Likes
7,125
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

joesik

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
20 (0.20/day)
Likes
6
#6
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
559 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#7
Naki, how is it going?
Have you found out what was wrong?
No.
I am not doing the steps that lead to the BSOD.
I am behind with my work/payments, so I cannot afford my remote (most powerful) PC to crash.
So, I am simply not doing the steps. (I have several PCs)
 

joesik

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
20 (0.20/day)
Likes
6
#8
No.
I am not doing the steps that lead to the BSOD.
I am behind with my work/payments, so I cannot afford my remote (most powerful) PC to crash.
So, I am simply not doing the steps. (I have several PCs)
The same issue happens on both of your PCs?
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
559 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#9
The same issue happens on both of your PCs?
No, just the one with AMD Radeon R9 290 card. The other PC of mine with AMD R9 390 card is fine in the last 2-3+ months.

There are TWO separate distinct issues I have been having on & off on different PCs - I am not using Nvidia cards recently, but it seems AMD Radeon is more affected and NVidia is less:
* You have GPU-Z in Windows startup. PC/Windows starts, you get a freeze when GPU-Z tries to start.
* You have GPU-Z set to not run with Windows startup, OR have quit GPU-Z. Then you try to run GPU-Z, you get a freeze. This 2nd issue mostly but not always happens when PC is loaded (a bit or a lot), such as playing music (MP3s), or video (Youtube or a local video file/etc) or even with nothing much loading the PC, but with some stuff running - such as Steam, iTunes/etc.

These freeze issues are usually intermittent and random and sometimes hard to reproduce, at least for me.
Also, for @W1zzard to fix these, he must be able to reliably reproduce these on his side, and unfortunately for now he cannot.
Due to this, he cannot fix at least for now.
 

joesik

New Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
20 (0.20/day)
Likes
6
#10
No, just the one with AMD Radeon R9 290 card. The other PC of mine with AMD R9 390 card is fine in the last 2-3+ months.

There are TWO separate distinct issues I have been having on & off on different PCs - I am not using Nvidia cards recently, but it seems AMD Radeon is more affected and NVidia is less:
* You have GPU-Z in Windows startup. PC/Windows starts, you get a freeze when GPU-Z tries to start.
* You have GPU-Z set to not run with Windows startup, OR have quit GPU-Z. Then you try to run GPU-Z, you get a freeze. This 2nd issue mostly but not always happens when PC is loaded (a bit or a lot), such as playing music (MP3s), or video (Youtube or a local video file/etc) or even with nothing much loading the PC, but with some stuff running - such as Steam, iTunes/etc.

These freeze issues are usually intermittent and random and sometimes hard to reproduce, at least for me.
Also, for @W1zzard to fix these, he must be able to reliably reproduce these on his side, and unfortunately for now he cannot.
Due to this, he cannot fix at least for now.
I see. No, I guess the problem isn't anyhow associated with drivers of either Nvidia or AMD, cause I'm using my system where there are no GPU drivers installed, still this issue persists. Yep, it is really difficult to predict when the next freeze is going to happen.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
559 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#11
Please note GPU-Z is a GPU-info app, and this forum section is for issues with GPU-Z ONLY.
If you have issues that are not related to GPU-Z, then this is not the correct forum to discuss this and get any help.
You may want to ask here instead: https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/#hardware.12
(pick the forum section you think fits you best - maybe 'General Hardware')

Also, you should fill in your PC(s)' specs in your forum profile, so you can get help better & easier.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
559 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#13
Don't think so. I used Pro before, and have been having exactly same issues on and off from time to time.
Windows 10 Enterprise just has more features and options/settings, it is not vastly different from Pro.

Also, I had same issues on Windows 8.1 previously too (again, on and off), before Windows 10 came out.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,045 (3.44/day)
Likes
19,704
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
I wish I could somehow reproduce this. Any chance you could spare an hour or so to install a fresh Windows on a new HDD and do some testing with that, so your normal installation isn't affected?
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
559 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#15
Don't have time to so this right now. Maybe on the weekend, or next week during workdays.
I am very behind with my work invoices, so need to do this first.
(and also have some Windows 10 not working issues on 2nd PC, so must deal with that too, first)

I have a fresh (~2-3 weeks) install of Windows 10 on my new HP laptop, but that one lacks an AMD Radeon card, it has Intel GPU+Nvidia Quadro GPU so unlikely for me to be able to reproduce this same issue on it.

EDIT: Do you have any suggestions for me to try and reproduce this or similar freezes without GPU-Z?
Such as test with 3DMark, OCCT, Cinebench, Valley/Heaven benchmarks/AIDA 64/FurMark/etc? :)
It seems issue is with the GPU-Z system (low-level) driver, but similar drivers should exist in the above programs too.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2011
Messages
67 (0.03/day)
Likes
47
Location
Athens
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard ASUS P7P55-M
Cooling Corsair A50
Memory HyperX Fury @1866 8GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 380 4G
Storage 1TB WD Blue / 2x SSD Kingston 120GB
Display(s) LG 24MP58VQ
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply XFX TS 550w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Stealth 2016
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#16
I had this problem with some older GPU-Z versions...when i opened it the system just freeze..
I dont know with the latest version im not using it, im trying to avoid 3rd party programs in general.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,045 (3.44/day)
Likes
19,704
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#17
older GPU-Z versions
There was a bug related to AMD R9 200 / 300 that could crash during media playback.
Some early versions with Vega support had a rare crash when the GPU was highly loaded.

Both bugs have been fixed for quite a while, what helped a lot was that I could reproduce them locally, so I could step through with the debugger to isolate the problematic code.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2015
Messages
7 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
#18
Windows 7 x86
Radeon HD 7750 & Catalyst 15.10 Beta (Multi Monitor enviroment with 2 Displays)

I play a Media File via MPC-HC (LAV set to "DXVA2 native") and redendered by madVR (Fullscreen Exclusive Mode).
When i start GPU-Z v2.10.0 during Media playback, mouse movements get jerky.
Every 1 of 5 GPU-Z starts, PC Freezes completely.

When no Media is played, all seems fine.

Many years ago i had the same with a HD 4670 on XP.

So ... :)

I only wanted to report this.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
559 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#19
Try a newer driver. 15.10 is way too old, why do you not use latest one?
I had a Radeon HD 7770 until recently and it runs latest versions of AMD drivers just fine. (I was using that on Windows 10 however)
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
559 (0.21/day)
Likes
68
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#20
Also, does sound playing keep looping when the freeze happens?
Or does it stop any sound when it freezes?
Was usually the former for me - sound in a loop.
 
Top