• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z conflict with KIS 7 / Kaspersky Internet Security 7 ?

UNICORN

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Yep, I've got a problem with them.
I'm using Windows XP SP2, Catalyst 8.8.
Any time I run GPU-Z (0.2.7), with KIS (Kaspersky Internet Security ver 7.0.1.325) protection enabled, it doesn't start. Just shows off the logo TechpowerUp GPU-Z and stay there until I terminate it by using Windows Task Manager.
After that, every program that I attemp to run will not start, screen shows nothing, but visible Windows task manager :(.
Then, I tried to exit KIS, but it wouldn't (can't kill it because of KIS's self-defense system >.< ) => tried to restart the computer but it wouldn't be restarted because it couldn't shutdown, just stop at "Goodbye screen" => pressed the power button in 5s:D
I tried to add GPU-Z to KIS exclusions threats, but it still doesn't work:banghead:
Have to exit KIS before using GPU-Z.
This could be a bug of KIS, but I think I should tell you, W1zz..
Thanks for reading.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
Try updating to the latest version of KIS. Its on 8 now, you can get it from the product updates ection of their website. and they dont charge for it unlike Norton,etc.
 

UNICORN

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
It's free to update the virus database and some modules, but not for upgrading the program to a newer version. A KIS7's license key cannot be used for KIS8. My license key expiration date is 12/22/2010, can't waste >.<
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#4
It's free to update the virus database and some modules, but not for upgrading the program to a newer version. A KIS7's license key cannot be used for KIS8. My license key expiration date is 12/22/2010, can't waste >.<
It doesnt cost anything to upgrade program. I bought a KIS 7 license, and installed kis 7, then when kis 8 came out i downloaded it and installed and i;m still using the same key.
The guys behind kaspersky arent greedy like Symantec, etc.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,895 (0.45/day)
Likes
433
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#5
@UNICORN,

alexp99 is correct, I bought and installed KIS 7, downloaded the KIS 2009 installer, used my KIS 7 license key, no problems.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#6
so gpuz doesnt work with kis7 but works with kis 8 ?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,496 (9.18/day)
Likes
17,519
Location
Hyderabad, India
#7
Sometimes KIS 7 prevents loading the driver, but it's very rare. Initially it would show "suspicious activity" caution, adding the GPU-Z process to trusted zone got rid of this.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.89/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#8
I had it happen once, but adding it to the exclusion list worked for me.
 

UNICORN

New Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Dear all, I use an .key linsence file. When add it for KIS 8, I've got the message like "this key is not used for this application" ( I lost the seri@l number >_<).
As I told, I added GPU-Z to trusted zone but it still cannot start, and KIS doesn't show any message to me.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#10
Dear all, I use an .key linsence file. When add it for KIS 8, I've got the message like "this key is not used for this application" ( I lost the seri@l number >_<).
As I told, I added GPU-Z to trusted zone but it still cannot start, and KIS doesn't show any message to me.
I used a KIS7 key file an it worked fine on KIS8.

Try going to their site and downloading a new key file. That might fix it.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,895 (0.45/day)
Likes
433
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#11
FYI, Version 8.0.0.454 of KIS 2009 is available.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#12
i can confirm this issue. with KIS7 gpuz sometimes does not start correctly. this is caused by KAV which somehow tries to pop up the message "software is trying to install a driver" but the message never makes it to the screen for some reason.

a fix is to upgrade to KIS 8 (2009), no matter which settings are used with KIS8, there are no issues with GPU-Z that I could find