• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z "broke" Modern warfare 2?

Rippers8

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi everyone,

I recently got AMD's new 6990 card, in order to get it to work, I've had to do a clean windows install because of a conflict with my old 5870 drivers..
One of the games I tried playing then was modern warfare 2,
running everything on max, @5760x1080 with 4xAA, I reached the framerate cap of 90 fps.

In main menu, I got a capped 45 fps. I checked these framerates using fraps.
Then a friend suggested I try GPU-Z to check the temperatures etc of the card.

Since I don't have any extra screens to watch the temperatures on, I checked the logging checkbox on GPU-Z. Then I started MW2, and had a framerate of 5-10 in main menu, loading a game itself resulted in still, 5-10 fps.. (again, running fraps to keep track of this)

Naturally at such a low framerate, even navigating through the main menu is test of your patience... Lowering the resolution to 1920x1080 (or any other resolution) didn't help,
the only thing that does help, is turning off AA.
Turning it down to x2 helps a little, but it's still unplayable.
Turning it off, gets me back to the 45 fps in main menu and 90 in game.

However, during heavy firefights, it can't even hold the 90 fps, and bogs down to 70, sometimes even 50 fps at times...
Something which my old 5870 was able to do!

This problem I ONLY get in modern warfare 2... Crysis, shogun 2, Bad company 2, seem to be unaffected by this issue...


Even after restarting, reinstalling drivers, reinstalling the game, this seems to happen, even without having GPU-Z running now.

Just for the record, I haven't run gpu-z since then, and the results it came up with for the brief period of time it ran, were normal.

The only thing I haven't tried is another clean windows install.

Soooo.. Is it possible GPU-Z had something to do with this? Since it started when I had GPU-Z running... Or am I missing something?


Thanks!
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
666 (0.27/day)
Likes
268
Location
coventry UK
System Name Gwafwar
Processor i5 2500K @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard Msi p67a gd45
Cooling EK H30 HF240
Memory 16Gb Hyper X 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX970
Storage 840 250Gb 6TB on 3 drives
Display(s) 3x 27" 1080p Lg's
Case Coolermaster 690 II pure black
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 80+bronze 800W
Mouse Saitek X65-f HOTAS
Software Win7 ultimate 64,
#2
as far as i'm aware GPU-z only reads registry keys, and memory keys. It doesn't actually edit anything. You can use it to save the bios for your GFX card and that about all it does.

Your game problems are probably more to do with the 6990 been a bit buggy atm. Go have a read of some of the other comments in regard to these cards in the GFX section. There's a few people on here who are slaving away to work out the problems but your not alone in having a problem.
 

Rippers8

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
I see... It's just oddly coincidental it started bugging out the moment I tried it with GPU-Z...

Thanks for replying! :)
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.52/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#4
Are you running the 11.4 drivers with the profile updates,Did you check dual gpu in the game settings .
 

Rippers8

New Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Yeah, running the 11.4 drivers...
But don't see any options about dual gpu settings in the game settings
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.95/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#6
imo if your over 30 fps.. your good to go..