• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

GPU-Z and LCDSirReal Multi GPU

Fizzer

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi

Is there a way to start two instance of GPUZ and have one displaying core1 and another displaying core2 automatically.

For my 4870x2, to get LCDSirReal (Logitech G-Series LCD Plugin) to show BOTH core temps and Clocks, I need two instances running.

Easy enough to start two GPU-Z, but I have to select the second core manually from the drop down box.

Any way to get this to read core1 and core2 via two independent short-cuts,.
I can them put these into the startup folder and have them running automatically at windows startup.

Thanks..
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
not at this time. i'll look into a command line option for selecting cards
 

Fizzer

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
not at this time. i'll look into a command line option for selecting cards

Would be great... Plenty of multiple GPU setups out there. a command line switch you can add to the .exe command of a shortcut would be great.

Look forward to it ;)

Thanks
 

kevin666

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Would be great... Plenty of multiple GPU setups out there. a command line switch you can add to the .exe command of a shortcut would be great.

Look forward to it ;)

Thanks
i second that. i finally figured out the -minimize command but now i still need to select the other card, because by default it selects my second card which runs alot cooler in windows because its not in use. and it would be nice to have an option for F instead of C. because with LCDSirreal or whatever its called on my g15 keyboard it will only let me see the temp in c not f. thats not a big deal though im more concerned about selecting the other card by default.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#5
the attached build adds a -card <index> command, first card is 1, so: gpuz.exe -card 1

please test and feedback
 

Attachments

Fizzer

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Awsome. With the amount of multi-card / GPU set-ups, this is definitely a a good extension to the commands.

Thanks alot.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#8
if feedback here says it works then this will be included in the next build
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2006
Messages
2,312 (0.56/day)
Likes
670
Location
Norn Iron
Processor Q9550 @3.8
Motherboard Asus Maximus Extreme
Cooling Custom water cooling
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) 2x HD4870 512MB
Storage 2x 500GB
Display(s) 3x LG L226WTQ 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Modded TJ07
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply PC P&C Silencer 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#9
Windows 7 Ultimate x64, 2x HD4870......Works fine

Thanks!!
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
System Name CM'HAF932
Processor Intel QX9650
Motherboard Asus Rampage Extreme (bios v1202)
Cooling TRUE120(black) + Noctua P12 fan
Memory A-Data DDR3-1600G (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) HD4870x2|Single| (Sapphire, stock-air)
Storage Hitachi HDP7250GLA360;WDC WD2500JS; Smg SP2004C
Display(s) DELL 2408(WFP) + Samsung Syncmaster 204B
Case CM HAF'932
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX (Creative X-Fi)
Power Supply Seasonic X Series 1050W (modular)
Software (MultiBoot) W7U.32bit; W7U.64bit; XpPro32bit(sp3); Vista HP.32bit; Ubuntu 10.10
#10
radeon 4870x2 and GPU-Z.0.5.1 (ccc v11.2) W7U 32b

Hi all :)
I still have HD4870x2(Saphiere), just today renewed all ATI drivers and updated things to latest releases
then i noticed (may be? some anomalies? ) aka just simply by load /run GPU-Z.0.5.1 !

GPU1 temperature rising and power draw rising - when just idling on desktop ?? No touching any 3D apps what ever...
and closing GPU-Z - the problem goes away


Shortly, the routine was like this:
On idle/desktop (w7 Ult. 32bit)

1.load Everest sensor page and check temps and power usage etc.
most amaizes me readouts on fields: "GPU VRM (by Everest)" or "VDDC Current (by GPU-Z)"

GPU1: GPU VRM 12.19 A
GPU2: GPU VRM 12.19 A


2. Load Catalyst CC(v.11.2) and go to Performance -> AMD Overdrive page
to check temps and clocks, as i test it without overclocking, so the numbers/readouts are

GPU:1 - Gpu Clock=507Mhz // Gpu Memory = 500Mhz
GPU:2 - Gpu Clock=507Mhz // Gpu Memory = 500Mhz

GPU:1 - Temp=72 C / Activity=0% / Fan Speed=27%
GPU:2 - Temp=53 C / Activity=0%


3. Now i load GPU-Z.0.5.1 (no matter or no differences how many instances, 1 or 2,
but usually i have loaded 2 instances , anyway that's currently optional ..so)
the readings i get are here:


1) Everest sensor page is running and it updates sensor readings in 3- sec interval so
GPU1: GPU VRM 28.45 A
GPU2: GPU VRM 12.19 A


2) Catalyst CC(v.11.2)
GPU:1 - Gpu Clock=750Mhz // Gpu Memory = 900Mhz ! ' it rizes clocks for this GPU! only
GPU:2 - Gpu Clock=507Mhz // Gpu Memory = 500Mhz !

GPU:1 - Temp=87 C / Activity=0% / Fan Speed=31% ! .. Temp is rizing !!
GPU:2 - Temp=53 C / Activity=0%

2a) VDDC Current (by GPU-Z) is same for GPU1 = 28,5A and same for other GPU2 (it may differ from 11,52A - to 12,##A),
( and all other readouts match 1:1 with each other within these 3 different monitoring programs )


3) Finally i close GPU-Z.0.5.1 everything goes back normal


So, just wanted to ask ... are those activities normal? -
i mean this so to say 'artificial' clock change normal for only (one) GPU1 ? in idle 2 D mode?
or this just happneds with dual GPU cards?
BTW, later i run some 3d tests and logged all available readouts with Everest .. both GPU's work as expected ..

OK anyway no big deal, but good to know :) coze i do not remember seen this wit earlier drivers and stuff,
about several months ago.. :)


OK :) Thanks for listening :)

Regards,
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,070 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,985
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#11
when gpuz reads the sensors of the card this puts some stress on the card, sometimes enough for the driver to switch the card into a higher performance state.

you can turn off voltage sensor monitoring which helps the most
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2008
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
8
System Name CM'HAF932
Processor Intel QX9650
Motherboard Asus Rampage Extreme (bios v1202)
Cooling TRUE120(black) + Noctua P12 fan
Memory A-Data DDR3-1600G (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) HD4870x2|Single| (Sapphire, stock-air)
Storage Hitachi HDP7250GLA360;WDC WD2500JS; Smg SP2004C
Display(s) DELL 2408(WFP) + Samsung Syncmaster 204B
Case CM HAF'932
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX (Creative X-Fi)
Power Supply Seasonic X Series 1050W (modular)
Software (MultiBoot) W7U.32bit; W7U.64bit; XpPro32bit(sp3); Vista HP.32bit; Ubuntu 10.10
#12
Ok ! Big Thanks :) for such quick reply
I really appreciate this ! :toast:

Regards,
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#13
I can verify that it works for me as well.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2010
Messages
858 (0.33/day)
Likes
218
System Name FragBox
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz/1.45 volts
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 WS
Cooling Custom CPU loop
Memory Kingston 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Galaxy GTX 680/Zotac GTX 680 in SLi/EVGA GTX 650Ti
Storage 2 Vertex 3 120's, raid 0, 2 Seagate Momentus XT 500GB's in raid 0, 1 Hitatchi 2TB for backup
Display(s) 3 Acer S232HLX2 in nvidia surround
Case Corsair C70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 7 x64 Pro
#14
Works for my dual GTX470's and the 9800GT as well!