1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z conflict with KIS 7 / Kaspersky Internet Security 7 ?

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by UNICORN, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. UNICORN

    UNICORN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yep, I've got a problem with them.
    I'm using Windows XP SP2, Catalyst 8.8.
    Any time I run GPU-Z (0.2.7), with KIS (Kaspersky Internet Security ver 7.0.1.325) protection enabled, it doesn't start. Just shows off the logo TechpowerUp GPU-Z and stay there until I terminate it by using Windows Task Manager.
    After that, every program that I attemp to run will not start, screen shows nothing, but visible Windows task manager :(.
    Then, I tried to exit KIS, but it wouldn't (can't kill it because of KIS's self-defense system >.< ) => tried to restart the computer but it wouldn't be restarted because it couldn't shutdown, just stop at "Goodbye screen" => pressed the power button in 5s:D
    I tried to add GPU-Z to KIS exclusions threats, but it still doesn't work:banghead:
    Have to exit KIS before using GPU-Z.
    This could be a bug of KIS, but I think I should tell you, W1zz..
    Thanks for reading.
     
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Try updating to the latest version of KIS. Its on 8 now, you can get it from the product updates ection of their website. and they dont charge for it unlike Norton,etc.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. UNICORN

    UNICORN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's free to update the virus database and some modules, but not for upgrading the program to a newer version. A KIS7's license key cannot be used for KIS8. My license key expiration date is 12/22/2010, can't waste >.<
     
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    It doesnt cost anything to upgrade program. I bought a KIS 7 license, and installed kis 7, then when kis 8 came out i downloaded it and installed and i;m still using the same key.
    The guys behind kaspersky arent greedy like Symantec, etc.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    @UNICORN,

    alexp99 is correct, I bought and installed KIS 7, downloaded the KIS 2009 installer, used my KIS 7 license key, no problems.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,768 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,507
    so gpuz doesnt work with kis7 but works with kis 8 ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,790 (9.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,267
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Sometimes KIS 7 prevents loading the driver, but it's very rare. Initially it would show "suspicious activity" caution, adding the GPU-Z process to trusted zone got rid of this.
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I had it happen once, but adding it to the exclusion list worked for me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. UNICORN

    UNICORN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Dear all, I use an .key linsence file. When add it for KIS 8, I've got the message like "this key is not used for this application" ( I lost the seri@l number >_<).
    As I told, I added GPU-Z to trusted zone but it still cannot start, and KIS doesn't show any message to me.
     
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I used a KIS7 key file an it worked fine on KIS8.

    Try going to their site and downloading a new key file. That might fix it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    FYI, Version 8.0.0.454 of KIS 2009 is available.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,768 (3.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,507
    i can confirm this issue. with KIS7 gpuz sometimes does not start correctly. this is caused by KAV which somehow tries to pop up the message "software is trying to install a driver" but the message never makes it to the screen for some reason.

    a fix is to upgrade to KIS 8 (2009), no matter which settings are used with KIS8, there are no issues with GPU-Z that I could find
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)