• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gpu-z and detecting radeon Opencl

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#1
I did a few tests and found that OpenCL with radeon cards is not always correctly done, even though the OpenCL driver is for the radeon cards is installed...

 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
where is your opencl.dll located?
 

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#3
I know that when I wanted to run OpenCL i had to install the Stream SDK, and here's the install location for my copy of windows for the two dll files...

64-bit windows 7 (32-bit dll): C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Stream\bin\x86
64-bit windows 7 (64-bit dll): C:\Program Files (x86)\ATI Stream\bin\x86_64

Edit:
I forgot to mention that the AMD Stream SDK is required for OpenCL to work on ATI video cards, and it's also known that OpenCL ICD support is required to get OpenCL working even halfway decently.
AMD Stream SDK Download
AMD KB71 - Updating your OpenCL™ code to work with the OpenCL™ ICD
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#4
well i guess that's why gpuz can't find the dll .. it tells windows "load opencl.dll" (see the loadlibrary documentation on msdn, where windows looks).

as far as i know that's the suggested approach by khronos and works perfectly fine on nvidia.

If ati can't get their act together, too bad for them
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
969 (0.32/day)
Likes
173
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / BW-16D1H-U PRO blu-ray
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, Dali Zensor 7´s, Dali Zensor Vokal, Dali Zensor 1´s, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#5
OpenCl works just fine on Ati cards and GPU-Z detection also works. I have a radeon hd4870, installed the latest Ati drivers and stream sdk, and get the OpenCL tick in gpu-z and can do calculations using directcompute & opencl benchmark with no problems whatsoever.
 

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#6
I updated the configuration, and gpuz still does not work... I'm wondering if this issue is ATI Radeon and AMD cpu related.

on a quick side note, I ran the ATI OpenCL information tool provided with the stream sdk, and the output reads one platform and two devices (one cpu, the other a gpu by which it's called "Juniper").
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,473 (0.85/day)
Likes
786
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#7
Same thing here too with my HD5770 the DC and opencl bench works fine though both benchies work as they should
 

Rik55

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
54 (0.02/day)
Likes
15
Location
Glasgow, UK
Processor CORE2DUO E6300 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q
Memory 2 x 2Gb GEIL DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ASUS HD4850 512Mb @700/1100MHz
Storage SEAGATE ST3500410AS 500GB SATA300, HITACHI HDS721032CLA362 300GB SATA300
Display(s) SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER T220
Power Supply ANTEC NEOPOWER 650W
Software WINDOWS 7 SP1 x64 RTM
#8
@Dandel

you've got the old Stream 2.0.0 installed. Uninstal and download the newer ATI Stream 2.0.1. This places the OpenCL file in the correct location.
 

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#9
@Rik55, When i said I Updated my configuration that should of been a clue that i was installing updated Catalyst Drivers (Version 10.1) and reinstalling the Stream SDK (Version 2.0.1). The problem still persists on this configuration.

@Athlonite Which version of the catalyst drivers did you try, and what version of the stream do you have installed ?
 

Rik55

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
54 (0.02/day)
Likes
15
Location
Glasgow, UK
Processor CORE2DUO E6300 @ 2.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q
Memory 2 x 2Gb GEIL DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ASUS HD4850 512Mb @700/1100MHz
Storage SEAGATE ST3500410AS 500GB SATA300, HITACHI HDS721032CLA362 300GB SATA300
Display(s) SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER T220
Power Supply ANTEC NEOPOWER 650W
Software WINDOWS 7 SP1 x64 RTM
#10
@Danel.
When the new StreamSDK2.0.1 (released 11th Feb 2010) is installed the location of the OpenCL files is in the C:/Windows/System32 & C:/Windows/SysWOW64 folders.

try this newer build of GPUz.0.3.8 which fixed some bugs. (this is the version i'm using which ticks OpenCL in GPUz & i'm using Cat10.1, StreamSDK2.0.1 & Win7x64)
http://forums.techpowerup.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=32617&d=1264757722
 
Last edited:

Dandel

New Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
102 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 630 (3.5ghz)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory 2x2g A-Data DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD5770
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Power Supply FSP FX600-GLN
Software Win7 x64 pro
#11
OK, that was actually helpful Rik55, the updated GPU-Z v0.3.8 (Signed on Jan 29, 2010) actually detects OpenCL properly on my system. However, GPU-Z v0.3.8 (Signed on Dec ‎01, ‎2009 [Currently last one mentioned in the test build forum]) did not.